We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casa with lovely garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Carlos y Ana Maria
Ranked #28 of 143 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed with Carlos and Ana Maria in March 2012 for two nights and had an entirely different experience to those described below (which sound like a completely different place!)

Their casa is tucked away on a quiet street on La Punta by the water, directly opposite the house is an open-air rollerskating rink where kids trained every night and we saw the Cuban team one morning! We had a nice spacious ensuite room and took breakfast and dinner on the patio. The breakfasts were just as good as all the casas we stayed in - omelette, bread, fruit and excellent coffee. The dinners again were similar quality to other places. One thing to note is that plentiful mozzies at night though! Luckily it was cool enough to wear trousers and long sleeves and this is, of course, not something specific to their place.

The best thing about the casa is their lovely garden. We spent several hours whiling away the day reading our books there and drinking Ana Maria's lovely coffee. Ana Maria was delightful, very smiley and and welcoming. We only really saw Carlos the morning he drove us to the coach station but he seemed nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion-Jane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

The house is ok. Rooms ok. Food is not good and breakfast is small and overpriced. The major problem is the owners and their attitude. Very rude people, unfriendly and only interested in your money. This place is listed as a legal bed and breakfast in Cuba, but they pull a lot of tricks on their book making and avoids taxing by forcing you to sign fake reciepts and forged guest books.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mjosundet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Ana Maria and her daughter (who had excellent English) met us from the bus and took us to their Casa. Our room was clean and comfortable looking onto the garden. The Casa was in Pta Gorda and we enjoyed the walk into the town each day, it is approx. 3 km, however there are a variety of taxi’s, bike taxi’s or horse and carts that can be used, as appropriate. Evening meals and breakfasts were provided for an extra charge and were the usual Cuban offerings, rice, fried chicken etc. Breakfast were fine, fruit, bread and omelette, but not the most generous we had received at other Casa’s. We had keys to the house and were free to come and go as we pleased, however, very much felt this was a business and did not have a huge amount of interaction with the family (understand some people may prefer this!).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzylizlizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend and my mother, and i'll never forget it. It's the worst place ever!

The house and the backyard is very nice, and the location is also quite good - but the lady in charge and her husband are not.

They told us one price upon arrival, and charged us extra upon leaving, they charged local telephone calls as if they were internatinal ones, and they reclaimed on us for being bad consumers as we did not buy any thing from their mini-bar.

We ordered dinner one night and ended up paying restaurant price for their left overs from earlyer on the same day. Over-cooked fish, tasteless beans and over-cooked fish.

When leaving I asked for a receipt for the amount payed, then the lady of the house started complaining on how difficult customers we had been and her husband threatened that he would release his dogs on us if we didn't leave the house immediately.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Orappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Peterpachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Situation au calme à la pointe de cienfuegos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philippe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Hostal Luisa & Tony
Casa Hostal Luisa & Tony
#39 of 98 in Cienfuegos
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Sol Bahia
Hostal Sol Bahia
#9 of 143 in Cienfuegos
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Casa Verde 3709
Hostal Casa Verde 3709
#7 of 143 in Cienfuegos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Casa De Manolo
La Casa De Manolo
#39 of 143 in Cienfuegos
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Pedro y Mayi
Casa Pedro y Mayi
#14 of 143 in Cienfuegos
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Casa Amarilla
Hostal Casa Amarilla
#21 of 143 in Cienfuegos
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carlos y Ana Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carlos y Ana Maria

Address: #3901 Eight Avenue Between 39 And 41 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Price Range: $52 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Carlos y Ana Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Californian style house has a wonderful garden and a beautiful backyard, with an exotic variety of plants and trees including the coconunt tree. The guests can also enjoy the Cuban fauna like the hummingbird that visits us early in the morning and again in the afternoons. When the clients arrive they are offered a drink as a welcoming cocktail from your host wishing you a wonderful stay. From our garden clients can enjoy the marvellous view to the sea, and take sunbaths. The bay can also be seen from the rooms. Both rooms have TV, fridge with beverages, air conditioner, fan, hot and cold water. The house offers different services such as laundry, daily cleaning and taxi service. We prepare breakfasts, brunchs, lunchs and dinners. We guarantee an unforgetable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Carlos y Ana Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing