We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but dreadful food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jagua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jagua Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Bebington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but dreadful food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

A nice enough hotel though not really in the centre of things in Cienfuegos. The entrance is impressive with lots of interesting art work and exotic plants hanging from the high ceilings. The reception staff were friendly enough, but when my travelling companion and I were allocated a double bed rather than 2 singles, they were less than helpul and told me to sort it out myself with the rest of the tour group.
Rooms were pleasant and well furnished with clean bedding and plenty of towels. The bathroom was OK with plenty of towels and toiletries but the shower was rather dilapidated.The real disappointment to me was the food which was boring and bland with hardly anything for vegetarians - all the salads had meat in them.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    272
    322
    126
    67
See reviews for
109
387
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

The hotel is in an amzing location at the end of the melacon with views over the bay.

The ground floor is amazing looking. All modern and clean looking. This is carried onto the room until you look closer. The key to the room also operates the electricity. Our room needed the key to be jangled every 5mins when the lights tv etc just turned off.

Very annoying when taking a shower or trying to watch something on one of the three tv channels available.

We arrived late and left early so didnt see much of the town but it did look grand when passing.

Hotel had a bank international phones and a good stocked shop (not that normal in Cuba)

The restaurant was poor as you had to have a set meal and if you didnt want a full 4 course meal you still paid the same price.

The waiters unlike smaller hotels expected tips etc which annoyed me a little.

For the price I wouldnt stay here again when there are loads of Casas you can stay in right next to the city or even the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krycek985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cienfuegos hotels

Kristiansand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Remember you are in Cuba so the service isnt what youre used to. But overall the hotell was nice. But i would say that the best part of this hotel is the location! you have Lapunta nearby for your mojitos bye the sea, and you have Club CIenfuegos nearby for your dining, and more mojitos;)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rundtomrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Spent 3 nights here and , in general, was pleasantly surprised - particularly after some mixed reviews on this website. Apparently, the hotel has recently undergone some re-furbishment, and certainly the public areas were well-appointed.Rooms a bit dated, but the views from the balconies across the town are very pretty .(Just ignore the smoking power station on the horizon !). Lovely pool with attentive waiter service. Nice to sit on the hotel jetty and watch the sunset with a Mojito in hand !Not very far in to the town, and Cienfuegos is very pretty and a lovely place to while away some time.Breakfast was quite good as was the evening meal in the restaurant. However, our meal at the Moorish restaurant across from the hotel was terrible, our worst in 2 weeks in Cuba. Cienfuegos is a pretty town, well worth visiting, and the Jagua is a decent modern hotel

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

As well as being perfect in nearly all ways, this hotel has an interesting history as it was built as a gambling casino for the dictator Batista's brother - no gambling today of course. Decor was well cared for and tasteful 1950s - like going back in time. We were on 7th floor with incredible views. Sea side patio was lovely, with a dock from which one could watch little sea creatures. FOOD: one evening we paid $10 CUC each for a roast turkey buffet, everything cooked to perfection - this was part of a tour group's dinner (we were traveling independently). I would advise only drinks at the a la carte Palace restaurant across the parking lot as the food was disappointing and limited. Re UNESCO Cienfuegos, it would have been helpful at the time to have had a bit more background on what makes this designated area so unique. TIP: Bring soap for local women who often ask for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNESCOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

A 4 star hotel in a small town that has a great pool and beautiful views. The hotel is beside the Palace and a sunset Mojito (made the old school way) on the terrazza is a great way to end the day.

The breakfast buffet has a good selection of the typical fare - breads, fruits, cereals, omelets. The pool has a lot of chairs in the sun and shade.

Be sure to go to the pedestrian street to see the architecture

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

arrived at this hotel for are last day on highlights of Cuba tour and thought not bad as we arrived in foyer.Did not think the same when we entered room on 7th floor.The smell off damp and mould in bathroom dirty patio doors that had not be cleaned for ages.Pity the housekeeping did not have the same dedication that the foyer had .The upside was the food was not bad and the staff were very good.Are tour guide explained they had an annex across the road in a lovely old building but could not book us in as this was full.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plantpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1167.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
87.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Jagua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagua Hotel

Property: Jagua Hotel
Address: Ave. 37 No. 1 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jagua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Jagua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagua Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing