We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place...water wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 5 days and LOVED this resort. It has the BEST water attractions we have seen or heard of....slides, water elevators, pools, tarzan swings, incredibile beach...and don't forget the FishPipe ride. The area is very nice around the resort too. Can walk to the wailea shopping area for nice food and shopping options. The resort has it all. Expensive, but has it all, makes for a very memorable Hawaiian vacation. Rooms were beautiful and so comfortable. We have stayed in the high level (9th floor) and low level (ground) and both were wonderful. Enjoy the greatness of Wailea at the Grand Wailea (you will not want to leave!) Aloha!

Room Tip: snorkeling is nice right off the beach at the either end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachesDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks very much for the wonderful review. We are very pleased that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!

Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,946 - 3,952 of 6,487 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

For the price paid and the Waldorf Astoria name, you'd expect a bit more "upscale" but these grounds have been allowed to slip of late. It's a beautiful place with excellent staff and absolutely one of my favorite places to stay, but it could certainly use a face lift to bring it up to the standards one would expect from a Waldorf property. We just returned from 10 beautiful days on Maui at the Wailea with our 2 daughters. Plenty of water everywhere with the pools, lazy river, slides and the Golden beaches. Staff is very friendly, courteous and professional. Saying that.....the rooms are average (views are beautiful) and in need of updating. Paint, carpet and bath tiles are very dated. Beds were fair, our's had a definitive slope to it and the pillows were flat. The louvered doors in our room had to be repaired, then replaced since they continued to come off track. The grounds were in need of maintenance with weeds apparent amongst the trees and flowers. Just not what I would expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Aloha Readers and Reviewers,

Thank you for the review. As you may know, Grand Wailea has recently changed ownership. Our new owners are committed to investing in the property, including an extensive room renovation tentatively scheduled to begin in May of 2014.

We hope that you will come back and enjoy the renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is no travel destination on this planet that is more enjoyable than the Grand Wailea. The beach is one of the world's best. The pools are amazing. Already have another visit planned in Nov. 13. Can't miss on this location!

Room Tip: Select the Delux Ocean View for the best view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanhanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We agree!!! Thank you thank you thank you for such wonderful comments.

We'll see you again is just a few short months.

Warmest aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel almost every year for 13 years. The hotel sits on one of the best swim beaches on Maui and has some nice snorkling off the point. The grounds are beautiful . The pools are wonderful for younger kids. Sadly over the years the property accumulated a lot of deferred maintenance which the new owners seem to be addressing. Getting a chair around the pool has always been difficult due to early risers "reserving" chairs right at 7am. Security now clears personal belongings left unattended for more than 30 minutes. This has helped open up chairs. While we use to spend our whole trip at this resort, we now spend 2-3 nights during a longer trip which works better for family travel. Finally, it still has the BEST spa any where. Be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadielulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went here for the second part of our honeymoon. We stayed at the Modern Honolulu first and then here. The Modern Honolulu was a great hotel and we loved but this was by far our favorite hotel we have ever stayed at. There are definitely a lot of kids there but there is an adults only pool so it didn't really bother us at all. We ate at every restaurant in the hotel and aside from the buffet breakfast we absolutely loved everything. The prices are definitely on the high end but staying at a waldorf astoria in Maui we expected that. If you want to stay at a beautiful hotel with exceptional service for your honeymoon definitely consider the Grand Wailea.

Room Tip: The mountain view was suprisingly good; especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The water elevator is a gimmick, but I would still do it. I love pools. I could talk about starting at the top level and swimming and sliding down to the bottom or the torches at night. It was very expensive their. My sister had won a trip with Hilton so the cost was small for us. The open air resort was great. There were flowers all over the place. The beach was nice. For food nearby go to "cheeseburger paradise" or go share a pizza at Matteo Pizzeria. We had a phone right beside the toilet. We got to eat breakfast at the presidental suite. I heard that it cost $25,000 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Over all we had a good stay but the dining was way over priced even for the breakfast buffet at $140. for 4 persons. The Resort and hotel are of very good quality and the staff is terrific. Maui is pricey so be prepared to pay double the regular cost for almost everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank woodsman1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
#7 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $475 - $1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing