We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Good, But Not Great”

Diego Zhang's Burger Cafe
Ranked #115 of 157 Restaurants in Centennial
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's Good, But Not Great”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Denver has a lot of really great burger joints - from Bud's hole-in-the-wall to Crave's extensive and varied menu. So it's tough for a burger place to get great reviews from me here in Denver. With that caveat, Diego Zhang's is good, but not great. I'd go back, but only if I was in the neighborhood (taking in a movie perhaps).

Their menu of all sliders is pretty good, but a bit deceptive. They have beef, buffalo, chicken, pork, salmon, shrimp, and vegetarian sliders - which is a wide variety to start from. But then they don't get too inventive with them - and some are the same, just different meats. Watch for the Burger of the Month as an addition to the menu - when I was there, it was definitely the most inventive option.

The sliders are good sized - as big as a small burger at some restaurants. You're getting your moneys worth. Two is probably enough for most and one will satisfy a moderate appetite. The down side of the larger sized slider is that you don't get to try as many different items.

Bottom line: if you're in the neighborhood (The Streets at SouthGlenn), you'll get some fine sliders here. If you're on a quest for the best burger, try one of the other highly rated locations in Denver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plate18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A gem at The Streets of SouthGlenn”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Diego Zhangs is best known for their burgers, I actually prefer Diego's homemade soups and quinoa salad. Best quinoa salad in town by far. Diego Zhangs also has a great breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach80126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
226 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Burgers aren't "all that"”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stopped by today for lunch and ordered 3 burgers, 2 soups and an order of french fries. First, somehow the bill came to over $30. Somehow, they charged us for 3 french fries. Also, the person taking the orders asked one of us what type of bun we wanted our hamburger on but not the other person. She seemed very confused at the cash register and we needed to keep repeating our orders. After we sat down, the waiter delivered the two soups, one of which was wrong. When I looked at our receipt, the soup had been mis-ordered. Service WAS friendly, albiet confused.
When the food arrived, the burgers were served on a cold bun. Like they had just been taken out of the fridge. The two burgers I ate (they are small) tasted the same even though they are supposed to be different. The don't add the ingredients on top of the burger (except for lettuce & tomato) but rather grind them in with the meat. These burgers were not worth going out of our way for. Not bad mind you, just not great. My wife did enjoy the rice coconut curry soup although the curry came as a surprise. The ingredients on some of the items differed depending upon which menu you were looking at (board behind the counter or paper menu). The thin french fries were really good.

Bottom line: This restaurant and concept have potential but with confused service and average-ish food, this place rates and "Average". We might return if were were in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great english muffins with eggs for breakfast. Burgers, soups and salads for lunch and dinner. I usually go for the Quinoa salad or a burger at lunch. Fairly inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach80126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great breakfast - can't wait to try the burgers”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

While visiting Denver i have been to Diego Zhang's twice for breakfast. Tried the breakfast burrito, quite tasty. But, the Santa Fe breakfast sandwich was delicious! Spicy green chiles, shredded potatoes, eggs, and cheese on a wolferman's english muffin. A huge breakfast sandwich and SO tasty. The muffins looked good, but no room on this visit. The coffee was good (brewed per cup ordered). There were two choices for iced tea, both unique and refreshing.
The sliders sound amazing, i plan to go for lunch as soon as possible!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego Zhang's Burger Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Diego Zhang's Burger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing