We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Casa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal La Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal La Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Casa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights. Tony, the owner, speaks great English and will do anything to make sure you have a great time.

The room was nice and clean. The food was really good. The fish I had here was the best I had in Cuba.

Although the Casa is not right in the town centre or the Punta Gorda area, it's more peaceful experience for that. I met other travellers who stayed in Punta Gorda and couldn't sleep because of the noise from the clubs.

Cienfuegos is worth visiting. It's a very hassle free, relaxed city and there's a nice beach at Rancho Luna.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion about our property. We really appreciate it.
We will continue doing our very best to help our guests.
Thanks once again.
Tony Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Reading the rest of the reviews, I could not agree more with all the positive comments. The casa is very big and has two rooms, and as soon as you arrive Tony makes you feel that you arrived home or visiting an old friend. You feel like yourself, the room is comfortable and clean, with a private bathroom, and there is also parking space if you arrive with a car. Do not miss the opportunity to chat with Tony over breakfast and ask as many questions as you want about Cuba, he is more than welcome to provide you with a true insight into the real cuban life. For breakfast Tony will provide whatever your heart desires and will give you the most updated information on what is happening in the city and where to go. Place is easy to find and he will also be happy to wait for you if you want to. Thanks for the hospitality Tony if we come back to Cienfuegos will certainly need a room again!

Room Tip: If you can choose, choose the room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion about our property. We really appreciate it.
We will continue doing our very best to help our guests.
Thanks once again.
Tony Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagnac, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hostal La Verde is such a nice place to stay in during your trip in Cienfuegos ! Tony is so warmfull and knows how to make you confortable as soon as you get into the house.
The bedroom is very clean, as well as the house. It is very well located, you are able to go to the city center by walk but Tony can give you a ride if you need to go somewhere.
I do recommend this place, it can only be a great choice !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement_TLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We really appreciate it.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Best regards.
Tony Castillo
Owner of Hostal La Verde
Cienfuegos,
Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you want to see the real Cuba and meet real Cubans you should get out of Havana and stay in casa particulars. If your travels take you to Cienfuegos you couldn’t do better than to stay at Hostal la Verde.

Tony is an excellent host with a lovely house. As he speaks perfect English and is happy to answer any questions this led to us having long conversations over his excellent breakfasts (whatever you want for breakfast, Tony will provide it).

A couple of weeks before we set off to Cuba Tony emailed me to ask if we had any special requirements. I thought that this showed that he has a real interest in his customers and proved that we had chosen the right casa. Nothing changed my mind about that.

If your guide book is a couple of years old the restaurant recommendations will be a bit out of date. Tony knows what is happening in Cienfuegos, new restaurants opening, old ones which no longer live up to expectations, and while we were staying with him came up with excellent recommendations.

As other reviewers have said chatting with Tony is like chatting with an old friend. When we left, Tony very kindly told us that if we hit any problems on the rest of our tour we should just phone him. I can’t over-emphasise just how good the whole experience of Hostal la Verde was.

My advice – visit Cuba, stay in casa particulars, go to Cienfuegos, stay with Tony. You will not be disappointed by any of that advice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milk_Milk_Lemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We will continue doing our very best to please our guets at home.
Thanks once again.
Best regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay, the house/rooms are very clean, the food is excellent, the relationship with the owners is very nice, you feel like you are with close friends; Tony suggested very good places to go, including to have dinner, very good recommendations, another reason to trust and be thankful to them. Excellent food, don't forget the dessert.

Hostal La Verde, is a place that you were going to be willing to go back again. I give 5 stars, because we feel highly satisfied.

They did the best to PLEASE us and that's what we are, HAPPY GUESTS

Thanks a lot to you Tony and your family.

Teresa
USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias Teresa por tus maravillosas palabras acerca de nuestro servicio y de nuestra casa.
Haremos todo lo que este a nuestro alcance para mantener nuestros servicios a la altura de nuestros clientes.
Saludos cordiales para ti y Ramiro.
Gracias ua ves más.

Tony Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Tony is one of the most engaged man in Cuba doing all he can to make your stay comfortable. The house ist beautiful and we could choose between one of the two nice rooms (each with own bathroom). Breakfast was wonderful and Tony made the best omelett in Kuba!!The house is situated 400 meters from the Malecon in Cienfuegos and in a calm area. Taking the bus or walking to the city- no problem!We really can recommend this casa!! Katrin and Markus, Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments Katrin. I really appreciate it.
Take care,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Cienfuegos as a family of three (parents plus two and a half year old). By way of summary, this was an awesome stay. In Cuba, the use of 'casa particulares' is quite common. Essentially locals rent out rooms in their houses for between CUC25-35 per night. They must have the blue anchor sign, which is essentially a form of government accreditation. Some CPs are nice and more like B&Bs, others are less nice. We were nervous about using CPs over hotels, however it turned out to be a great decision for us, we got to see so much more local and authentic sites, it was much cheaper, and for the CPs that we chose we had privacy as they were more like B&Bs.

Now, as for Tony's place...it is a very modern house, with two rooms available. The first is upstairs and you need to walk through the main house. It is ideal for a couple (we stayed one night in this room) and has a/c and a bath. The other room has a private entrance and two single beds (we stayed three nights in this room). This room was ideal for us as it was larger, and we could tuck our daughter away in a corner in her own cot. Both rooms are extremely quiet, clean and well maintained. He has off-street parking for one car, although the street he is on is pretty quiet and safe.

The location is right near the main baseball stadium, 5-7 minutes walk to the harbour front, 5 minutes walk to the Malecon. We preferred this location to right in town - for us, it was better to go into town (we saw some performances at the Teatro Thomas Terry) and come back to the Malecon in the evening. Tony does a simple breakfast of fruit, bread and scrambled eggs...it was all fresh, and unlike some CPs it was unlimited (ie not just one loaf, or one glass of juice). He was able to organise VIP tickets to the baseball, and was spot on with dinner recommendations (Bahia being a favourite). He was always friendly, polite and helpful...we trusted him to baby sit our daughter on two occasions.

For the price I would give this six stars...our daughter still says she misses Tony!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio Emilio C, Propietario at Hostal La Verde, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
thank you so much Tony for your comments. I really appreciate it.
Please give our regards to your wife Nataly and a kiss to your beautiful daughter Jasmin.
God bless you all.
Best regards,
Tony Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
0.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
37.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punta La Cueva
Punta La Cueva
#5 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Verde
Casa Verde
#45 of 136 in Cienfuegos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Verde

Property: Hostal La Verde
Address: Avenida 18 A # 5705 | Entre 57 y 59, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large modern house with 3 independent private family friendly rooms with air conditioning, tv set , fridge, garage, solarium, etc, It is only 500 meters away from the beach and 10 blocks away from the beautiful malecon in cienfuegos.We are also a few bloks sawy from tha Marina and Cienfuegos Club and can help you plan your holiday according to the ages and needs of all your family so that you can enjoy Cuba´s lovely scenery, its customs and its sunny, sparkling beaches. But, above all, we recommend you to take time to meet our people who are filled with a contagious joy that will bring you back in time on a 1959 Fleetwood special Cadillac.Actually, we can arrange any excursion and be your tour guide if you want to. Owner with 20 years expirience in hospitality. English speaking staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing