We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Already looking foward to going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Already looking foward to going back!”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Both my wife and I loved this place. First of all, its location is great. Walking onto the balcony and the ocean and Molokini is right in your sight. The famous Big Beach is only minutes drive away.

The facility is very carefully maintained. We saw people polishing the door knobs and stair rails every day. The garden inside the hotel is just stunning.

The hotel is also big, very big. It can be good or bad depending on people’s taste. But we find it very interesting because there is a lot to explore.

The room we had was a deluxe ocean view room. It is very clean and has all the amenities you can think of.

We have nothing to complain about the staff. They are very helpful and very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go on Maui.

The food in the resort is expensive. That’s about the only drawback I can think of.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,515
    1,467
    704
    393
    247
See reviews for
2,520
2,233
69
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were too late in booking to get a suite here for our Xmas 2007 trip (ended up in a condo) but went around to all hotels in Wailea and Kaanapali to scout for our next vacation.

The Grand Wailea was our biggest disappointment! A colleague recommended it to us and their website makes it look truly "grand" but in person you could tell it was rundown as soon as you set foot on the property. I just read in a review on Trip Advisor that they are going to renovate in Feb 08 and boy does this place need it. Everything was moldy, banged up and run down. The room smelled, the deck was dirty (and also gave no privacy - it was tiny and you looked right at all the decks of the suites next to you). The pool which looks so good online was old with dirty tiles and the waterslide which looks like a great volcano ride is nothing.

This I think is the most expensive hotel in Wailea and also the worst. Hopefully the reno changes things.

While we were there however we checked out all the other hotels in the Wailea area for our next trip. We got staff at each hotel to show us the rooms and grounds.

We checked out Kaanapali too which is really great but we like Wailea because it's newer, the hotel grounds more spacious, and Wailea is closest to our favourite beaches - Makena's Big Beach which is great for body surfing and Turtle Town where we swam with a 300 pound turtle! Both are 5 minutes away. The Sheraton at Kaanapali has great grounds with a fun pool and great beach and is right on Black Rock, but is not as private as the resorts in Wailea. The Marriott and Hyatt at Kaanapali are also great but there is no beach there.

In Wailea our favorites are as follows:
Fairmont - starts at $525 a night (vs Grand Wailea $725) and is completely renovated with beautiful pool with 140 foot waterslide, separate adult pool, all white architecture which gives it a Mediterranean feel, on site shops, fitness room, a virtually private beach (Polo Beach). The Marriott, Four Seasons and Grand Wailea all share Wailea Beach. The rooms at the Fairmont are beautiful with a separate bedroom, beautiful private deck. This is where we'll be staying next trip.

Four Seasons - Gorgeous; pool is not quite as nice for kids but otherwise a fantastic looking hotel. Has tennis courts onsite too. Only problem is that they have a 200 person waitlist if you want to book over Xmas.

Marriott. Also first class; my only complaint was that the suites have all tile floors and although the floor plan of the suites is very similar to the Fairmont there is no separate bedroom, just a big L shaped room so there is not any privacy if your kids are sleeping on the pull out sofa. Marriott also has a beautiful Luau (Fairmont, Grand Wailea, Four Seasons do not). I didn't want to go and do the tourist thing, but we went for the kids and it was wonderful. A delicious meal, open bar, and the show told a story of the history of Hawaii complete with Fire man, hula dancers, and a gymnast who climbed a rope 50 ft in the air and did acrobatics (representing the goddess of the mist). Luau was $264 for a family of four and worth it.

We'd have been happy with Fairmont, Four Seasons, Marriott. Didn't get a chance to check out the Renaissance though.

If you're looking for a condo the Ekahi Village in Wailea has wonderful grounds and is on a beach (Keawapuku?) but people told us each condo is different - some great, some rundown.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Walter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

This was our 3rd stay for our family at the GWR and found it to remain one in top knotch condition. Last time (Aug, '06) we stayed in the Napua Tower, but this time didn't and the only main difference I could tell was we didn't get the free food there, but the rooms weren't much different. Check in was quick and the people/service were great.

The kids loved the pool and we loved the beach, although some days couldn't get a lounge chair if we came after 11am. The rooms were clean and a good size.

We used Nanny Connection via the hotel for baby sitters for our younger kids and they were professional and the children had a great time, putting us at ease.

The restaurants were solid and Bistro Molokini seems to have upgraded its menu since our last trip. We also went to Kincha (Japanese) wh/ everyone enjoyed. The Shops at Wailea are a five minute walk away and had several good restaurants and shops.

The concierges were helpful and would strongly recommend that if you go around Xmas holiday, you book reservations in advance as things fill up pretty quickly then (less of an issue in Aug).

  • Liked — Pool/Beach
  • Disliked — Large property - distance to pool
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithkids_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Overall we had a wonderful time during both our visits. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and the rooms are lovely with nice amenities. The pools are amazing and the beach is stunning.

note... We loved our room, and had great room service and attendants, but must mention that with an 11-yr old it didn't provide much privacy with the all glass shower in bathroom, or with both the beds in the same room.

Complaints...

1. For the money charged the food was average & cost of drinks ($12 mai tais) and meals in the restaurants is OUTRAGEOUS - ie... our dinner for 2 adults/1child was almost $300! May we recommend Duo or Nicks instead - these are well worth a $300 dinner.

2. No rooms ready for over 2 hours after check in time, and no luggage access during this period. It was uncomfortably hot "in limbo" as there are no air conditioned lounges to wait in in travel clothes.

3. There were VERY LOUD corporate parties going on outdoors in the open space near the chapel almost nightly. It was terrible and not very relaxing to lie in bed and listen to booming disco/rock bands at 10p at night in peaceful hawaii, especially when you're exhausted from the sun and pools and your kids are trying to sleep.

4. Pillows are awful! The worst nights sleep we've ever had in a hotel and we travel a lot! My husband drove all the way to Kahalui (over an hour there and back) the next day and purchased pillows.

We visit Hawaii often & I must say with all it's grandeur, pools, and amenities the two things the GW lack are a solid sense of relaxation, and a true hawaiian spirit so prominent in other hotels nearby. ie... the bar at the pool plays rock and roll all day (like in vegas) and not hawaiian music.

Honestly if it weren't for the pools we would stay at one of the more serene hotels in Wailea, but with an 11 yr old we admit we will be back for the pools.

  • Liked — Pools, Grounds, Service
  • Disliked — Noise, Room not being ready for hours, and Room not conducive to privacy w/kids
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RealEstateDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

I've stayed at the Grand Wailea in November or December for about a week each of the last three years. The hotel is simply fabulous. The rooms I've stayed in were all large and comfortable with large bathrooms with a huge bathtub and separate shower. All have had excellent ocean views. Drinking a little wine with my spouse on the lanai (balcony) while watching the sun go down and then going to sleep listening to the surf borders on a religious experience. The hotel grounds are inviting and well maintained. There is easy access to the beach and ocean, though I've tended to spend more time enjoying the numerous, connected hotel pools and various water slides. The hotel restaurants are nice though (as expected) more pricey than some excellent dining choices available in Wailea (the Cafe O'Lei, Sansei, Roy's are all highly recommended). Aloaha!

  • Liked — Excellent hotel in excdellent location
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IMJustVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

If you are looking for a high-quality, hassle free luxury family experience, keep driving past the Grand Wailea. The place is oversized, impersonal and overrated.

We were told that the water feature at the Grand Wailea was not to be missed if you have children, so we booked a couple of nights there during our trip to Maui.

Our room, by no means the least expensive, smelled of mildew and mold and was outdated and small. The bathroom was antiquated with none of the conveniences you would expect at a 4 star resort.

But let's assume that the room quality didn't matter because your intention was to be at the beach or "water park." Well, those were a let down, too. The pool was so crowded, you could see oil from people's sunblock and beach debris in it.

The lines for the slide, water elevator and rope swing were long and not worth waiting for. And forget about finding a chair, much less one in the shade. The lounge chairs were packed in rows, with people crowded together, their towels and magazines all over the place. And there were no pool attendants in site to assist. The cost of a Diet Coke? $7.50! So... we moved to the beach where we found much of the same.

The Grand Wailea reminded me of Disneyland on a filled-to-capacity day. Some people swear by it, but for our famiy, we'll stick to something a little more upscale, service-oriented and serene.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crowded, dirty and overpriced
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LaJollaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stayed here in October - a friend recommended this hotel to us when her company paid for her family to stay here.

First, the hotel is beautiful. We stayed in the deluxe ocean room with stunning views of the ocean (you can easily see Molokini crater). It's so relaxing just hanging out on the lanai and taking it all in. The room was large and very clean - we loved our room. We paid about $700/night.

The pool was crazy which is to be expected. Tons of kids running around and very packed. We had a good time, but for a couple, it was way too much. One day was enough. They have a great water slide, a rope swing mostly for kids, rushing rapids, lazy river, and a water elevator (not sure what the big deal is about that one). If you bring your kids, you will be a hero if you stay here. But for a couple, you will most likely want more peace and quiet!

The resort fee at $25 is unreasonable. I would expect a much better valet - believe me, this will frustrate you. They charge you for valet ($15 a day) and if you choose not to pay this ridiciulous fee, you self-park down the street. Good luck finding a parking spot there. It was disappointing.

Overall, we would not return as a couple. It wasn't special enough for us to match the price tag (sorry). I have no problem spending $700/night, but it has to be special. But I will end with this - if your company is paying for it and you have kids, you will probably love it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank RLSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing