We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare treat in Cienfuegos, and not in the guidebooks”

Restaurante Dona Nora
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Cienfuegos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rare treat in Cienfuegos, and not in the guidebooks”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The elderly owner of our Casa Particular in Cienfuegos recommended Dona Nora, and we were tempted to ignore her. We're glad we didn't. The food in the small first-floor restaurant is full of flavour, and the ingredients were of a high standard. Neither of these traits can be taken for granted in Cuba. The prawns in garlic were delicious and generous, but the chicken kebab was sublime. Go against your better judgement and have a kebab - you won't be disappointed. This place is intimate, with a good mix of Cubans and tourists, and far superior to the places listed in the guidebooks. Get here late, wait for a seat on the balcony, and enjoy an excellent dinner overlooking the Prado.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    97
    27
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“One of the best dishes I ever ate”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a great paladar. As others have mentioned, don't be put off by the entrance...go inside and upstairs!!! I ordered one of their specialties, rabbit (the other is their lamb which my friends said was delicious as well). The rabbit was tender and fell off the bones but the sauce was unbelievable...the best I have ever had. Try it!!!! The flan for dessert was the best I have ever had as well. Don't pass this place up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dona Nora”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely Paladar, splendid location, overlooking the Prado. Beautiful building and great food. Also pretty vegetarian friendly. Recommended by Norma who's Casa we stayed in and who's son is one of the lovely staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and evening”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Sent here by my Casa hosts. A great meal and exceptional service by the owne, Yarek. Also had a very talented sax player so the ambiance was exceptional. Not to be missed in Cienfuegos. Calle 37 (Prado) #4219 The lamb is very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“great food!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We ate here as another paladar we wanted to go to was closed, and it was a great choice!! I had lamb and it was simply delicious - tasty and moist. The mojitos were very good (and very strong). We only spent 16 CUC, including the drinks and desert. Absolutely recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Dona Nora also viewed

Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Been to Restaurante Dona Nora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing