We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who Knew……!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Oasis Cafe

El Oasis Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Nipton
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Nipton is a small, historical and old-western RV and camper town a few miles off the I-15 highway. El Oasis Cafe provides shelter from the blistering sun and offers a great menu of authentic Mexican Cuisine and a few American classics. We are also located within the Mojave National Preserve that brings lots of tourists looking to experience the fierce yet humbling desert views.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Who Knew……!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This restaurant was amazingly good and this little cafe is out in the middle of the Mojave Desert…!! The homemade salsa was so good we asked to buy some of it to go. The french-fries served with our burger were made from fresh cut potatoes and tasted just as wonderful and the ones my mother used to make. The service was pleasant and you could tell that the owners of this resturant really love what they do. The food was so good that my husband and I tried to plan our trip so we could come back again on our way home!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halemano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“A culinary oasis in a remote corner of the California desert”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Even if its not directly adjacent to the Interstate, this is probably in many ways, the best restaurant along the entire Victorville to Vegas corridor. Its worth the drive off I-15 to tiny Nipton, a town that refuses to roll over and die, especially now that its the gateway to the Mojave National Reserve. El Oasis sits between The Trading Post and the iconic Hotel Nipton. You may dine inside or out or at one of the picnic tables around "Downtown".

Susan and her chief chef husband resurrected the old cafe from years past and now attract old and new customers with their friendliness and Mexican-American crossover dishes, some quite experimental like the Bill Burger, named after the former "Mayor" of Nipton. Its a loaded Angus beef burger wrapped in a flour tortilla. Be sure to pour on the house salsa! Susan said the most requested dish is a muy autentico Chile Verde plate with braised pork and plenty of that tangy tomatillo sauce. The huge french fries are In-N-Out style, from fresh, un-skinned taters but much larger. All dishes are made to order and might take a while. The aroma of Mexican breakfast plates frying in the skillet in the morning is heavenly. For drinks they sell some good iced tea but otherwise, "BYOB".

When dining don't be surprised with the varied clientele. You're likely to rub elbows with truck drivers, railroad people, bikers of all kinds, biologists, rare earths miners, ecologists, solar power "rustlers", desert trekkers, the geographically curious and plenty of lost tourists. Be sure to look over the vast burger menu, with at least 15 offerings such the trendy kale burger and the ha-ha-peño burger. The cook will make all sorts of custom burgers; just ask.

When I was there, this winter, the hours of operation varied, so call ahead. Also it was cash only, no debit or credit cards, so be prepared.

Bottom line: This is not Mimi's. Its all very laid back, so take your time and get your money's worth because it is a bit expensive for those horses to haul all those fixins out to here from Vegas!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“awesome food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I also have ate here....the best Mexican food you will ever have....you must go to experience this wonderful food....we rode 1700 miles to eat here....the salsa is to die for...friendly folks, good food, well worth the drive from Las Vagas .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonespollyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family had a wonderful meal here. Nipton is a very small town in the Mojave Desert. We took a day trip through this area from Henderson, Nevada. The cook makes everything to order, and it is definitely worth the wait. I will dream of eating here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseHill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Oasis Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Oasis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing