We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B (Casa Particular)”
Review of Villa Lagarto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lagarto
Certificate of Excellence
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B (Casa Particular)”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this small B&B (called a "Casa Particular" in Cuba) and enjoyed all aspects of it. The room was just right - clean, quiet, with a nice comfortable bed. The location was excellent right on the Cienfuegos Bay with lots of lush trees and excellent view. We also had 2 dinners and all our breakfasts there....very good food, reasonable prices and excellent service. Nice relaxing hammocks and rocking chairs outside the room added a delightful touch. The owners, two sisters named Meylin and Maylin were very courteous and tended to all details. Undoubtedly, we'll return whenever we visit Cuba again (soon, we hope).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    67
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
39
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Let get this straight, you can see why this place is so popular, it has a great view, it has a great roof terrace, our room was very spacious,

but........

this is not a Casa, its a hotel, it doesn't feel like being in a Casa, its expensive, you always feel they are trying to take more money off you, the staff are friendly but the owner build no positive rapport. The food was ok, but certainly very expensive for Cuba.

We walked into the Casa next door by mistake when we got there. Wish we had just switched afterwards.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the romantic park next door, which had 2 double beds peculiarly. Probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The views are wonderful out over the harbour and there are ample sitting places to enjoy it; our bedroom was by far the nicest we came across in Cuba with large jalousie type windows and an inviting hammock outside - not that we used it apart from a quick swing - but be aware the Villa is more than a walk from the heart of Cienfuegos, not that that is such a big deal with bike taxis everywhere. Because of that we ended up having dinner there as we couldn't be bothered to taxi elsewhere and the food was good. Don't be fooled by the mention of a pool, it was there but it was far from inviting - the word stagnant sprang to mind. This was the most expensive of the casas that we stayed in and we left with a slightly unpleasant impression that the money mattered a lot to them! Not exactly grasping but more commercially minded than everyone else - breakfast was more expensive but what really stuck in the throat was that they charged us an outrageous 40 CUC for a bottle of wine that everywhere else outside of Habana cost 18-24, and was cheaper than that in Habana istelf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I'm a tour leader and when I arrived in Cuba I was told Villa Lagarto was the nicest place to stay in Cienfuegos, but that casa particular turned out to be quite the opposite. It's true they have the greatest view, and you can book a table by the sea and have dinner while enjoying the quietness of the waves. The staff is very nice and every one of them is always eager to help you, even when they do not speak English at all. The huge problem: the landlady (who seems to be the one who runs the place). She pretends to be the nicest woman on earth, but she's not actually. One easily can tell she's not who she makes you think she is by the way she treats the people that work for her. The cook, waiters, and waitresses are treated like slaves in front of the guests all the time and that really makes you see the person that lies beneath. I didn't pay that much to see that old lady yelling all the time. Moreover, there was this thing about the beverages we were offered during our short stay: two of the straws in our mojitos were chewed (are they using the same straw package with all the guests and customers???? disgusting). I really didn't like that place at all. it's all a false appearance and we got fed up with that facade soon. Not to mention this morning when i went downstairs early and saw a young lady preparing our breakfast with her touching-all hands, the same hands that do our dishes, and the same hands that clean the floor. So... you tell me what else we don't know about this place yet. Was the food we had fresh? I guess I'll never know for sure but i can guess. But what i really hated the most about this place was the way the staff was treated. Slaves. Next time in Cuba i'll try something more cuban and less lagarto style.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tourleader2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 3 delightful days in Cienfuegos and the casa particular Villa Lagarto played an important role in that: an astonishing setting with your feet in the Cienfuegos bay, very kind personnel, a very nice, airconditioned room with view on the bay, great food and an abundant breakfast. Above Cuban standard for casas particulares! We would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We especially came here because it sounded amazing, however after a nice greeting with someone carrying our bags in, we were disappointed to see that the pool had no water in it! We were told because of a storm a few days previously had ruined the water but there was no attempt to refill the pool and we suspect that they actually say this to everyone......fair enough near the end of the season but we were still paying full price and they were fully booked.
The rooms are really nice, the restaurant and the view is beautiful overlooking the bay, but the food is very expensive as are the drinks - although the mojitos and food were good, it was almost double usual price. If they charge 5* prices, we would expect 5* service. The staff were were nice but a bit hit and miss. They tried to charge us for our 'welcome drinks' and when we had the cheek to ask for breakfast at 10 o clock, this was clearly too much effort and we ended up with a couple of slices of bread, small plate of fruit and pancakes that were possibly the smallest I have ever seen. They still tried to charge us an inflated price.
We originally booked for one night but wanted to stay one more and were kicked out of the room for people that had just randomly turned up!
We did complain and the waiter referred us to the place next door, which was cheaper, much friendlier and a had a hugely better breakfast - our advice is to stay there instead (the building looks like it is attached but is actually a different casa).
We did like it but its trying to be more of a hotel than a casa and has lost its personal touch.
Also go to the bar in the park next door, staff lovely, drinks are half the price.
Overall disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

June 2012. We were three Americanos who came in for dinner and we were not disappointed. The location was gorgeous, overlooking Bahia Cienfuegos. The china and silverware was first class, the dinning room was in the covered garden and very romantic with lots of tropical plants. The wait staff was mannerly and efficient. There were appetizers, soup, salad, and choice of one of three entrees. The bread was unending. Dessert was served followed by Cuban coffee, with complimentary banana liqueur and Cohiba cigars! This is one of the five best dinning experiences I have ever had in the world. All this for only 20CUC's. My only suggestion for improvement is for the waiters to not bring the next course while the diners are still finishing the previous course.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esfelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
0.3 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Los Delfines
Casa Los Delfines
#4 of 139 in Cienfuegos
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel e Isabel
Angel e Isabel
#37 of 139 in Cienfuegos
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casas Zunilda y Raya
Casas Zunilda y Raya
#3 of 139 in Cienfuegos
210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Ivan y Lili
Hostal Ivan y Lili
#1 of 139 in Cienfuegos
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Sol Bahia
Hostal Sol Bahia
#9 of 139 in Cienfuegos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lagarto

Property: Villa Lagarto
Address: Calle 35, No. 4B, entre Avenida O y Litoral | La Punta. Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos City, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing