We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Folklorico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teatro Terry

Teatro Terry
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Folklorico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Attended a folkloric evening complete with Iberian bagpipe music. It was time most enjoyed. The theater itself is fairly well maintained and is a reminder of a past life in Cienfuegos.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    152
    35
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Why are they honoring this man??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

While it is interesting to see the legacy of great wealth that once ruled Cuba—this was a fancy theatre now gone to seed— it was funded by a man who bought sick slaves, fed and medicated them so they'd recover…all so he could resell them for a higher price! At least this was what our Cuban guide told us. Note: We did not see performance in this theatre, only toured its auditorium and hallways showing past artists. We did however see a performance of the fabulous Cienfuegos choir access the street.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SRVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was glad this building was on our tour itinerary, since it was recommended to me as a must-see by the co-author of Tropicana Nights. There is no admission charge, but you do have to pay if you want to take photos inside. I would have loved to have seen a live performance here. There is an interesting bar/"gift shop" next door (see photos).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaAirheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto NB
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We love to see the classic old theaters that were built to inspire and this one does. We had a great visit and the docent we had was excellent. The ceiling frescoes, the artwork and the old seating seam to still resonate with the 1920 vaudeville music.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

You can have a nice mojito while listening to live music at the place. It has a inside and outside part. Lots of young people there

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PerpetuumM0bile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Terry also viewed

Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Been to Teatro Terry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing