We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
draper, United States
1 review
“great place for kids”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

the pool and water slides were great for the kids. the beach right next to the pool was also amazing. only issue was the cost of the food...too high. the deal for us was the free breakfast buffet with our stay, which saved a lot of money of food expenses. look for the free benefits offered by the hotel as it definitely makes a huge difference in the cost of staying at the resort, especially if you have kids that love the pool and ocean and just want to stay at the grounds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Christian Lamar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,463
    1,452
    696
    389
    244
See reviews for
2,467
2,209
68
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Family and I just return home from a week short vacation at the Grand Wailea. We loved it!!! My husband and I stayed in Nov. 2012 and started planning immediately after for our whole family to visit. We stayed in two rooms in the Napua Tower, one the my husband and I, the other for our 4 girls (19,19,16,14) You see the reason forM two rooms. lol. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, clean, with beautiful view. The kids loved the beach and all the activities paddle boarding, kayaking, Snorkeling, sunbathing. We bought the unlimited beach gear for the week $99. The swim up bar is a blast...shout out to our bartender Richie and Wayne! We can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

thanks for the great review! I am glad that your whole family found something that they loved about their stay. We really do have something for everyone!

Richie was tickled to be mentioned in a Trip Advisor review. You really made his day. We hope you will come back and see him and Wayne again one day. The are truely the best bartenders we have! We are very lucky to have them!

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent ten days at this property. The entire time we were there we were constantly saying, "The kids would just love this". As a result, we decided to return the next summer...this time with our 13 year old son and 15 year old daughter. We stayed for ten days again, and it was every bit as wonderful as the year before. Each time we left the property in our car, our valet placed ice cold water in the cup holders, and our kids were amazed at this level of service! The water slides, the "blob" float, scuba lessons, paddle boarding, snorkeling, running each morning on the path along the ocean...it was a perfect family vacation, and yes, we can't wait to do it again! Waldorf does it right. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, and best of all, the staff was friendly, and their service? It was perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffinizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for the thoughtful review. Your kind compliments regarding service and staff, particularly the valet team is very much appreciated. We hope to see you and your family here again one day!

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having spent a wonderful week in Kauai, prior to going to Maui, we had high expectations for the Grand Wailea. We were unpleasantly surprised at how poor our experience was. The valet charged $30 a day, and expected tips every chance they got, and if you failed to tip them, they had bad attitudes (not to mention having to wait atleast 30 minutes for your car). The front desk clerk we had, was rude and unhelpful. We had to wait in a 20 person deep line for wrist bands to use the pool, then another 20 person line to sign up for a beach chair, at which point we were then placed on a waiting list for a beach chair - which was unfortunate, because once you actually got a beach chair, you were on a crowded beach, on top of neighboring guests and could barely see the water. On top of these things, the resort was overrun by families, and children taking over the pool - and it was next to impossible to get a chair at the adult pool, unless you showed up at 7 am (which didnt help, because you had to wait in line to get a towel before you could hold a chair).

After walking to the Four Seasons for a drink, we were in awe at how wonderful their service was and how personal of an experience we had and instantly regretted our decision to stay at the grand wailea. I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it. Very disappointing honeymoon experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diana413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We regret that you were disappointed and we are very sorry for the service you received. There is no excuse for rude service and we are looking into how we are being perceived. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this allows us an opportunity to address these cncerns.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that you will give us another chance to show you how we've improved.

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely looking resort with great beach location, Food, service very good. We had a beach view double room which was very spacious with great views. Pools very crowded with Kids but luckily there is an adult only pool. Drinks expensive

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totally1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The property is spectacular! Awesome outdoor areas, pool, great beaches, excellent large spa, good food (the Amasia restaurant is truly excellent), friendly and attentive staff. The guest mix had a surprisingly large number of families and three-star-deal-seeking types, the service is mostly four star, and the bathroom was a bit dated and not as lux as I would have expected. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights last week. The staff was fabulous, remembered us and greeted us each time they saw us. The room was beautiful, the grounds were spectacular and the pools were great fun. The food was okay, pretty much what we expected for "hotel" food.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ayeessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing