We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high end camping”
Review of Glacier Lodge Eqi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilulissat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Lodge Eqi
Reviewed August 19, 2013

no running water, no electricity in the eco cabins.... if you are looking for a 4/5 star hotel, this is not it. That said, if you are looking for a 4/5 star camping experience this is exemplary. the remote location, the views all live up to one's expectations. hike to the top of the glacier. the guides and staff are wonderful, the meals (in the middle of nowhere, keep this in mind) are wonderful. Truly an amazing experience. Must bring: insect repellent and netting for ones head, essential, but don't let this deter you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at comfort hut. they are newly furnished and modern with bathroom and balcony. STUNNING view from balcony facing the glacier. we had 24 hrs daylight so u can literally enjoy the view 24hrs a day. u can do a number of hikings but we went for the one going to the moraine (around 4 to 5 hrs return trip including photo stops and depending on your speed). MAGNIFICENT view when we reached the moraine, though i reckon u need to be reasonably fit to do this. we had to pass thru 3 streams along the way, and 2 uphills towards the end leading up to the moraine. highly recommend a pair of good hiking boots for the uphills. no obvious hiking tracks for this part and lots of slippery rocks and debris.
focus on the lodge itself - great maintenance by WOG and staff. clean amd comfortable. VERY impressed about all the efforts they put in (travelling, transfer of food, goods, utilities and even garbages!). but be aware that there is NO mobile reception at all at the lodge (though i understand that they were “trying” to connect internet).
highly recommended the stay especially after 5 hrs of boat cruise seeing the eqi glacier, otherwise u will have to take another 5 hrs boat trip back to ilulissat.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpj_pcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Glacier Lodge Eqi. Go for the Comfort cabins. There is bathroom attached. The views from the room, balcony is simply wonderful. The rooms are beautifully designed.
Cafe Victor served wonderful food by Chef Paa. Ice water from icebergs taste very refreshing. From Glacier Lodge, there are several hikes which you can take to to top of the Glacier, the lake and the Ice cap. Would go again.

Room Tip: Choose the New comfort rooms which have the shower and bath attached. They all face the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savedwater S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Coming from Iceland ice is not new to me but watching and listening to the glacier from sea, sailing through the ice towards the camp was very special. The little huts with the skin hides was a nice surprise. The soup at Caffe Victor was one off the best I have tasted and all the meals were very nice. The trip towards the glacier and staying in the camp for 2 nights with a walk on the ice was the highlight of my visit to Greenland. All the staff were very nice and friendly. A trip well worth it.
Rósa Hauksdóttir, Iceland

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very special and unique location. A two day trip to the ice is a must! Lunch def. should be included though when you don't have a choice out there with only their own cafe as the only (expensive) option...

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vladivostock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank Casper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOGstaff, Front Office Manager at Glacier Lodge Eqi, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilulissat hotels
41.9 mi away
Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
Hotel Arctic Ilulissat
#1 of 3 in Ilulissat
396 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel Icefiord
Hotel Icefiord
#2 of 3 in Ilulissat
153 reviews
42.8 mi away
Icefiord Apartments
Icefiord Apartments
#3 of 10 in Ilulissat
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
IceCap Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ilulissat
6 reviews
41.8 mi away
Hotel Avannaa
Hotel Avannaa
#2 of 5 in Ilulissat
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unnuisarfik Isikkivik Rooms
Unnuisarfik Isikkivik Rooms
#2 of 10 in Ilulissat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge Eqi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge Eqi

Address: Kussangajaannguaq 7, Ilulissat 3952, Greenland (Formerly Ice Camp Eqi)
Location: Greenland > Qaasuitsup Municipality > Ilulissat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ilulissat
Price Range: $167 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Glacier Lodge Eqi 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ice Camp Eqi is situated with a unique view to the calving glacier Eqip Sermia. Views from all huts to the glacier. The crashes are enormous and the sight of the icebergs falling into the water is impressiveThe camp is powered with solar energy. We recommend at least two nights to get the most of your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing