We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a large resort hotel with over 700 rooms. The views are incredible and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. We arrived during Spring Break, and the hotel was filled with families with children. Fortunately, for those who want a bit of peace and quiet, there are a number of swimming pools, including the hibiscus pool, which is an adult pool.

- rooms are sizable and spacious as is the bathroom
- our room was on an outside corridor with a tile floor- all night long, it seems the dining staff was moving dishes and other supplies down this corridor, with the wheels clacking on the tile, and we asked for a quiet room!
- all cars must be valet parked, at $30 per day, self parking is not available
- there is a$25 daily resort fee for Internet access as well
- food at the resort gets a "3" rating despite being expensive- very average breakfast buffet at the Grand Buffet and dinner at one of their restaurants, Bistro Molokini
- breakfast at Cafe Kula is also very average - my breakfast burrito was bland and expensive. A breakfast burrito, a waffle and two coffees cost $40



Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank TravelForever58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the candid review. We are sorry this guest did not enjoy the dining as much as we would have liked. I have informed our Director of Food and Beverage so that he can take a look at how we may improve upon this for future guests. These reviews are very helpful to us as it certainly helps us to improve our guest's experience based on the feedback we recieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,253 - 4,259 of 6,557 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I agree with most of the reviews on this page and am an avid reader of Trip Advisor. Been coming to Wailea for 15 plus years but first time at the GW.
My 11 year old son had a fantastic time with the slides. Not sure I would stay more than a couple of days though.

Here are a few tips:
The beach chair situation is inconvenient because when the hotel is full they run out by 9-10. It was unnecessary to get down there at 7 and stand in line to get a front row. If you get there by 8:30 it is fine and there is no wait. The attendants are really good about lining up the chairs like checkers so your front view is not blocked.
Pepole start clearing out from beach around lunch so if you need a chair it is pretty easy to get one in afternoon.
I did not feel comfortable around the pool - way too crowded.
The food is expensive as it is for all the results but it is not good. It is standard hotel fare. We ate all our meals at the Four Seasons. It is almost a shorter walk, and the prices are about the same if not cheaper. The food much better. In front of the FS beach there is a little stand that sells decent pastries and coffee for breakfast. AT lunch I would just go to the bar order the food to go and it only took 10 minutes. The lounge has a great happy hour menu for food and show (at the FS)
The maids are not very friendly but they get the job done. A littke more Aloha spirit would of been appreciated. Everyone else on grounds very nice.
The shopping center next door is also another place to get missing items or food.
Be careful with the exercise classes some are listed as no charge, some as 10$ charge. It took one that did not say it was a charge until you came to class and it was on the sign up sheet. BY then you figured you walked all the way there might as well take it. But it is misleading.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zmomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Aloha from Grand Wailea!

Thank you for your honest review. We are very sorry to have disappointed this guest with our dining outlets. I have shared this review with our Director of Food and Beverage as this feedback helps to point us in the right direction.

Also, I'd like to make mention of our monthly activity calendar we put in each guest room that lists the dates, times and costs for all of our offered activities and classes. We are sorry if this guest didn't see the calendar and for the confusion they had regarding this. It is quite understandable to miss seeing the calendar. Like most hotels, there is a binder of useful hotel information, room service menus, and the like on the desks in each room, but unless you are looking for something specific, you might not even browse through the binder. Reviews like this are beneficial tu us and we are grateful that it was mentioned here as this gives me the opportunity to share with you readers information like our activity calendar that otherwise might not be known.

A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week on vacation. Following are our thoughts on the hotel:
*Beautiful grounds, well maintained, very clean.
*Top notch service, especially the concierges. Can't say enough about the concierges. Jeremy managed to get us a last minute reservation at Mama's fish house a day before a holiday---these people know the best activities/places/restaurants on the island. Everyone was smiling from the bellmen to the valets.
*Many people spend their whole days on the resort here while on vacation and never leave the property---the beach, pool etc. Not really our cup of tea since we wanted to see the whole island (we also went to a number of other less crowded beaches) but on the two days where we spent some time at the resort we were able to get chairs on the Wailea beach fairly easily.
*Lots of families here. No one was excessively loud though. If you really don't like kids, you should consider alternatives like the Four Seasons which has fewer kids.
*Great gym---nice equipment
*We read some reviews before coming here about prices being high for things like drinks, food etc. These comments are accurate. However, you're on an island, it's vacation, and you're at a nice resort. Relative to what you are paying for the room, it's small potatoes. We knew it was not going to be cheap going in and it didn't bother us.

In short, we would stay here again in the future.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RicarcoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is truly as grand as it's name. We spent part of our honeymoon, basking in it's luxury. The grounds never cease to amaze as you turn around each corner. The shopping area was perfect, though a little pricey. There were plenty of restaurants and countless pools; something for every age. Each day the hotel offered activities to choose from, but it was difficult to get bored enough in the pool areas to have time for the activities. One pool had a waterfall and cave, with a warmed swim-up bar. Our room was also perfect. We had a garden view and were very happy with it. On the grounds was a stunning wedding chapel that was beautiful to look at whether getting married there or not. We can't wait to go back! Next time we will bring our family and it will be just as fun, only in different ways.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family of 4 visited Maui in March and wanted to stay in Wailea. The Grand Wailea was the most affordable option (we didn't pay nearly what I've read others have) which ticked all of our boxes: true ocean view, snorkling beach right outside, good restaurants right on the property and close by, opportunities to walk/hike close by. We were quite happy with our choice as both rooms (adjoining) had stunning, true ocean views. Coffee on the balcony in the morning, cocktails and whalewatching in the evening. We tried several restauant options, one was a casual deli-type store where we would grab a bite before setting out for the day. One night we ate at the HummaHumma (not its real name, its much longer and, for me, unpronounceable). The food was fabulous and the setting spectacular. The Bistro was fair, although my kids really liked it.

The rooms are a bit dingy, for sure. The carpet needed a good cleaning, but since we were tracking in a lot of sand, we weren't too bothered by it. The adult pool and hot tubs could use a good steam cleaning.

The snorkling right outside the hotel, close to the rocks was breathtaking, like a gigantic aquarium. Loads of fish, coral, sea turtles, endless things to see. We rented snorkling equipment on the property and kept it for a couple of days. It was wonderful to just walk out the back of the hotel and walk into the sea. At sunset, the whales put on a wonderful show. We only used the adult pool in the evenings, so I can't speak to the challenges of getting a pool chair. However, there was one day we planned on spending at the beach and went to get beach chairs. We were told we would be put on a waiting list - at number 12! Hilarious. Because we are pretty low-maintenance, we just set up beach towels. However, because a man was practically throwing punches over his inability to get a chair, my husband asked a beach attendant very nicely if he could get 4 chairs and was accommodated immediately. I will say that the Grand Wailea is very generous with its pool/beach towels, even offering them to us at the valet station when we visited another beach. I've been at some hotels where you must sign them in and out and are limited in the number you can get.

There is a nice walking path right on the beach which leads to neighboring beaches as well as to the other hotels in the area (Marriott, Four Seasons, Fairmont). It's a nice, relaxing, scenic walk and offers up other restaurant options as well.

There are all kinds of things I could nit-pick about this property, but the big picture was so fantastic (family, sun, sea life, Maui) that all-in-all we had a great time and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I wanted an ocean view for both rooms as it was whale-watching season after all! We stayed on the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for this great review! We are so happy that you and your family had a good time.

Thank you also for mentioning a wonderful amenity that many people don't know about. Our valet stations do in fact have beach towels for our guests. If you just let us know when you're retrieving your car that you will be going to another beach, or on a boat or wherever you might want a towel, we'll be happy to give you as many as you need for your day's excursion. What to do with wet, sandy dirty ones when you return? Just give 'em to the valet attendants and they will take it from there.

A hui hou, Reviewers and Readers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As an elderly reviewer, (in my 70's,) traveling with my son and daughter-in-law, (40's,) and their 2 small children, (young teens), we three-generations traveled to the Grand Wailea for Spring break. It did not disappoint as there was something for everyone.There was mass confusion arriving with our tons of luggage along with tons of other luggage arrivals, hordes of families having a grand time with their children in the pools, beach chairs that were too-few and prices that were too-high and we LOVED it all. It's Spring break (!) and it's pricey Maui. It's what we expected; all the positive input, and complaints on this web-site, we had read about, and anticipated.We play the beach-chair-bingo in Mexico, Bermuda and the Virgin Islands so we Qued-up and played it at the Grand Wailea.All resorts are the same at Spring break.The kids LOVED the pools, (they made friends), the young adults LOVED the bar-scene, (they met friends), and we LOVED watching them all have fun, as we would slip away to enjoy the beauty of a sunset from our balcony."Life is good," we thought from room 7017 and 7018, "in a less than perfect world, this vacation is the best ever!" And while many negatives might be true, much is over-stated and the pluses far exceed any minuses.The hotel is gorgeous, well-maintained and exceedingly friendly.We returned to snowy Colorado having had a "Grand" time at the Grand longing to return again someday for a spirited and fun-filled Spring break.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the side, 7017-7018, with excellent views, quiet air-conditioning, and a generous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SantaFeStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Aloha Reviewers and Readers,

This is such a nice review and we certainly appreciate the candid tone this reviewer brings. Yes, Spring break was very busy but I just love this reviewers choice of perspective. We are so glad that the children and grandchildren also had good time and made friends.

Many families that return to Grand Wailea anually see the same families here year after year and have developed lifelong friendships. Many young adults enjoy bringing their small children here to the place that holds such fond memories of their own childhood. We do hope that this reviewer's family has made some lifelong friends too.

A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our second time at the Grand Wailea and it was just as enjoyable as we remembered. My only complaint was not having a better view from our room. We had a view of the "garden" which was basically a bunch of trees. We called down to the front desk and asked for another room but they were completely booked while we were there. It was disappointing but we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. The grounds are fantastic and the pools are great! One of my favorite things to do is take a stroll along the beach walk in front of the resort. You have great views while checking out some of the other resorts in Wailea.

The spa....where do I start? It is THE most amazing spa! Make sure to get there an hour before your service so you can enjoy the soaking tubs, jacuzzi, dipping pools, sauna, and steam room. I can't say enough about this spa. Their staff is super friendly and willing to help in any way. Both of my massages were fantastic. The hot stone is a must!

The food around the resort was good. The waffles at the breakfast buffet are the best I've ever had!

The resort is wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $541 - $1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing