We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful even without flamingos

Pink flamingos come in winter so I didn't see any, but I still had a great time. I got there at... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
yumm2011
,
New York City, New York
Area of outstanding natural beauty

Hired a taxi and this was part of our guided tour. We arrived about 7:45 and there were two other... read more

Reviewed July 23, 2018
Julia S
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 214 reviews
  
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
55
31
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
31
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews row boat clams guided walk flora and fauna pink flamingos small boat spoke english boat rower two hours boat trip tour guide taxi fare paid cuc mangroves boats pelicans towed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

thinking of finding a paradise, it was just a boat ride on a green lake, very poor fauna, they blamed the hurricane but Ok, then close the place and wait until it is visitable again , did not like it, dont recomend it

1  Thank lucygrundy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Pink flamingos come in winter so I didn't see any, but I still had a great time. I got there at 8am for the 8:30 tour. Since it was off season, there was no line. $10 admission for a boat tour of the bay/lake. It was so quiet and peaceful. It transcends time. We saw pelicans, vultures, crabs, and other small birds. The guide took me inside the mangrove, and that was one of the most memorable moments of this trip. I hope to return during the flamingo season one day.

Thank yumm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Hired a taxi and this was part of our guided tour. We arrived about 7:45 and there were two other families. We paid CUC$10 per person which included a tour guide.
The public toilets should only be used if you’re desperate. Basically a hut with no windows, make sure you take toilet roll and hand sanitiser.
There is a short hike to the canoes. Make sure you wear long sleeves and trousers and / or mosquito repellent, got eaten alive.
The guide pointed out local plants and crabs which buried in the sand. The locals snap off a claw and cook that as apparently the crabs are able to grow back their limbs and the locals don’t want to cut off their food source!
We had our own canoe (two of us), the boatman told us that due to the previous nights rain, we were unlikely to see any flamingos. We did however see herons, pelicans, hawks, woodpeckers, amongst others. The water is so serene and our boatman knowledgable. He took us into the mangroves and caught a baby crab which he offered to me to hold, I refused but did take photos. There were also lots of giant butterflies, but they were too fast to capture on camera. Well worth a visit. We tipped the boatman. There was a box on the reception desk for tips for the tour guide which we ignored. The boatman did the hard work and gave us all our information. The tour lasted about two hours.

Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

So we mistakenly booked our Cienfuegos casa for 3 nights, and were therefore looking for things to do there. We heard that the Lagoon may be nice, and that while the flamingos were elsewhere due to the rain (e.g. the water was not salty enough), it would still be worth it. Well, it was not. In all fairness, the tour guide also told us in advance that the flamingos would not be there, but that other birds would make up for it. The lagoon is completely empty and we were indeed very disappointed in the tour itself. Oh well, let's hope they use the 10 CUC pp to preserve the nature!

2  Thank ErikMerkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

The Lagoon is nice, but you don't go close to the flamingos (you only see them from far away). If you have other activities to do, don't hesitate. I would have opted for the waterfalls if I would have known. Plus, the ticket seller was VERY rude: didn't want to sell our tickets unless we gave a tip, kept our passports for over 30 min with me standing and waiting. They only take 30-40 people per day, so you MUST arrive at 7:15am to be able to go.

1  Thank JessicaLT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We had same experience as AbaF1983, lining up for an hour and then were told quota full. Very frustrated. They just don't have the will to improve the system and not letting people disappointed.

We did reserve for next day on the spot and the flamingos were spectacular. It worth the effort to go again after all the frustration the day before.

My advice:
1. Arrive there before 7:45 or earlier.
2. Call in & book in advance. I saw the guy there taking reservation on phone.
3. If you have the booking, no need to queue up, go straight to the counter.

1  Thank Albertyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

We booked a private taxi to Guanaroca Lagoon and Nicho Falls. We arrived at 8am at Guanaroca Lagoon entrance. There was 1 guy issuing tickets, and it was taking over 5 minutes per person. We queued for over an hour, then a lady came and said it's only 30 tickets per day, and they were finished. We had 4 people at that time ahead of us, and no way of telling them it would have been nice to inform us before or at least put a paper at the entrance saying "Only 30 tickets per day available".

Waste of time and lack of communication. Terrible organisation!
Never had such problems in 2 weeks holiday in Cuba!
If we would have known in advance we had to pre-reserve the tickets, we wouldn't have get a private taxi.

1  Thank AbaF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

This is way oversold. The flamingos are truly beautiful but there is no nature walk with a guide. Half of our group of twenty was given their money back because either there were not enough boats or not enough boat drivers. Our $20 taxi fare the previous morning was wasted because they were already sold out. They put our name on a reservation list for the following morning - but never used the reservation list. We were just plain lucky to get a boat. Cubans are not greedy - but this poorly run activity is a crap shoot.

Thank Whither-Fate-Leads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Ask your boat rower to take you all around the lagoon. Most don't, and you miss so much! We saw numerous birds at the far end of the lagoon, not just the flamingoes.

Thank nalani50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018

We have spent 2 days in Cienfuegos and it was our best activity. We had a very nice early morning boat ride and enjoyed the nice surroundings of the lagoon and saw a lot of these nice pink and white flamingos.

2  Thank siomikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews