We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, very basic”
Review of Hotel Narsarsuaq

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Narsarsuaq
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narsarsuaq
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here end of August 2011 for one night and did not have high expectations. The hotel and restaurant are very basic, and that is fine. But they also lack charm and that's the problem. I only stayed overnight before boarding a sailboat and was happy to leave.

In Narsarsuaq there are no real alternatives, so if you need a roof and some basic food this will do, but don't expect anything else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hookipa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

There is very little at Narsarsuaq, except a huge runway! However, we stopped her as a start to our greenland holiday. The hotel is plain and boxy (but so is everything else in Narsarsuaq so it does not look out of place). The rooms are a bit tired, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The TV was positoned so you could only watch sitting ont he bed rather than sitting on the sofa. We didn't eat in the restaurant but used the cafe on the ground floor. The food was delicious. The english translations can be a bit deceiving, but the quality of the food was excellent. Can I recommend the "shellfish plate" which was a salad of snow crab legs, green mussels, and greenland shrinp.

The breakfast was fine too.

Although the staff can appear a bit standoffish, I think this is a cultural difference. We had a problem with our itinerary with conflicting times and the receptionist, once she was aware of our problem could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selseysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Narsarsuaq Hotel is close to the airport in South Greenland. The overall impression is dated. Rooms are ok. The cafetaria where breakfast is served is very basic. The restaurant upstairs lacks professional staff and so does the reception. There is often some confusion, also due to English language problems.
However,there is not much choice in this secluded place and this hotel is the best there is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went to Hotel Narsarsuaq for a day while touring Greenland. While the appearance of the hotel from the outside is plain and boring, it is huge. It is one of the biggest hotels I have ever seen. The food was delicious. The value of the food and the hotel was excellent. We loved our room. You wouldn't expect to see such a nice hotel in Greenland! I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Hotel is very large - boring concrete building but do not let this put you off. We had been eating camping style food all week and decided to splash out on a Greenlandic buffet on our last evening. I am so glad we did! The buffet was fantastic quality and well worth the cost. Traditional food eg whale and seal meat were good to experience

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rambla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Hotel is very large - must accommodate all passengers 200+ if flight is delayed (more than inhabitans of the "town").
Boring concrete biuldings (old US military base?), but rooms are OK - a bit worn. Cheap cafeteria (usual junkfood like burgers + a daily OK meal) and a fine restaurant. Grennlandic buffet twice weekly is fantastic and a bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BjoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Stayed for a few nights between ferry and flight. A bit soulless with long corridors but comfortable, large room with good sized bathroom. Excellent dinner (Greenlandic buffet good and enormous) in nice dining room. Breakfast in a rather gloomy cafeteria, but ample and varied.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Narsarsuaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Narsarsuaq

Address: Box 504, Narsarsuaq 3923, Greenland
Location: Greenland > Kujalleq Municipality > Narsarsuaq
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narsarsuaq
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Narsarsuaq 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Narsarsuaq welcomes you to an area of impressive natural beauty in South Greenland, just seven km from the ice cap, surrounded by high mountains, green valleys, and a sparkling blue fjord filled with icebergs!Narsarsuaq is the gateway to South Greenland and one of two international airport towns in Greenland and a major travel hub with regular air and sea connections to all towns in South Greenland.Yet despite its important role as a transit center, the town of Narsarsuaq with its 150 inhabitants is an excellent place to relax, unwind, and stretch your legs.You can discover majestic wilderness by taking a hike to the ice cap or discover exciting nearby destinations. Nature lovers will appreciate the pristine wilderness, clean air and water, and the majesty of the surrounding mountains and glaciers. In addition to being an ideal place to get away from it all during the summer, Narsarsuaq is a magical winter hideaway, where the northern lights illuminate the night skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Narsarsuaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing