We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible man made marvel, you can see the Mexico's history there.”

Great Pyramid of Cholula
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.50*
and up
Cholula Day Trip from Puebla Including the Great Pyramid
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Puebla and Cholula One Day Private Tour from Mexico City
More Info
$75.95*
and up
Private Tour to Cholula and Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
MERIDA, YUC, MEXICO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible man made marvel, you can see the Mexico's history there.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

There are several places in Mexico that represents one of its historic stages but this is one of the few of them where you can see the three main periods of the mexican history in the same place: prehispanic, colony and modern.
The largest base pyramid in the world with one of the most beautiful colonial catholic church at the top surrounded by the modern city of Puebla with their high ranked universities, zoo's and beatiful volcanoes makes this atraction unique.
First, you can visit the prehispanic museum, after that, you can get in the tunnels to explore the hearth of the pyramid for $4usd, if you want a guide, it costs only $15usd for all your family.
After that, you should climb the pyramid by the stairs and reach the church, there you can see 360º panoramiv views of the city and if you are lucky, you will see both volcanoes Popo and Izta. Insight the church, there is a wall with most of the legends of the town printed there in spanish and english.
Finally, once you are down again, there is a park where you can see the show of the Voladores de Papantla, they risk their lives every half hour for your voluntary donation, also you will find a small market with beautiful artcrafts and a lot of mexican food.
If the day was too warm for you, let the small kids play on the dancing fountain and if they caught by the intermitent water sprays, they will be refreshed (don't drink that water).
I encourage you to search more over this place on the internet, you will find amazing facts about this place, one of the most unknow of them is the relative position of this pyramid with the Templo Mayor in Mexico city and the sun orbit during winter solstice, you will be surprised.
If you want to know more details about this place, mark this as useful for you so I will write a more detailed review.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank xThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    234
    73
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Compared to other pyramid sites in Mexico, such as Teotihuacan, a visit to this one seems of little value. You can have a guide take you through the (modern) tunnels inside. It is cramped, cold, and they may or may not know what they are talking about. The park like area surrounding is attractive for wandering and climbing. The streets nearby are full of the usual shops selling the usual trinkets. I considered the visit a waste of time.

Helpful?
Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A magical place to let your imagination run free”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This pyramid is today hard to notice at first, because vegetation grew all over it, and parts were excavated to build other things, notoriously an imposing asylum in the early 1900. You will first go into the tunnels (not original): kilometres of them exist, and you should hire a guide (not expensive) because if not there is no way of enjoying this mysterious way. Definitely not for claustrophobic people! Afterwards, you will emerge in a field full of ruins of pyramids, where you may let your imagination run free, in order to recreate the imposing scenes that once took place there. Don't miss to experience the "bird sound" phenomenon, in the middle of the big stones. End this visit by climbing the rebuilt side of the pyramid... but carefully. The handicraft fair below is scarcely interesting. Climbing to the little church in the top of the pyramid is worthwhile, but mostly for the views it features.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RicardoRabinovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“That's it?”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We left feeling a bit underwhelmed, but to be fair we went without a guide, and it's not particularly well labeled in terms of what you're seeing inside those tunnels. But then the guide would have cost us another 180 pesos, 4 times as much as the admission price... little bit steep, no?

The site museum explains a little bit more -I'd go there first.

The church is nice. Good views of the volcano. But I really wanted to get that iconic photo of the church in the foreground with the volcano in the background, and that's not here. You have to go somewhere away from the actual site (obviously). But where that is, I still do not know.

Around the site, old ladies have stands selling everything from chocolate (the ground Mexican chocolate kind) to chapulines (very um... crunchy).

Since it's one of the largest pyramids in the world, I thought we had to make the trip from Mexico City. It would be a shame to come so far and not see it. Figured we'd make it a day trip along with Puebla. But now that we did, we're left kind of wondering whether that day would be better spent seeing something else in Mexico City. Kind of underwhelming, especially if you've been to Teotihuacan. If you're a student or backpacker who measures time in weeks or months instead of days, definitely go. Otherwise, on a short trip, I'd actually give it a miss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a guided tour of Cholula which included a walk through the tunnels under the remains of the pyramid. We also walked to the church on top from where there are stunning views of Popacatepetal volcano. A must if you are staying in Puebla.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Pyramid of Cholula also viewed

 

Been to Great Pyramid of Cholula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing