We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bouyon 1825

Bouyon 1825
Ranked #13 of 61 Restaurants in Cienfuegos
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were recommended to come to this restaurant by our taxi driver and we were very pleasantly surprised. There was great ambiance, good service, good wine list and most of all good food. Our bill with a bottle of wine was under 30 dollars for 2 persons. We would definitely recommend this place.

As a tip also there is a very knowledgable taxi driver named Michel that parks outside the Hotel Jagua who speaks very good english and drive a historic car- a 1986 lada that was a gift to his grandfather from Fidel Castro for fighting in th revolution. Michel is very honest and fair in his taxi fares. He will also recommend good restaurants and activities in cienfuegos. He will also tell you where to stay away from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinandMarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hmm...”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food was not bad for Cuba and good cocktails but I have to say there was an error with our bill that we suspected was deliberate -'oh sorry charged you 28 instead of 18'. Beware.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly service, fairly standard Cuban food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is located close to Parque Jose Marti but away from the evening hubbub of the other restaurants and shops on El Blvd. Good service with a nice atmosphere, including wonderful old pictures of Cienfuegos. A TV on the wall played Cuban music videos but it wasn't too loud.

The menu includes all the usual Cuban fare: pan-fried or grilled meats accompanied with a salad, rice and beans, fried plantains and fruit. The one item they had that I didn't see on a lot of other menus was picadillo (a ground beef dish) and this was served with a fried egg on top.

The drinks menu was surprisingly extensive, but unfortunately the canchancara cocktail (rum with honey) was disappointing. The food arrived quickly and was good, nothing outstanding, and cost about 8-10 CUC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paladar - hidden away but do not miss”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A wonderful evening meal, great hosts, delicious freshly made food (you can see the kitchen) and a charming family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crackerjack827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban food, cheap price!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

One of the best paladares tried (and we tried a dozen) in Cuba. Excellent comida criolla, reasonable/cheap price, great location, friendly staff. A must: the homemade flan and the banana-chips!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxiDrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouyon 1825 also viewed

Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Been to Bouyon 1825? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing