We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in the most extraordinary location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilulissat
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in the most extraordinary location”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

we were blown away by the views from the rooms of the icebergs floating out to sea from the Jakobshavn glacier. Compared to other hotels we've stayed at in Greenland, this one was exceptional - there was working internet, TV and a wide range of food. Staff were helpful. One evening walking back to the hotel, the shuttlebus recognised us as we wandered up the hill and, unsolicited, stopped to pick us up!
It's an extraordinary town in an extraordinary country, and this hotel was fine!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    135
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
149
57
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is not perfect. Service is a bit haphazard, the food too, but when you think about where it is in a small town in the middle off nowhere, it is close to being exceptional. The views from virtually every room are mesmerizing: icebergs in the changing light. The Hotel's location makes the most of the bergs but means that it is about a 15 minute walk out of town, albeit a very interesting walk around the little Harbour. They have a shuttle bus on the hour of you don't want to walk. There are also shuttle buses to and from the airport. Rooms are quite large, well appointed and comfortable. That said, they do not come with block out curtains and, with twenty four hour day light from spring to autumn, sleep can be a challenge. An airline eye mask is HIGHLY recommended!

While a few people on Tripadvisor have recommended the little "igloo" cabins that the hotel also has, they looked very ordinary to us. While we were there some young Danes spent one night in two of the igloos before retreating to the hotel proper saying that they were terrible and like sleeping in a cold camper van, so beware!

Must dos in Illulissat are iceberg cruises at different times to see them in different light conditions, dog sledding if there is enough snow, walking in the world heritage area and a flight over the ice fjord and ice cap. We did a flight with Air Zafari and it was worth every kronor, just fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losIlulissatlos, General Manager at Hotel Arctic Ilulissat, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
All our rooms have curtains which can darken the rooms, so there seems to be a misunderstanding about the possibility to block the (midnight) sun out. Further all the
rooms have mosquito net for proctions if our guests prefers to have a window open
when they stay in the room.

Erik Bjerregaard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Arctic last week, but were surprised that our reservation was not found despite having a confirmation email from the hotel. It turns out their server and the Internet had crashed, something which is not surprising as the whole of the internet in Greenland went down later on our journey. Nonetheless, the manager was highly apologetic and we were accommodated for FREE in upgraded rooms as they were unaware that we had a reservation for their igloos (which they hadn't opened for the season yet as they assumed no one had booked them).

The hotel courtesy bus was a pleasure, particularly during blizzards, and the restaurant meals first class (I have not seen musk ox hearts look so tasty before)! In my opinion the junior suites are worth the money, very spacious, with a small balcony to look out at the floating icebergs.

I cannot recommend the Hotel Arctic more highly. A true gem in an isolated and beautiful area with professional multi-lingual staff, great food and great beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There's no question that this is an excellent hotel. It's clean, our room had a superb view of the bay, the facilities are all fine. It's about a 15-minute walk (with extraordinary views) from the centre of Ilulissat, and once an hour there is a free bus into town if you can't face it on foot.

Slight downsides include there being nowhere in the hotel to eat lunch (both restaurants are closed between breakfast and 6pm), and the bar also not being open during the day (also 6pm). And the staff, epitomised by those in the main restaurant.

As a fairly stoical Englishman I'm not inclined to moan for the sake of it, but the people in that restaurant are fickle to the point of bewilderment. Example: you're presented with a menu, the woman asks if you'd like to see the wine list, you say yes, she's off...and that's that. You see her wandering around completely oblivious to your presence before you're eventually spotted by someone else ten minutes later. The original girl is off doing whatever gets her attention.

Further example: the restaurant manager, a nice bloke who doubles up as a regular waiter, strides off to get you your second beer of the evening, only to have his mind scrambled by another member of staff talking to him. Ten minutes later he's seen chatting and laughing with this staff member, before seeing you sitting there (in full view - it's not a big restaurant) and looking at you confusedly like he's sure he was supposed to be doing something...though to be fair, in that case he did give me that beer on the house.

Final example: in Greenland you can hardly perfect English from the staff, and I never would, but when you explain that the menu is exactly the same as yesterday's you do really need someone who gets what you mean (given that the set menu or 'tapas' are your only choices).

Similar low-level ineptitude is shown by the staff on reception, who respond to questions with about as much comprehension as a cow watching a movie, and the cleaning staff, who apparently are trusted with shampoo and towels but not coffee or tea bags (which come from a different planet, from the looks they give you when you explain one tea bag for a whole day probably isn't enough for two people).

Hotel Arctic is almost certainly the best hotel in Ilulissat. Just understand in advance that you will have to be at your most patient to deal with the strange attitude of the staff there, who are very friendly, but quite hopeless at times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisL921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel arctic is in the perfect location, with their free shuttle into town. Amazing views. Rooms are simple and clean. Theres not much to do in the hotel at all so you get a bit bored when theres no excursions going on in town. The main resturants food isnt that great though u can tell they try really hard. I didnt eat much at all on my stay as i didnt like what was on offer.mainly meat dishes and the seafood comes out raw. The upstairs cafe had a menu to choose from so that was better and more casual.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Greenland's best hotel, however, pricy compared to other countries - but Greenlandic is expensive. Rooms in different cstegories, but all face the Icefiord. Great food, great terrace. Outside city centre, but frequent huttle bus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuk, Greenland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel have the nicest view in the world. You can see big icebergs from all there rooms and you can´t discribe what you see, you have to see it you self. Very clean hotel but expensiv. Nice breakfast and the restaurant is good not exptional. There rooms is extremely good equipped and there beds are very good.The only negativ i can tell is, the televison program is not the best. They have only 2-3 programs.

Room Tip: All there rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilulissat
1.0 mi away
Hotel Icefiord
Hotel Icefiord
#2 of 3 in Ilulissat
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avannaa
Hotel Avannaa
#2 of 5 in Ilulissat
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nordlys
Hotel Nordlys
#1 of 1 in Oqaatsut
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arctic Igloos
Hotel Arctic Igloos
#4 of 9 in Ilulissat
4 reviews
1.0 mi away
Icefiord Apartments
Icefiord Apartments
#2 of 9 in Ilulissat
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
IceCap Hostel
#6 of 9 in Ilulissat
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arctic Ilulissat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arctic Ilulissat

Property: Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
Address: Mittarfmmut Aqqutaa, Ilulissat DK-3952, Greenland
Location: Greenland > Qaasuitsup Municipality > Ilulissat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilulissat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Arctic, the world's most northerly 4 star hotel with a 5 star conference centre. Right on the edge of the Ilulissat Ice Fjord - a wonder of the world which is on the UNESCO World Heritage List - and well within reach for everyone who wants the experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arctic Ilulissat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing