We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Location”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We travelled with friends in Cuba and spent two nights at La Union. We had rooms on the cobblestone street on the side with the front enterance of this hotel. Our rooms were quite spacious and air conditioned. The doors to the small balcony open so you can take in the street scene, which we enjoyed but for many the noise would be a problem. The bar/disco further up the street closes down between 1.a.m. and 2 a.m. and following the closing everyone hits the streets and lingers to continue partying. There were car alarms, people honking car horns, shouting and singing in the street below. So consider if this will ruin your sleep or if you can handle being awoken in the middle of the night. An inside room might be a better choice for some.

The pool area is lovely and well maintained. It's a great place to relax and have a drink, even if you don't use the pool. The roof top terrace is the only place open later in the evening if you want to have a drink. On the night we went we were the only people there and it was clear we were disturbing the staff who were watching a soceer game.

The front desk staff were excellent. One of our party could not use the stairs and they arranged for her to use the service elevator which was greatly appreciated. They also gave us restaurant suggestions and directions to some of the local attractions.

The breakfast is passable but not as good as other hotels we stayed in. We had a car and appreciated the free secure parking offered by the hotel.

Both the interior of the hotel and our room needed some attention to minor repairs and cleaning, especially the stairwell, which everyone uses and which gives guests a first impression. But overall, especially for Cuba we felt it was good value and a lovely historic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    314
    145
    35
    17
See reviews for
104
376
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is a very attractive building in the heart of the city very close to the main square. The pool and the inner courtyards are excellent and the breakfast was also very good. We found the staff and the service to be friendly and very helpful.

The lift does not work still, and judging by the pieces I could see, it will not be working for a while, but the staff are very good and quickly move your luggage. The warnings on noise from local bars are accurate, either go and join in or try and get an internal room!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The best thing about our 2 days in Cienfuegos was staying at the hotel Union. It's a beautiful building very well kept inside and outside, and right by the main square, facing a charming little shopping street. We loved the colonial feel to it with its pretty courtyard and great pool. We felt it had lots of character.
Our room was very spacious, clean with a good size bathroom and air co that worked well. We had a fridge which was handy for cooling the water. On the slightly down side our room which was facing the shopping street was noisy in the morning, so ask for a room on the pool side to avoid noise disturbance.
The pool area with the bar and pool restaurant were great after a hot day sightseeing, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the food served by the pool was good. You can get pool towels for 1cuc per towel by asking at the bar. We ate at the hotel restaurant the 1st evening, the food is more expensive than other restaurant and good quality but to us it wasn't that special, it's a reliable choice if all other options run out. The breakfast buffet served in the same room was good.
There are 2 PCs for internet in the lobby but don't waste your money it is the slowest things ever and couldn't even send a simple email.. To be fair the lovely blond lady at reception did warn me when I purchased the internet card but I did not believe it could be that slow, So yes I confirm, it is !
There is a free guarded parking across the hotel if you come by car and that was handy.
The lift is indeed out of order for good, but the staff use the service lift to bring up and down the bags, or to bring people who cannot walk up the stairs. That leads me to disappointing part of the hotel : the roof terrace on the 4th floor. The view is amazing at night with the sunset, it would be the best place to be however there is no atmosphere at all because there is no live music. Of all places we went in Cuba this was one of the only one without music in the evening, bitterly disappointing for us. And I can understand that going up 4 set of stairs without lift is not for every body so it was very quiet up there.
In the hotel there is also a small shop that sells drinks and souvenirs and a small pharmacy.
We had a great time at the hotel and I can only warmly recommend it, despite the lack of live music on the terrace ( there are plenty of bars around the square that do have live music to compensate...)

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise, ask for a room at the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

On the outside it looked good as did the inside but lacked character. In other hotels there was always music in the bar areas etc but not here. It in a good position to see the beautiful square. If you have a room at the front of the hotel you can hear the noise from a bar on the other side of the road until the early hours! We were very disappointed

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
417 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a lovely quiet room overlooking the pool with window but no balcony. Nice furnishings and very comfortable beds.
OK, the lift isn't working but very able staff carried our bags up to the room.
Very good breakfast and wonderful views from the roof top bar.
Lovely "Colonial" feel with cool internal courtyards.
Well recommended

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel great location with a good parking service. This hotel is a gem in Cuba. Lovely spacious room, Italian style pool. Great bar with good service and a good breakfast. Would love to stay here again. Because of the elevator and ramps it is easy with strollers. If your staying in cienfuegos stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

But that's the only thing not wonderful about the hotel. They carried our bags up for us; it's wasn't a hard wallk anyway. The pool was beautifully clean and well-cared for and a perfect place to unwind at the end of a hot day of touring. We enjoyed Cienfuegos immensely - we found the art community welcoming (there are lots of galleries and workshops to browse through) and the restored buidlings were a visual pleasure. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and it has a great central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the main street, if you are sensitive to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMFSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
910 reviews
38.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
141.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
143.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,302 reviews
5.8 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Boutique La Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Property: Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Address: Calle 31 esq. A 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cubanacan Boutique La Union 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Cubanacan Boutique La Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Hotel Cienfuegos
Holiday Inn Cienfuegos
Cienfuegos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing