We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stop off between Habana and Trinidad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Villa Lagarto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Habana ( which was amazing ) we headed for Cienfuegos and found
a wonderful peaceful retreat. It was beautifully set out with an array of plants and ceramics and
wood and hammocks etc. The location was idyllic, right by the waters edge on the end of La Punta Gorda pennisula. Our room was of a good size and more comfortable beds than we had
experienced before on our trip round Cuba. Hard beds seen to be the 'thing' !! I have to say the
food was not the best, with the obligatory pork,chicken or fish on the menu and all cooked with
the same sauce.Staff were friendly and we found the owner very helpful. You would only want
one day in this town to see what was necessary. The old theatre was worth a visit in the square.

Room Tip: No 1 was lovely, where you could hear the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 250 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Villa Lagarto for three nights in February 2014. We had a lovely comfortable king-size bed, with two rocking chairs outside (room 2). Although it was quite busy at times with tours coming to the restaurant to eat, this did not affect our stay at all. We spent quite a lot of time there relaxing, (without feeling that we should 'get out of the way' as happens in some casas). It was spotlessly clean, the food very good, and the staff and owners were friendly and efficient. If we return to Cienfuegos, we will definitely stay at Villa Lagarto.

Room Tip: Room 2. It had a fan so there was no need to use the A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwernafalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely location and lovely room. We arrived on Valentines night and it was a good place to stay for a bit of romance. The restaurant was busy and they had gone to the trouble of having a Huge floral heart to create some ambience. For dinner we also all got a FULL size Valentines cake per couple!! The good was also fabulous. Lovely to have a small pool to cool off in although you can dip in the sea off the jetty. A nice peaceful location with lots of character.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Poohbear1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Firstly, this is not a casa. It is boutique style restaurant with 3 rooms.
Cannot fault the rooms, comfortable, big with hammocks on patio area. Unfortunately we had alot of large ants as there were alot of foliage around. Bathroom was okay but toilet stunk of drain and we had no fridge, have stayed in bigger better rooms than this. Our room was above kitchen so noisy most nights and noise from restaurant aswell.
Food was okay but have eaten just as good in the casas.
The owner was not very friendly, she met us briefly on arrival and on departure when we were trying to sort out taxi to bus station, she could see we had rucksacks and did not ask if we needed help sorting taxi out.
Overall i found our stay disapointing as this has a very different feel to the casas we had stayed at. If you want a boutique style accomodation then this may be for you, but i found it very impersonal.
There are loads of beautiful casa in punta gorda and in main cienfuegos along calle 71 with old mamas sitting outside with a friendly wave.
Not much to do or see in cienfuegos, i would do a day trip or no more than one night.
Lovely palador called Juan Kin King along Calle 71 by statue of Benny More - great cuban food, lovely mojitos, it is up few flights of stairs with balcony overlooking street.

Room Tip: Stay at casas, much cheaper at $ 25 CUC per night,you dont need to pre book, so many places to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I suppose this is one of those places in the world highlighting how different opinions can be.

Location: Seems to be not that far away from Cienfuegos centre, but to be honest, on a blistering midday, it was a bit of a pain to walk by the main road, not much to see apart from a couple of fast food joints and with the stench of the "Malecon". Yep, you could get a pedal-cab, but still...

Room: We were given room 3. Clean, middle size room. Double bed, soft, 1 pillow each. Safe in the room had no key (I suppose we could have asked for one...) The room was by a corridor and directly above the kitchen, so we were "enjoying" the barbeque smell all day. Sounds good? It was only for 1 hour. No TV. No fridge (this was, to be honest, a bit surprising), although of course you could buy drinks from the restaurant. Could not hear next door guests. As there are lots of plants and foliage in the corridors, we had a few ants. Not a big deal, but worth noting if you leave any biscuits anywhere etc. Air-con was powerful, not too noisy.

Bathroom: Good size. Enough toilet paper. Hot, powerful (Cuban standard) shower. We had some drain smell coming from the toiler for a few hours on both days, but really not that different from the smell of the 'Malecon". Reasonable sized, clean towels.

Facilities: Yes, the entrance is impressive, like a tropical garden with 2 levels. You could quite nicely sit and see birds, sunset, etc. Very hot up there though!. All rooms had a hammock outside, and that was relaxing (with the proviso of smell and noise from restaurant, that is). Later at night really quiet. Take note that Villa Lagarto seems to be right by a park with a cafe that more often than not blasts music until the evening. There are sun loungers in a deck by the restaurant, so you can sunbathe if you wish, although water smelled and looked rank.

Swimming pool: Erm, not sure if I would call it like that, more like a really big jacuzzi. Didnt use it as it is by the main restaurant, so it did not feel really too private. But a couple of people were there and they seemed to enjoy etc.

Restaurant: Food was tasty and well presented. A bit disconcerting that nobody really told us what was included in the set menu (at $18CUC per person, simply too expensive if you consider all else). At times the restaurant felt low on staff and for example we got tired of waiting for a couple of bits. Not a drama, just a sense that for the money, the place could be run a little bit tighter.

Breakfast: Plate of tropical fruit, pancakes, fruit juice, choice of eggs, toast -OK bread-, coffee. Nice, OK, not much to say there. Like many other places, I guess.

Staff: Generally nice, spoke good English, no issues there.

Management: Disappointing in the sense that did not really make an effort to ask whether everything OK, whether we intended to go to any excursion, or whether there was any problem. We met the owner lady on our arrival, she whizzed through the property, offered us the complimentary drinks at the top terrace, and then we bumped into her when we wee leaving. She saw us in the entrance, with our backpacks, said bye, and that was it. It felt really cold, and perhaps we missed the close attention we had had from other casa owners. But then again, this is not a casa...

To sum up, not a bad experience, but certainly underwhelming and sincerely not worth the extra 10-15$CUC compared with any of the hundreds of places in Calle 37, with the old mamas by the wrought iron windows...If you are looking at this property because it is mentioned in the LP, well, it is your call, but we found difficult to justify the price differential, in view of the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

At the end of the Playa Gorda, this place is a welcome getaway from the city. Rooms are great, with balconies, good shower and bed. Food is excellent as well. Staff is really helpful. We also enjoyed the beds at the bay deck from the casa, and the public park sunsets nearby. A small inconvenience might be the music from a nearby public bar, but around 22.30 this stops as well. For its location and atmosphere it gets full points!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is more of a cool little hotel than a Casa.It's located south of the town but in a great position so you're not missing much.

Its right on the water front (the water is a little dirty but there's a plunge pool on site) and there's a great deck to sit out on.

Very mellow tree level deck with seating and bar.

The restaurant is good and attracts other diners.

English spoken but not excellent saying that they helped us with taxis and trips easily enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 7 in Cienfuegos
663 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Los Delfines
Casa Los Delfines
#5 of 144 in Cienfuegos
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Sol Bahia
Hostal Sol Bahia
#9 of 144 in Cienfuegos
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal los Mares
Hostal los Mares
#4 of 144 in Cienfuegos
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Pedro y Mayi
Casa Pedro y Mayi
#13 of 144 in Cienfuegos
146 reviews
2 mi away
Hostal Ivan y Lili
Hostal Ivan y Lili
#1 of 144 in Cienfuegos
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Lagarto

Address: Street 35, e/ 0 y Litoral, #4B | La Punta, Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like a welcome mojito upon your arrival? We give it to you in Villa Lagarto, which may no longer be a family home but a beautiful corner, a wonderful guest house and a splendid restaurant located on the first line of Cienfuegos Bay, in the residential area of Punta Gorda, downtown South of the island where the sea and the mountains are the protagonists of such a pleasant sight. Our house consists of 3 spacious and bright rooms, decorated in a natural and simple style ambiance facing the sea on a Caribbean terrace surrounded by hammocks and exotic plants. Each space in general provides a cool and serene atmosphere. The restaurant just above the sea provides the traveler with a unique and personalized service thanks to friendly and available staff, offering an exquisite menu rich in fruits and vegetables of organic origin and own production, as well as the meats all perfumed soft with olive oils and fine Herbs cooked to taste either grilled with steam or simply with charcoal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing