We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday nites at Jagua” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jagua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jagua Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Monday nites at Jagua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been going to Cienfuegos four times a year and every disco has their own night, be it Artex, Benny Moray, Tropisur, Costasur( not sure of the spellings)and so on. I went to Hotel Jagua on Monday night and did not enjoy myself, it was terrible. The floor show has stopped, the floor was half empty, the DJ played the same pounding music from the beginning to the end, and even the announcer kept on shouting words along with the songs. The announcer was a chubby guy but had a hot blonde with him.!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    272
    322
    126
    67
See reviews for
109
387
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a touring holiday. The Jagua is quite a large and slightly impersonal hotel but our room was clean, light and well furnished, everything worked and we had wonderful views across the bay from our balcony.

A pleasant 30 minute walk along the malecon takes you into town.

Despite looking impressive, the breakfast was very disappointing - one of the worst we encountered - and served without any care.

If you are booking a triple room, it's worth checking whether they can offer you three proper beds. Our room, whilst spacious enough for three, had a very nasty and extremely uncomfortable fold up bed with springs sticking out! I gather this is a regular problem with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swansilvertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in Aug 13 for one night - our balcony door didn't lock and there was mould growing on one of the walls. By the morning this had grown in to a mushroom - apart from this the rest of the room was clean. The best part of the hotel was the wondeful view accross the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cienfuegos hotels

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's not a bad hotel for Cuba, but for western standards it's quite average.

The hotel is not the most modern you can find, but it has a nice view and you can have a nice drink on the rooftop of the building next door where you have dinner.

The staff is nice and friendly and the rooms are clean. The breakfast, on the other hand, is not particularly good and unfortunately flies seem to be regular costumers as well

Apparently, it's the best hotel in Cienfuegos, so if you have to stay there, it wouldn't kill you to spend one night, although I wouldn't go as far as recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_statho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel, staff friendly. Business Centre for internet (cheaper than Havana) CUC3 for 30 minutes but very slow.

Pool fantastic. Gorgeous restaurant building next door. Staff nice. We didn't encounter unfriendly staff the entire 8 days in Cuba. Rooms clean, beds comfy, shower worked. Overall a good 3 star hotel.. I wouldn't rate it 4 star. The pool was 4 star!

No gym.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kipa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour of Cuba. On that tour, this was probably our nicest stay. The room we stayed in had two large double beds. It seemed that the whole hotel was unfinished - not uncommon in Cuba. Overall the room could've done with a decent scrubbing but it was livable. There was a buffet breakfast included in our stay - the first morning had far more choice than the second but there was plenty of fresh fruit and bread etc to cater for most. The hotel itself is quite and about 30 mins walk from 'downtown' Cienfuegos. There's not a whole lot to do there and a taxi will cost about 3-5 CUC depending on the number in the car.
We ate in the adjoining restaurant (separate building) on the first night. Food was edible but I thought a little expensive for what we got. Ended up eating there the second night too as the restaurant in the hotel was closed (unknown reason) and there is nothing else around the hotel. We did have a pizza for lunch in the poolside bar - cheap and tasty!
Positives - view of the bay, the pool and the poolside drinks. The buffet breakfast.
Negatives - could do with being cleaner and better finished rooms. Not a lot of options for food nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool or bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aislinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
441 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an older property but nicely maintained. The lobby is open and always has a nice breeze, there was also a hummingbird with a nest which was pretty neat. The pool area is quite nice with a shaded area to sit and have a beverage. The rooms are fairly large with balcony which overlooks the water, beautiful view. The furniture is dated but in good repair, beds okay. Housekeeping did a great job and each day left and different towel arrangement on the bed most of the time with flowers. Friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast, lots of choices. Not in walking distance of town but still a good and quiet location, excellent restaurant next door.

Room Tip: room overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
1167.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
87.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Jagua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagua Hotel

Property: Jagua Hotel
Address: Ave. 37 No. 1 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jagua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Jagua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagua Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing