We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value "with a view"”
Review of Hotel el Morro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel el Morro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Rosalia
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value "with a view"”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Large, clean, spacious room with a patio overlooking the Sea of Cortez. The bed was comfortable and the bath had all of the necessities (including hot water). The staff is friendly AND they do accept pets. Safe off street parking. We intend to make this a regular stop when traveling the Baja. The restaurant has closed and, to us, that was the only negative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasCajun46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

It is worn a bit, paint would really help, but the beds were not bad, had sheets, blanket, comforter that all seemed clean, room was clean, very large, patio overlooking the Sea of Cortez, shower was clean and good pressure. We were happy to stay here. Value was good too. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel for the price...50 dollars. it is a little out of the town which is a plus as the town is nowadays a lively and bustling place as a new copper seam has been found. The rooms are large and clean, if a little dated, with a wonderful view of the sea. The dawn was spectacular, with the little panga boats moving to and from and locals beach combing on the beach below. There is complimentary coffee on tap in reception and the showers were clean and hot. Parking is good and the place is safe. The restaurant has a lovely view although we didn't use it. Lots of beautiful flowere in the gardens. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Located at the juncture of the transpeninsular and the Sea of Cortez.
Off street parking a plus, restaurant good for simple fare.
Rooms are 'tired' the towels have had 'nine lives'....
Basic accommodation after a long and hair raising descent down DIABLO.....

Room Tip: Quick stop when traveling south to land's end....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chula vista
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

benjamin07 i stop at el morro at least 4 times a year and i never found a room the way you descrive it. SOME PEOPLE ARE NEVER PLEASE!!! Have a nice trip. hotel el Morro is very nice.

Room Tip: oceon view are the top of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjarinaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Large and beautiful rooms with a nice terrace, parking lot, restaurant (MIND: closed on Wednesdays), flowers everywhere.
A couple of km south of Santa Rosalia, french-born mining town. The town can be a bit crowded and packed, expecially on weekends.. It's a lovely issue to sleep away from it.
Only drawback: terraces between one room and the other are very close. I had to draw the courtains before I undressed..

Room Tip: Best room is any with no neighbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallettgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After a very long drive we stopped at the El Morro and got the last room as the Baja
1000 was heading north. If we had room I would have slept in the car. Old dated
room. The shower I would not even think of stepping into! We had two bare threaded
stiff towels, which my husband laid over me to keep me warm as there were no blankets, just a dirty bedspread that I am sure carried the germs of the last 100 or so quests. I threw that into the corner. I slept in my clothes, the bed was that disgusting.

The on site restaurant and bar was closed early , the desk clerk said the bar and restaurant people did not want to deal with the crowd! A full house of hungry tired
people staying at a hotel with an on site restaurant and nothing to eat!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosalia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosalia
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#59 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Morro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Morro

Property: Hotel el Morro
Address: km 1.5 south, Santa Rosalia, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Santa Rosalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Rosalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing