We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Villa Lagarto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lagarto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Cienfuegos. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The meals were nice. The view over the water is fantastic. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhnmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    65
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
142
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Firstly this place is gorgeous- the hammocks and rocking chairs outside the rooms were just perfect for a sunset spent sipping rum and relaxing. The terrace looking out over the sea is lovely and the restaurant has been really well designed around the existing natural features- it's really beautiful.
BUT- if you're looking for a casa particular then this isn't one. It was a lot more developed than we'd expected and we didn't ever really meet the casa owner but were served by staff, much more akin to a small hotel rather than staying in someone's own home. It was also pretty expensive - with one night including breakfast and dinner clocking in at around 100 Cucs ( most other casas were around 55Cucs on average including the food- so quite a jump) IF you want something halfway between a casa and a hotel then this place is perfect, or if you've been staying in casas and want to be a bit more removed from your hosts for a night or two and relax in a bit of luxury then go for it. If you're looking to meet some locals and feel like part of a family then probably best to try somewhere else. That doesn't mean you can't pop in for a sunset mojito or two though..!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSol83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Casa Particular was amazing, starting with its setting on the Bay. Our rooms (we travelled with friends) were upstairs with a fine balcony with hammocks and rockers....so relaxing. The rooms were clean as was the bathroom. We had several meals at the Casa... as we were there for three nights....and would have enjoyed more!! The dinner was very good as was the service. The breakfasts were very very good. The dining room sits right on the edge of the water, offering a fine ambiance for eating and drinking. There are always taxis into the center of town, so no concern about getting about. It is within walking distance of and old mansion..now a museum with a beautiful view from the second floor and the roof.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this small B&B (called a "Casa Particular" in Cuba) and enjoyed all aspects of it. The room was just right - clean, quiet, with a nice comfortable bed. The location was excellent right on the Cienfuegos Bay with lots of lush trees and excellent view. We also had 2 dinners and all our breakfasts there....very good food, reasonable prices and excellent service. Nice relaxing hammocks and rocking chairs outside the room added a delightful touch. The owners, two sisters named Meylin and Maylin were very courteous and tended to all details. Undoubtedly, we'll return whenever we visit Cuba again (soon, we hope).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Let get this straight, you can see why this place is so popular, it has a great view, it has a great roof terrace, our room was very spacious,

but........

this is not a Casa, its a hotel, it doesn't feel like being in a Casa, its expensive, you always feel they are trying to take more money off you, the staff are friendly but the owner build no positive rapport. The food was ok, but certainly very expensive for Cuba.

We walked into the Casa next door by mistake when we got there. Wish we had just switched afterwards.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the romantic park next door, which had 2 double beds peculiarly. Probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The views are wonderful out over the harbour and there are ample sitting places to enjoy it; our bedroom was by far the nicest we came across in Cuba with large jalousie type windows and an inviting hammock outside - not that we used it apart from a quick swing - but be aware the Villa is more than a walk from the heart of Cienfuegos, not that that is such a big deal with bike taxis everywhere. Because of that we ended up having dinner there as we couldn't be bothered to taxi elsewhere and the food was good. Don't be fooled by the mention of a pool, it was there but it was far from inviting - the word stagnant sprang to mind. This was the most expensive of the casas that we stayed in and we left with a slightly unpleasant impression that the money mattered a lot to them! Not exactly grasping but more commercially minded than everyone else - breakfast was more expensive but what really stuck in the throat was that they charged us an outrageous 40 CUC for a bottle of wine that everywhere else outside of Habana cost 18-24, and was cheaper than that in Habana istelf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I'm a tour leader and when I arrived in Cuba I was told Villa Lagarto was the nicest place to stay in Cienfuegos, but that casa particular turned out to be quite the opposite. It's true they have the greatest view, and you can book a table by the sea and have dinner while enjoying the quietness of the waves. The staff is very nice and every one of them is always eager to help you, even when they do not speak English at all. The huge problem: the landlady (who seems to be the one who runs the place). She pretends to be the nicest woman on earth, but she's not actually. One easily can tell she's not who she makes you think she is by the way she treats the people that work for her. The cook, waiters, and waitresses are treated like slaves in front of the guests all the time and that really makes you see the person that lies beneath. I didn't pay that much to see that old lady yelling all the time. Moreover, there was this thing about the beverages we were offered during our short stay: two of the straws in our mojitos were chewed (are they using the same straw package with all the guests and customers???? disgusting). I really didn't like that place at all. it's all a false appearance and we got fed up with that facade soon. Not to mention this morning when i went downstairs early and saw a young lady preparing our breakfast with her touching-all hands, the same hands that do our dishes, and the same hands that clean the floor. So... you tell me what else we don't know about this place yet. Was the food we had fresh? I guess I'll never know for sure but i can guess. But what i really hated the most about this place was the way the staff was treated. Slaves. Next time in Cuba i'll try something more cuban and less lagarto style.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tourleader2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
0.3 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
37.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.0 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
31.2 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lagarto

Property: Villa Lagarto
Address: Calle 35, No. 4B, entre Avenida O y Litoral | La Punta. Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos City, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing