We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere like this on earth”
Review of Ilulissat Icefjord

Ilulissat Icefjord
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$238.72*
and up
Ilulissat Midnight Sun Kayaking
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Ilulissat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This massive and fast-moving glacier travels more that 100 feet per day, dropping huge icebergs into its narrow coastal inlets.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nowhere like this on earth”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you have an adventurous soul - go there!
I loved every minute of this vacation and cried when I had to leave

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    17
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Assens, Denmark
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Breathtaking every single time we go there.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We are so lucky to actually live in Ilulissat, but everytime we take time to walk out to the Icefjord we are swept away by the sight. Best in sunshine but also fantastic in cloudy weather. Sometims we se whales coming into the fjord. The Icefjord is easily reach from the town Ilulissat. If you come from "downtown" Ilulissat, just walk past the soccerfield and turn left. After 10 min passing a lot of sledgedogs (don't touch, they are NOT pets), you come to the old heliport and from there a boardwalk takes you to viewpoints. Marked routes takes on longer hikes along the icefjords.
And you know what? It is for free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank karlvinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning proportions”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

One must complement the boat trip to see icebergs close up with a trek to the mouth of the Icefjord. Majestic. Having the very nice, and well informed, tour guide from World of Greenland near by to ask questions made it all the more memorable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NAsokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Gliding past the Ilulissat Icefjord was magical during the day and by the midnight sun. There's a wordless serenity when sailing past such magnificance. I feel privileged to have experienced these sites.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtotravel038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

a most amazing place... sailing among the icebergs, getting close to the glaciers... a once in a lifetime experience. I flew over the glacier ( the greenland ice sheet ) and observed many areas of melting. It only confirmed what scientists have been telling us... we need to pay attention.

nevertheless, the views are breathtaking, the walks wonderful, the hotel quite lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank paulac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilulissat Icefjord also viewed

Ilulissat, Qaasuitsup Municipality
Ilulissat, Qaasuitsup Municipality
 
Ilulissat, Qaasuitsup Municipality
Ilulissat, Qaasuitsup Municipality
 

Been to Ilulissat Icefjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing