We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hawaiian Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Hawaiian Hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks on 3 different islands for this Hawaiian vacation, the Waldorf Grand Wailea was BY FAR one the best hotels we have ever stayed at. This was our first Hawaiian trip. We have traveled throughout US, Italy, France & England and this hotel ranks in our top 2, possibly first, througout the world. The grounds/hotel was immaculate, service was first class. All team members were very friendly and attentive to our every needs. Played at the Emerald golf course which was beautiful. Received a partial ocean view upgrade upon arrival, loved the lei welcome. Valet was very speedy, car was always waiting when we got downstairs. If they were extra busy they hotel offered to call when the call was present so we didn't have to wait. Great beach outside, awesome snorkeling. (rent through Snorkel Bob's) Close to shopping area too. We can't wait to return next summer. Restaurants were delicious and service again was top notch. Thank you Grand Wailea!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
You are MOST welcome! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We can't wait for you to come back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,334
    1,413
    681
    378
    237
See reviews for
2,365
2,141
68
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This resort is beautiful. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had two connecting rooms for us and our four children. It worked perfectly. The resort has everything you need. The restaurants were wonderful. The pool was the best, very well situated so adults can relax while the kids have plenty of slides and swimming to keep them content. Then of course the ocean is only steps away!! Another plus. We had a great time here. No need to leave the resort if you don't want to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank less0nlearned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a wonderful place to be when in Hawaii. This place lets you know you're in paradise, but the overall experience for the price paid leaves something to be desired. The Wailea is a grand lady who needs some TLC and attention to detail to be a true Waldorf property. Absolutely friendly, professional and curteous staff who know how to take care of the guests. The property is on one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui and the pool is great for the family (if only they had enough places for all the guests to sit). The property overall needs to be brought back up to the status is both deserves and charges for......a 3 star resort at 5 star prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My Family and I have just returned from Maui. We stayed at the Grand Wailea! It really is a beautiful hotel. The service was great and the facilities state of the art.

Thank you Grand Wailea for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 5 days and LOVED this resort. It has the BEST water attractions we have seen or heard of....slides, water elevators, pools, tarzan swings, incredibile beach...and don't forget the FishPipe ride. The area is very nice around the resort too. Can walk to the wailea shopping area for nice food and shopping options. The resort has it all. Expensive, but has it all, makes for a very memorable Hawaiian vacation. Rooms were beautiful and so comfortable. We have stayed in the high level (9th floor) and low level (ground) and both were wonderful. Enjoy the greatness of Wailea at the Grand Wailea (you will not want to leave!) Aloha!

Room Tip: snorkeling is nice right off the beach at the either end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachesDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks very much for the wonderful review. We are very pleased that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!

Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For the price paid and the Waldorf Astoria name, you'd expect a bit more "upscale" but these grounds have been allowed to slip of late. It's a beautiful place with excellent staff and absolutely one of my favorite places to stay, but it could certainly use a face lift to bring it up to the standards one would expect from a Waldorf property. We just returned from 10 beautiful days on Maui at the Wailea with our 2 daughters. Plenty of water everywhere with the pools, lazy river, slides and the Golden beaches. Staff is very friendly, courteous and professional. Saying that.....the rooms are average (views are beautiful) and in need of updating. Paint, carpet and bath tiles are very dated. Beds were fair, our's had a definitive slope to it and the pillows were flat. The louvered doors in our room had to be repaired, then replaced since they continued to come off track. The grounds were in need of maintenance with weeds apparent amongst the trees and flowers. Just not what I would expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha Readers and Reviewers,

Thank you for the review. As you may know, Grand Wailea has recently changed ownership. Our new owners are committed to investing in the property, including an extensive room renovation tentatively scheduled to begin in May of 2014.

We hope that you will come back and enjoy the renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is no travel destination on this planet that is more enjoyable than the Grand Wailea. The beach is one of the world's best. The pools are amazing. Already have another visit planned in Nov. 13. Can't miss on this location!

Room Tip: Select the Delux Ocean View for the best view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanhanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We agree!!! Thank you thank you thank you for such wonderful comments.

We'll see you again is just a few short months.

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing