We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exudes charm and beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
San Diego
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Exudes charm and beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A lovely, restored, boutique hotel, only a block from the Parque Jose Marti. Rooms were large and bathrooms modern. Very clean. Beds a little hard, but that seemed to be true all over Cuba. Lovely pool and bar area. A true colonial experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    305
    138
    35
    16
See reviews for
101
362
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beautiful old colonial style building in good condition , unusual for Cuba !
Rooms large and clean.
Bathrooms clean.
Air con.
Pool, bar etc.
Excellent location.
Breakfast poor - little choice and bread stale.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaS366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The rooms are large and clean. The maids were very responsive to our requests for additional items. Food in the restaurant was OK. Go upstairs to the terrace for a cerveza and a great view. we were here on a Grand Circle Foundation Trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a lovely old-style hotel.
I came here for a night with my mum as part of a tour of Cuba and we both really enjoyed it. The food was lovely and it was so relaxing to be able to lie by the large outdoor pool. The fountain in the middle of the indoor courtyard was a lovely old-fashioned touch with everything being painted in bright, cool colours.
We had a lovely stay,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina110992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

La Union is a block from the square. The rooms are huge -- high ceilings, doors to the balcony were at east 14 feet high. The pool is beautiful. This is supposed to be the best hotel in Cienfuegos.

That said, service was only ok, the elevator didn't work, and the rooms were is need of updating. The bedding is old, the lights dim, the a/c incapable of being controlled so you had the option of too cold and noisy or too warm. The breakfast buffet was adequate, not as good as the Parque Central in Havana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogger-FallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived by bus from Havana and the hotel was full as it is the only hotel in the centre of Cienfuegos and is used by groups.. The friendly receptionist found us a room in a private house opposite Mariselma's (25CUC plus lovely breakfast for 5CUC more) and we stayed there 1 night before moving into La Union. The hotel is lovely, with bedrooms looking over central shady courtyards, complete with tinkling fountains. The main dining room is given over to the groups with a set meal but you can eat in the courtyard for a reasonable price and a good breakfast is included in the hotel price (145CUC per night). The use of a computer was 6CUC for an hour but nothing was achieved within that time as the connection was so slow. There is a communications office opposite the hotel and it was the same price but a bit quicker. You just have to face it, in Cuba there is no wifi and very limited computer connection. It is better to book everything before you go. PS the lift still wasn't working but there was a service lift you could use if you asked! Also the credit card machine so we had to pay cash again( we were rarely able to use our credit card although we did manage to get m oney from ATMS, paying a surcharge to update to dollars to then convert to sterling.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelvertoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Only stayed here one night and it does look a lovely hotel with a beautiful inner courtyard and pool. We had a snack on the bar terrace with (lots of) rum. They gave us a corner suite (see earlier reviews) in which you could have held a conference! The bedroom was massive to use a yoof phrase and quite comfortable. The position on the front meant little sleep as has been mentioned, the streets are very very noisy with folk turning out to meet & great, cars playing music until 0330 . . . and then the noise starts around 0600. So, if you want a sleep - ask for a quiet room - maybe inward facing. The breakfast was pretty awful. The coffee was undrinkable - how can a country that actually produces coffee turn out this rubbish? I had to pay for an cortado. There must be plenty of casa particulares around for better accommodation & food.

Room Tip: well, I did email them and asked for a quiet room - perhaps ask to see your room before handing over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
38.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
32.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
141.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Boutique La Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Boutique La Union

Property: Cubanacan Boutique La Union
Address: Calle 31 esq. A 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cubanacan Boutique La Union 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Hotel Cienfuegos
Holiday Inn Cienfuegos
Cienfuegos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing