We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Only stayed here one night and it does look a lovely hotel with a beautiful inner courtyard and pool. We had a snack on the bar terrace with (lots of) rum. They gave us a corner suite (see earlier reviews) in which you could have held a conference! The bedroom was massive to use a yoof phrase and quite comfortable. The position on the front meant little sleep as has been mentioned, the streets are very very noisy with folk turning out to meet & great, cars playing music until 0330 . . . and then the noise starts around 0600. So, if you want a sleep - ask for a quiet room - maybe inward facing. The breakfast was pretty awful. The coffee was undrinkable - how can a country that actually produces coffee turn out this rubbish? I had to pay for an cortado. There must be plenty of casa particulares around for better accommodation & food.

Room Tip: well, I did email them and asked for a quiet room - perhaps ask to see your room before handing over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 736 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a really good hotel, although like everything Cuban odd bits didn't work - in our visit the lift was down although the porters managed to find a service elevator for the baggage.

Our room was actually a suite, a corner room on floor two. Impressive entry, lounge and huge bedroom with a bigger than king bed. Bathroom was also copious. There were full length windows opening to the streets, although even the good glazing didn't prevent the intrusion of the local nightlife which didn't finish until after 3 am.

Great pool was put to good use by our party as was the bar.

Restaurant was excellent. They had some tour parties in when we visited so a buffet was in progress. The girls reckon it was the best meal we'd had in Cuba so far! And the solved my allergy by cooking a special dish. And the wine was nice too.

Breakfast was a bit ho hum, and the coffee only instant mixed in a large pot, but adequate to get us through the day.

Room Tip: I'd ask. For the suite on level 1, although if a quiet nighties important to you then ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel brings you back to the realization that this is a developing country. Very ordinary is probably the best one could say about this hotel, where the lift didn't work, the lighting is totally inadequate, the bedding ancient, and the noise echoing from the bar area made sleep (if one could sleep given the bedding) very challenging. Very tired, disgusting pillows, very ordinary. If there is a better hotel in Cienfuegos, take it. Final insult, the credit card machine wasn't working so had to use cash again.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here from 22nd to 27th November. A few problems to note but hey this is Cuba. Firstly the lift was out of order when I arrived and was still out of action when I checked out. No problem to me but if you were on the third floor could have been inconvenient. The internet access in the hotel was not working all the time I was at the hotel but there is an internet shop directly over the road from the hotel that charges 4.5 CUC per hour. Another thing that I found strange was no plug in the room for the bath or wash basin. There is a safe in the room but if you want to lock the safe you have to rent the key from reception at 2 CUC per day.

If you are a light sleeper you may have a few problems with the noise at night. This hotel is situated in the town centre, the Cuban people are very friendly and sociable. As you would expect there is no double glazing so noise is heard from off the streets. I was first floor in room 126, I woke most mornings between 2 to 2.30am with what can only be described as sounding like a night club turning out, loud talking, singing and cars racing away then it goes quiet and peaceful.

I can't comment on the food in the hotel at night as we ate out every night, there are some good eating places, most have the menu's in Spanish and English, I was paying about 14 CUC for starter, main and 2 beers. It was safe to walk out at night and we walked all over the main areas of Cienfuegos at night looking at the different eating places. The breakfast in the hotel is edible but not great. The best thing is the freshly made omelette but sometimes you have to wait because the person making the omelettes liked to wander back into the kitchen.

The hotel is clean and tidy, not up to the standard of Havana or city hotels but for a provincial hotel it is pretty good. The rooms are clean, I had no problem sleeping except for the noise as mentioned. The shower in the bathroom had a large shower head with plenty of power and hot water. There is a mini bar in the room, this is useful for keeping your bottled water cold. No coffee making facility in room. The air con was efficient but too noisy for me to keep on at night even on low setting. Good pool and bar/café near the pool. There is a nice roof top bar on the 4th floor, I used this the first night I was there but it was not open again during my stay. Maybe this was because the lift was out of action. Pool was good.

Summary - Ok hotel as long as you remember this is a provincial hotel in a town centre in Cuba. No problems staying here the staff are helpful and I would have no concerns about staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandKDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for one night here as part of a tour, excellent position, the colonial style was fantastic. Just what you'd expect and want to experience Cuba fully. A welcome sight it what is a diverse and interesting city in walking distance to the main square with the Thomas Terry Theatre there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I just dropped in to take a look at the property and to have a drink. The colonial style hotel is centrally located in Cienfuegos within walking distance of many points of interest, restaurants and bars. The entrance and common areas were bright, attractive and clean. The pool and adjacent bar area was lovely and service was excellent. I wished I had a booked a couple of nights and stayed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mirami-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located in the heart of this clean and well designed City, a great place for walking tours of the Square, Terry Theater, Galleries and more. Parking is located across the street with 24 hour guard. What a relief from Havana or Camaguey.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the atrium, not the front street, especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
38.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jagua Managed by Melia Hotels International
7.6 mi away
Hotel Faro Luna
Hotel Faro Luna
#4 of 7 in Cienfuegos
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#5 of 7 in Cienfuegos
680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cienfuegos
176 reviews
39.1 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 2 in Playa Ancon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International

Address: Calle 31 esq. A 54, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range: $159 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Unión by MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL: A classic in the centre of Cienfuegos Founded in 1869 and restored in 2000, Hotel La Unión is excellently located right in the heart of the old part of the city of Cienfuegos. Its distinctive style of architecture, its welcoming atmosphere and its beautiful inner courtyards have made it the choice of prominent figures throughout history on their visits to the city. The hotel has a restaurant, two bars and a pool, meeting room and panoramic lift, as well as spacious rooms including Classic Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites with views of the city and a welcoming interior patio, all decorated with colonial-style furniture. Some of its facilities include the events room, gym and souvenir shop. It is an ideal option to enjoy direct contact with the customs of Cienfuegos, its old neighbourhoods and the kindness of its people. Recommended for circuits, tours and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Boutique La Union Hotel Cienfuegos
Holiday Inn Cienfuegos
Cienfuegos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing