We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful property with great personalized care”
Review of Estrella de Belem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrella de Belem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife, her parents and I stayed at this hotel after reading reviews from tripadvisor. We went to Cholula to attend my sister's wedding at one of the many majestic cathedrals of Cholula. Both of the rooms we were placed in the hotel were incredibly charming and welcoming. The service staff is incredibly friendly and spoke great English. They were eager to give us touristic tips as well as restaurant recommendations. The rooms were immaculate and clean and the breakfast was delicious. I tried to hit as many items on their menu as I could on our 4 day stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, most of Cholula's main attractions are about a 10 minutes walk. I have no negative comments about this place or even suggestions. I would highly recommend this place to a friend or family. Sure it is not the cheapest place, but I do not regret spending the money. If I ever visit Puebla again, I will definitely stay at Estrella de Belem once again!

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohio_visi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast and beautiful view of the volcano, mountain and the pyramid!!! We had a very good experience, the location is perfect for souvenir shops, restaurants and night clubs!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I organized a group of forty people from Houston, Texas, for the Houston Seminar to visit Puebla and Cholula, to study the New World Baroque. (See the website for the tour: http://houstonseminar.org/Fall2008/StudyTour/puebla_tour_info.html.) These cities contain Baroque architectural and artistic masterpieces from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. We visited San Gabriel in Cholula, and then repaired to the Estrella de Belem for a cocktail and hors d'oeuvres. The service was elegant, and the staff was sensitive to our interest in art and architecture. We sat on the roof beside the pool and appreciated the cityscape, the rooms, which are themselves architectural gems that integrate the details of this eighteenth century mansion as part of this beautiful boutique hotel. I had the assistance of Hector Barraza, a Mexico City native (hectorgbarraza@yahoo.com) in organizing this tour and I highly recommend him, as well as La Estrella de Belem, for individual or group tours and vacations.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfessorTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We just spent a very relaxing and marvelous 4 day weekend at the Estrella de Belem. The property is meticulously cared for and maintained. The staff, Roberto and Ivan, are very friendly and helpful and Maria Belem, the owner is quite charming. The breakfasts are gourmet and the setting for breakfast is tranquil. The property is well located, being in the heart of Cholula and close to the archeological site. You can’t go wrong if you decide to stay at the Estrella de Belem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanitobosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This small hidden gem was simply a breathtaking surprise for me. I wasnt expecting for such an excellent service and ellegance inside its rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanyavalkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Estrella de Belem is a charming cross between a boutique hotel, a B&B and a spa. It's friendly and not pretentious. It's cozy and it makes its guests feel very lucky to have found a place where they can feel very special indeed.
Each of the six distinctly different rooms are tastefully decorated, with very high ceilings, fine bedding, heated tile floors and marble bathrooms. Our room (Alcoba Giorgione) was furnished with two queen beds, with a feature wall of exposed brick. The alcoba next to ours had a loft sitting room, another was super-romantic with a sunken jacuzzi bath.
A small rooftop pool with a stunning view of the pyramid and if you're lucky, el Popo, is a welcome bonus, particularly after a hot day of sightseeing in Cholula and/or Puebla.
Breakfast was a three course affair served in open air in beautiful glass roofed patio. Yogurt and granola, fruit skewers with chocolate fondue (or cottage cheese), followed by the main course (eight options pre-selected the night prior), was rounded off with fine coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice.
The staff were all friendly and helpful (especially Ivan) and went above and beyond the normal requirements of their jobs on more than one occasion. There were a few growing pains associated with a relatively new hotel - some housekeeping slip-ups, and you might encounter a few challenges if you don't speak Spanish. Cholula being a religious town, you might also be treated to loud middle of the night firecrackers!!!
If this hotel was located in Mexico City, or a Mexican resort, we might not be able to afford it... if it were in New York or Madrid - forget about it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We spent two nights at the Estrella de Belem and I would have loved to stay longer. This is a very elegant bed and breakfast with wonderful service. We had a beautiful room that included a loft sitting area with a desk and a sofa. The bathroom was marble and very large. We accessed our room through a manicured courtyard with a foot bridge and fountain. We were very comfortable.

The roof top pool was a nice place to relax with a great view of the surrounding churches and volcanoes. The common areas are peaceful and spotlessly clean. We were served our breakfast in a lovely covered courtyard area with soft music playing. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Estrella de Belem is located close to the archeological site and is an easy walk to the zocalo. I would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay when visiting Cholula or Puebla.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro Cholula
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Luna
La Quinta Luna
#4 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xoxula by Inmense
Xoxula by Inmense
#2 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Calli Hotel & Spa
Casa Calli Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Puebla Palmas Angelopolis
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Senorial
Hotel Posada Senorial
#82 of 100 in Puebla
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xelhua Hotel Boutique  restaurante
Xelhua Hotel Boutique restauran...
#1 of 12 in San Pedro Cholula
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella de Belem

Address: 2 Oriente 410 | Centro historico, San Pedro Cholula 72750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > San Pedro Cholula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Pedro Cholula
Price Range: $110 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella de Belem 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious and charming six-large room bed and breakfast and spa in an elegant adobe home built in the 19th century,roof garden, pool with whirlpool and a wet sun-tanning area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Estrella de Belem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrella De Belem San Pedro Cholula, Mexico - Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing