We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very accommodating couple”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Reinaldo y Yurisa
Ranked #49 of 144 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Reinaldo and Yurisa's hostal is located an easy walk to old Cienfuegos. They are located on the upper floor of one of the many colonial buildings in the area which are slated for restoration. One room is available and is equipped with AC, 2 double beds and its own washroom. There is a patio where one can eat, the food is good and the couple are very obliging. They speak Spanish only, but their daughter is a university graduate, speaks perfect English and French, and is readily available to assist. Access from the street is by a steep set of stairs which could be a problem to those beset with mobility issues.
Don Patricio.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

For me this place was not something really special. It is situated quietly which makes it a perfect start or finish of the day with breakfast or diner at the terrace at the back of the house, overlooking the roofs of the city.
It is just that the hosts did not get as warm as I experienced at other places. They'll do everything you ask. And they'll do it in a decent way. Whether it is preparing a diner, getting your nails done or calling a taxi.
The room and bathroom are more than big enough with high ceilings and very clean. It was just that spark that was missing not making it stand out.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Floor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I can only repeat what all the other reviewers have said, a lovely house, really great food, very reasonable, lovely owners who will sort you out for anything you need but only if you ask. We loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAM2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I haven't met such good people in a while. They are good honest people who know a lot about the country and are very interesting to talk with. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Reginaldo let me use his bike for the day to go to a nearby beach and another day we went out to the countryside together. Reinaldo helped me to plan the rest of my trip and gave me fantastic recommendations for places to stay in each city. He called all the other casas' ahead of time to let them know that I would be coming soon. He also called many of them to follow up how I was and if i had arrived safely. Buena buena gente! Call ahead and Reinaldo will come meet you at the terminal so you don't have to deal with the crowds of people hassling you and so that you can easily find the casa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On our cuba trip we stayed in up to ten different casas. This one was definitely one of the highlights!
The fish was excellent (Yurisa, for me the best cook of all casas), the roof-terrace huge and the view breathtaking! We felt very welcomed and enjoyed our stay.
Thank you, Cienfugos!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaPr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Best Host Ever! Reinaldo y Yurisa are absolutely fantastic. We just rented a room but we got a tour guide, an interpreter, and a friend included for free. I cannot recommend Reinaldo y Yurisa's place enough. I would never stay anywhere else in Cienfuego. His hospitality is formidable. My stay in Cienfuego surpassed all my expectations all because of Reinaldo's amazing hospitality. The place is in the center of the city. Amazing location - - do not stay in a hotel and pay 3- 4 times as much. The building is extremely charming and well kept and with a double sunny terrace.
The room is confortable, cosy and tidy. great private bathroom and living space. And on the top Yurisa cooking is delicious. Just love it.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask Reinaldo to help for organizing your trip around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Reinaldo and Yurisa are very pleasant hosts. Not intrusive, yet very helpful if you need assistance with anything (including finding other casas in other Cuban cities). They are not pushy at all in trying to sell you extras, yet they can provide them if you want them. E.g. in your room you will find a fridge with water and beer in case you feel like sipping a cold beer on one of their amazing balconies; they can arrange transport to the bus station for 3 pesos or serve you really tasty meals for 16 pesos for 2 people.
The house is clean, the room and bathroom are big and you can go to the bathroom from your room without having to go through any common area, which is very convenient.
Reinaldo told me he has been in this business for 20 years, and it shows. The service you get is very professional while at the same time maintaining the warmth you would expected from a casa particular.
Finally the location is perfect because the house is in between the main tourist square and the main street of the town, both of which you will need to visit if you go to Cienfuegos. It's central Cienfuegos, not Punta Gorda. In Punta Gorda there are really fancy and spanking new casas particulares, but I was happy that we were centrally located as punta gorda is more of a place for night outs and it is not very convenient as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinster-giramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cienfuegos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Union
Hotel La Union
#1 of 7 in Cienfuegos
721 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 7 in Cienfuegos
662 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostal Sol Bahia
Hostal Sol Bahia
#10 of 144 in Cienfuegos
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal Ivan y Lili
Hostal Ivan y Lili
#1 of 144 in Cienfuegos
338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Jagua
Hotel Jagua
#2 of 7 in Cienfuegos
937 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Faro Luna
Hotel Faro Luna
#4 of 7 in Cienfuegos
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Reinaldo y Yurisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Reinaldo y Yurisa

Address: Avenue 64 Building 3317 | between 33 and 35 Street, Cienfuegos 20100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing