We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Punta La Cueva(Cienfuegos)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Faro Luna(Cienfuegos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Rancho Luna(Cienfuegos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Guajimico(Trinidad)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Caburni(Topes de Collantes)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurhotel Escambray(Topes de Collantes)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveler rating
190
349
161
42
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
349
161
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barla unioncolonial hotelswimming poolone nightlovely hotelthe main squarelovely poolbreakfast was buffet styleplaza mayortomas terryhalf boardnoisy at nightloved this hotelcentre of towngreat cocktailseggs cooked to order
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 761 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotle for one night during our trip in Cuba. We liked the hotel! The room was big and clean and we had no noise at night (see earlier revieuws). Probably because we slept on the inner site of the hotel. Th epool and the whirlpool are nice and clean! The breakfast could be better but we have al had more worse breakfasts in Cuba. Right accros the street there is a Dino Pizzeria where you can eat good pizza's (for Cuban standards) for a good prize!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanPaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Good location near the main square. Friendly and helpful staff. Good rooftop bar. 1869 restaurant is good by Cuban standards but only average by UK standards. Good for breakfast. Probably a good 3 star hotel standard in UK terms, borderline 4 star. Only downside was room overlooked noisy street.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear or side to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterBrusque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The key plus point about this hotel is its decor. It is refined elegance from the lobby to the Italianate pool to the restaurant to the rooms. All very impressive.

The location is excellent for exploring the city of Cienfuegos.

The key negative point is the poor standard of service. When we arrived the room had not been completely cleaned and there was no toilet paper and no toiletries in the bathroom. The toiletries and minibar did not get restocked unless we asked, which was very annoying.

The night receptionist was particularly lazy. We asked her for water one night. She told us to get it from the minibar. When we told her there was none left in the minibar she did not offer to restock it. Instead she told us to get it from the bar on the 4th floor! Bear in mind that the elevator was out of service for maintenance during our stay.

The level of information we were given on arrival was insufficient. For example we arrived in our room to find that the safe had no lock on it. I went down to ask the receptionist about this and he said we had to rent the lock for 2 CUCs per night. It would have been nice to have had such an explanation at check-in, as well as a brief explanation of the layout of the hotel and the services available. I got tired of people telling me 'this is Cuba' as though that's an excuse for poor service. If Cuba wants people to return for more than one visit it needs to shape up its attitude towards service provision.

One of our chambermaids was very friendly and she made our stay very enjoyable. I was happy to reward her with a tip at the end.

Food in the restaurant was okay. Breakfast selection was poor but the service made up for it.

The room was very noisy, particularly at night. You could hear dogs barking, loud music playing and people shouting in the street all through the night.

Another negative point was that a lot of dodgy people hang out near the hotel entrance waiting to prey on unsuspecting tourists with offers of cheap restaurants etc or simply to beg for money.

Overall though I would recommend this hotel. It is rather unique and has more magic than other hotels I stayed in in Cuba.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TokyoLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel is very charming, superb rooms, beautifull swimming pool, wonderfull bar at the top level, but but but... theparking service is not safe: we left our car to the portier to bring it in a 'safe' place for the night and the we received our car back with two (small) pieces missing (stolen during the night!). The reception desk was totally unfriendly and useless (they thought it was not their problem...) we had to negociate ourselves with the company in charge of watching the car to go to the police for a declartaion (it was compulsory as it was a rented car) and after two hours lost we simply abandon deciding to pay ourseves to the rent a car company!!! No excuse, no help, no responsability feeling of the hotel... In summary a super hotel if you don't have a car

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The union is a nice hotel loceted in cienfuegos center but the best solution in city is to rent a Casa Particoular!At "la Union" all is at a medium-low level: Food, clean, staff.
The hotel is located in city center but a bit far from the beachs. There are some places around where you can have a lunch/dinner considering that the hotel restaurant is not particoulary good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews