We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed the Grand Wailea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed the Grand Wailea”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

WE spent last night at the Grand Wailea on Maui. WE spentThe first two nights at the Four SEasons and had a great time, but I really wanted to experience the pools at the Grand. The rooms were almost identical and the service was great. WE were in the Napua tower that gave us a great free breakfast. The bed was extremely comfortable. I loved the pools and we had no trouble finding a lounge chair as this is the slow season. WE were able to get into our room at noon, so we had a wonderful afternoon relaxing by the pool. I would recommend this hotel as well as the Four Seasons. I don't feel you could go wrong with either. The room at the Grand is actually a little less expensive then the Four Seasons.
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blynx1, Director of Sales at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha,
We also really enjoyed having you and your family here. Thanks also for the comparison between our product and the Four Seasons Maui. One of the great things about having our two resorts next to each other is the variety it offers to our guests, more options for restaurants, amenities and we of course share the magnificent Wailea Beach. Please let us know the next time your intending to visit and we will be sure to repeat the experience. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,512
    1,467
    704
    393
    246
See reviews for
2,517
2,232
69
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was at the end of a great 8 days in Maui. Although we only were at this property 2 days, we were treated like royalty. From check-in to check-out, service was excellent, requests promptly attended to, and all staff went the extra mile. I read the reviews about indifferent customer service, but we didn't experience it at all. We had a very good dinner at Amasia and when we returned to the room it was refreshed with clean towels and the bed turned down. Since it was after Labor Day very few children were present, so the hotel was very quiet and relaxed. We were very pleased with our stay and would consider another stay when we return to Maui.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our first time staying in Wailea and we loved it. Beautiful rooms, pools and the grounds. We had a nice view of the ocean. Big clean room with a small living room area, big bathroom with separate tub and shower. It is a very big hotel and we got turned around a couple of times but did find our way. I loved the adults only pool with poolside service. The lava flow cocktail in a pineapple reusable and refillable cup is to die for! We had dinner at Humu and would recommend for a great dinner, the sunset views were stunning. Also, with the valet you get nice cold bottles of water when they bring your car to you! Can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmsnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The property was beautiful and well maintained. The pools were excellent. Although the pools were all connected, it felt as though there 8 or 9 separate pool areas. Didn't feel like one big party pool like some resorts. Very relaxing. Food was good, but not enough variety at the individual restaurants. Staff very friendly, didn't feel like they were looking for tips at any time. When we tipped, staff reacted like they were surprised and appreciative. Even if they are trained that way, it's much better than the Mexico resorts that mob you for tips. Spent 8 days at the resort and loved every minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Maui in May for my daughter's wedding and loved our stay at the Grand Wailea. It had swimming pools for everyone. We spent a lot of time in the sand pool which was ideal for young children. Loved the lazy river. Service was great and the accomodations were top notch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was not our first or even second visit, so it can't be too bad or we wouldn't keep returning. Here's my problem -- for around $700/night plus "resort fee" plus parking fee, I agree with other reviewers that are annoyed by the constant nickle-and-dime game the Grand Wailea management plays with their guests. Want a simple beach chair...ka-ching, another charge...valet parking, ka-ching, another $35/day....."internet access" another add-on "resort fee." Although it sounds like I don't like the place, I really do because the pool/slide situation is so great for families and the beach is awesome. In reality though, the beach is the same for all the hotels at Wailea and I don't think the Grand Wailea is really special enough anymore to charge these nightly rates and then gouge guests at every possible turn. My final issue is the food by the pool. Really poor food quality. They served by far the worst hamburger we had on our three week trip - and that includes the airport and fast food hamburgers! I think I paid $22 for the hamburger and maybe $14 for my child's hot dog. I'm used to high prices in Hawaii - it's expensive to ship the goods here, I get it - but if you are going to have the nerve to charge $22 (plus tax and tip) for a burger - at least make sure it's good. Mine had no seasoning, just a burned meat patty on a cold bun. I told the waitress the burger was really bad and she responded with "yeah, I've heard the burgers aren't great here!" I shook my head and paid the bill, feeling rather ripped off by my whole experience this time, from both the restaurant and hotel.

Room Tip: A room without a water view here is going to be a disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpro33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Grand Wailea is a gorgeous open air resort. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful with many koi ponds and waterfalls. The beach is the best on Maui. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was fantastic with a large soaking tub and separate shower. From our balcony we had a perfect view of Molokini and Lanai. Definitely recommend asking for a higher floor as your views are much better. The service was outstanding from reception to valet to spa personnel. The restaurants on the property are good....try Humu or Amasia (if you like sushi) . Also the Wailea shops are a short walk with multiple restaurants including Longhi's. Don't miss out on a visit to Spa Brande as they have an excellent staff and offerings. This trip ranks as one of my fsvorites to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for views of nearby Lanai or Molokini. If you are getting married in the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheelfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing