We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort - especially for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort - especially for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Maui in May for my daughter's wedding and loved our stay at the Grand Wailea. It had swimming pools for everyone. We spent a lot of time in the sand pool which was ideal for young children. Loved the lazy river. Service was great and the accomodations were top notch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,194
    1,372
    669
    368
    231
See reviews for
2,281
2,066
68
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was not our first or even second visit, so it can't be too bad or we wouldn't keep returning. Here's my problem -- for around $700/night plus "resort fee" plus parking fee, I agree with other reviewers that are annoyed by the constant nickle-and-dime game the Grand Wailea management plays with their guests. Want a simple beach chair...ka-ching, another charge...valet parking, ka-ching, another $35/day....."internet access" another add-on "resort fee." Although it sounds like I don't like the place, I really do because the pool/slide situation is so great for families and the beach is awesome. In reality though, the beach is the same for all the hotels at Wailea and I don't think the Grand Wailea is really special enough anymore to charge these nightly rates and then gouge guests at every possible turn. My final issue is the food by the pool. Really poor food quality. They served by far the worst hamburger we had on our three week trip - and that includes the airport and fast food hamburgers! I think I paid $22 for the hamburger and maybe $14 for my child's hot dog. I'm used to high prices in Hawaii - it's expensive to ship the goods here, I get it - but if you are going to have the nerve to charge $22 (plus tax and tip) for a burger - at least make sure it's good. Mine had no seasoning, just a burned meat patty on a cold bun. I told the waitress the burger was really bad and she responded with "yeah, I've heard the burgers aren't great here!" I shook my head and paid the bill, feeling rather ripped off by my whole experience this time, from both the restaurant and hotel.

Room Tip: A room without a water view here is going to be a disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpro33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Grand Wailea is a gorgeous open air resort. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful with many koi ponds and waterfalls. The beach is the best on Maui. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was fantastic with a large soaking tub and separate shower. From our balcony we had a perfect view of Molokini and Lanai. Definitely recommend asking for a higher floor as your views are much better. The service was outstanding from reception to valet to spa personnel. The restaurants on the property are good....try Humu or Amasia (if you like sushi) . Also the Wailea shops are a short walk with multiple restaurants including Longhi's. Don't miss out on a visit to Spa Brande as they have an excellent staff and offerings. This trip ranks as one of my fsvorites to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for views of nearby Lanai or Molokini. If you are getting married in the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheelfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 4 days at hotel. Room was on first floor with quick access to pool and ocean. Received two free buffet breakfasts each day of the stay. Food was very good. You could even have your own omelet made. If paying for the buffet yourself, it was $29.95 per person. The only faults I could find are that there is only valet parking and that if you wanted to go Lahaina or elsewhere you would have to rent a car. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kord523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice resort in a beautiful location. Lush landscape, beautiful pools, good restaurants and attentive staff. Rooms are not spectacular but quite nice. Beach is excellent. You can get massages at the pool so you can spend all of your time outdoors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neumeyer790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Second time to visit this destination after almost twenty years. Still beautiful grounds, our room was very clean and well appointed (unlike some previous reviews of this location) and ALL staff encounters were very pleasant witrh everyone eager to please. Don't understand the earlier comments from some talking about less than friendly staff or "shabby" conditions, we saw none of that. The one review we did find surprizinly accurate was about the kids, there are lots of them! Thinking there would be less in September (school??) that's when we booked "just in case" but they were still there. My ONLY problem was actuyally not with the children, it's their guardians who let them run around screaming just outside the rooms, (not in a common play area) or actually carried infants into the adult only pool! Come on , act adult and follow the rules! I would reccomend this place to families w/kids, but probably won't be back myself cause i've already raised mine, don't want to raise yours.

Room Tip: Marketing strategy geared to families, lots for kids to do but be prepared to share your space with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuffnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blynx1, Director of Sales at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service of our valued team members. I did also wish to mention that during the time you were here is typically a quieter time for family travel, as historically schools are back in class, however, we have noticed the summer holidays extending into late August and early September, in certain parts of the mainland. It’s also an interesting factoid that we have as many guests here on Romance travel as we have in Family related travel (exactly the same %, infact). The balance of the year (2012) is likely the BEST time to visit for a romantic getaway where the pitter/patter of little feet is de minimas. I would recommend October, November and the second week of December as optimal for a quiet relaxing vacation. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

BTW - For guests looking for the Ultimate Beach Front Playground, we should always be considered your headquarters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I spend 3 days this week at this hotel ( actually, it feel like a resort ).It is huge and beautiful. The beach ( public but feel like it is a private one ) is keep clean and the water was really nice. The hotel staff bring the beach chair at the beach ( only few feet from the hotel line ) and you can enjoy the ocean and the amazing sunset. Lots of activities to do ( surf, paddle board, kayaking, etc ).
The hotel room were real nice ( clean, fresh and it feel that they were actually just redone ). The view from our large balcony was great ( ocean view but also view on the gorgeous garden below. All the green area and water-site ( pools ) are kept mint.
The bed were really confortable and clean.
The staff were real nice and answer quickly our questions.
This hotel is located in a really nice area of Maui and after spending 4 days in Honolulu before arriving at the Grand Wailea, we almost regreat of not having spend those 4 nights at this hotel.
Being a Hilton Diamont member, we received a $40 gift certificate for one of the restaurant on the site. We read about that restaurant and we were expecting great thing about it. But, we were very disapointing by the meal. The food was really not tasty ( actually, it was pretty fade ) and I would not recommend this restaurant.
We enjoy walking on the trail that follow the ocean.
It didn't like paying the $30/day for parking. If you have a car, you have no other choice but use the valet parking ( at least, they put little bottle of water in the car when you pick-it up ).
Overall, great time at this hotel and I would return there anytime.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give you a nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magog1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing