We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“people are wrong sometimes”
Review of Hotel el Morro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel el Morro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Rosalia
chula vista
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“people are wrong sometimes”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

benjamin07 i stop at el morro at least 4 times a year and i never found a room the way you descrive it. SOME PEOPLE ARE NEVER PLEASE!!! Have a nice trip. hotel el Morro is very nice.

Room Tip: oceon view are the top of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjarinaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
17
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Large and beautiful rooms with a nice terrace, parking lot, restaurant (MIND: closed on Wednesdays), flowers everywhere.
A couple of km south of Santa Rosalia, french-born mining town. The town can be a bit crowded and packed, expecially on weekends.. It's a lovely issue to sleep away from it.
Only drawback: terraces between one room and the other are very close. I had to draw the courtains before I undressed..

Room Tip: Best room is any with no neighbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallettgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After a very long drive we stopped at the El Morro and got the last room as the Baja
1000 was heading north. If we had room I would have slept in the car. Old dated
room. The shower I would not even think of stepping into! We had two bare threaded
stiff towels, which my husband laid over me to keep me warm as there were no blankets, just a dirty bedspread that I am sure carried the germs of the last 100 or so quests. I threw that into the corner. I slept in my clothes, the bed was that disgusting.

The on site restaurant and bar was closed early , the desk clerk said the bar and restaurant people did not want to deal with the crowd! A full house of hungry tired
people staying at a hotel with an on site restaurant and nothing to eat!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosalia hotels

San Mateo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Hotel is beautifully located, ocean view but it needs some remodeling.
But rooms are very big, no weird smell or anything like that and it is more than fine for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I have stayed at the Hotel Morro several times and schedule my driving time from La Paz to San Diego to make sure that I have the opportunity to stay here. The rooms are large and the ocean views from the patios are wonderful. I love sitting on the patio at night and watching the men in the pangas down below pull giant squid from the dark sea. The restaurant and bar are exceptional and reasonably priced.

Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grooveze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We were there for my brothers' wedding and it was magical there. The hotel is right on the water and it is beautifull, it has wonderful views of the ocean. The wedding reception was held at the restaurant the hotel has and it was a great time for everyone, the food was great!. We loved the staff and the hotel was clean and the people there were very pleasent. We recommend Hotel El Morro to everyone.

  • Liked — how clean the rooms were
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pascualia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chula vista
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We were told by our friends that there was a great hotel south of the town of santa rosalia. We stop in on our way down to Los Cabos, the rooms are very nice with wanderful oceon view, they have a pool and a restaurant and very large parking.

  • Liked — the open space and ocean view
  • Disliked — needs a little more lighting at nite time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jjarinaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosalia
0.0 mi away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#61 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Morro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Morro

Property: Hotel el Morro
Address: South km 1.5, Santa Rosalia, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Santa Rosalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Rosalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing