We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views - beautiful city”
Review of Jagua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jagua Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views - beautiful city”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Jagua Hotel is located just outside of the city limits, but its only a short walk into the city. The hotel has sweeping views of the ocean, and it was awesome waking up to the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks below our room.

The hotel cafeteria is well serviced, and the food is fresh. Our room was clean and airy. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is also a small gift shop, which sells rum (extremely cheap) and nibblies.

Great hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    281
    334
    132
    70
See reviews for
112
404
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gryhpe
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Nearly everything about this hotel is acceptable ( for a Cuban hotel) except for the noise and the food. Looking at other reviews the noise which filled our room may have been due to a generator, but we thought it was due to AC units opposite all the rooms. Anyway it was almost impossible to sleep, even when the noise of the discos had come to an end inthe early hours. We ate one night at the hotel, and it was noticable that most of the guests were on packages which accounted for the inflated prices on the menus (They did not have to pay). A very small bit of fish cost more than an al-la-carte steak at the Hotel Melia gastronomic restuarant in Santiago. Non package guests should go across the road the restaurant there. The food is no better, but it is a third of the price..
The building is fine the views are excellent and the pool is OK, if you allow for the fact that most of the space at the week-end is taken up by locals who have paid for entry.
I would recommend it because in Cienfuegos where else can you go!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gryhpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cienfuegos hotels

Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed with a group a few years ago.
During dinner i was casuarly told that my russian A/C had caught fire but that everything was fine.
I was a disaster but the management did the best they could to clean my stuff.
Not a lot ws really burnt so i consider myself lucky
It could hardly have happended during the night as i was cautious enough to shut these old russian airconditioners off during sleep
the same night and this is not a joke I witnessed at least 3 more fires in this city of a hundred fires.
Sometimes names are a giveaway.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night as part of the 'Highlights of Cuba' tour. The hotel was very quiet, cool and clean with a speedy check-in. The rooms were clean and comfortable with wonderful views.
We enjoyed the pool after very hot day sight-seeing in Cienfuegos. Nearby you can walk to a sculpture park and in the other direction you can walk along the sea road lined with old ornate but crumbling villas.
The evening meal was al a carte as there wasn't many people staying in the hotel but generally I believe it's a buffet. The meal was very good and the breakfast was certainly adequate.
In the evening we went across to the Palacio de Valle an old moorish palace. Inside an eccentric old lady plays a very old piano rather badly but with such charm. You can go up to the roof terrace and enjoy a drink under the stars whilst a band plays Cuban music.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed in Cienfuegos for one night as part of the 'Highlights of Cuba' tour with First Choice. The hotel doesn't really fit in to it's surroundings, but it's height means you get beautiful views over the bay.
Rooms were clean and comfortable if a little stuck in the 70's. Shower was large, no bath but i never use one on holiday. Food was OK and communal areas well kept. Staff were freindly and helpful. Good base to explore Cienfuegos from, plenty of taxis, bicycle taxis to take you to town. Cienfuegos is more modern than neighbouring Trinidad the main town is well looked after and buildings restored. Really enjoyed our trip here and would have prefered 2 nights here to really explore the town more, as we really only spent a few hours here.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed at the Jagua as part of a group tour in Cuba. The check-in process for our tour group was quick and efficient. The hotel was very clean and fresh both inside and out. The grounds were nicely maintained; the pool and pool area was clean. The rooms were modern and well maintained - the bathroom was also in very good condition. Water pressure was a bit weak (7th floor room) and hot was was not particularly hot, but otherwise no issues. The breakfast buffet was nothing to write home about, I enjoyed the fresh fruit and omelet station.

The view from the 7th floor rooms was incredible ... to the south, a view of the peninsula and wonderfully tropical boulevard --- the the north and east, a view of the Cienfuegos Bay and the city. Great breezes on the 7th floor were very refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed 2 nights, had problems with the electricity and the hotel's generator was close to my room which was a bit noisy, and along with the evening show on the first night, an early night was not on the cards.!! I had no plug in the sink in the bathroom. No Tea/coffe facilities in the rooms. Water was tepid and I never got hot water. There is an absolutey beautiful building in the car park area where a Margarita Pracatan double catches you as you enter and insist on singing for you, she dresses the same and sings just as badly as Margarita, but is very good natured. If you can get past her up the fabulous staircase , the building is amazing.
Although the Hotel was full (in fact 2 of our party overbooked) didn't have a problem in the restaurant where they had a couple doing the salza in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshtravellerJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
629 reviews
4.1 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#3 of 6 in Cienfuegos
162 reviews
37.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
31.3 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
219 reviews
144.2 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagua Hotel

Property: Jagua Hotel
Address: Ave. 37 No. 1 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jagua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Jagua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagua Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing