We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No internet, unfriendly reception, but OK room with good view”
Review of Jagua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jagua Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“No internet, unfriendly reception, but OK room with good view”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was built in 1958, is owned by the Cuban government, and is staffed by government employees. We stayed there 3 nights.
Each time I went to the reception desk, I was ignored as the employees continued talking to each other, shuffling papers, or typing on their computers.
The procedure for internet access through the hotel's 3 computers for guests is that you buy a card with a unique password that is good for an hour; well, they told me that they had run out of the password cards 4 days ago and didn't know when the government would send them any more. So no guest could access the internet for at least a week.
The room had a tile floor, and the air conditioning was inadequate.
The view was good from higher floors (we were on the 6th). Most of the staff spoke English fairly well.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room on the higher floors---4th and above. There are very nice views from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    281
    336
    132
    70
See reviews for
112
405
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed at in Cuba. The room was clean and the view to Cienfuegos and across the bay lovely (make sure you ask for a room on a higher floor to benefit from the views). It is close enough to be able to walk into Cienfuegos or there is a local bus which stops outside.
Sitting by the pool, looking out over the bay, sipping a cocktail or two.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesLWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've rated this hotel 'very good' - but by *Cuban standards* not European!

We very much enjoyed staying here (room 320) and the bed was the best we had all holiday. We stayed 2 nights and cannot complain as our room was clean with a private balcony overlooking the pool and town.

The bathroom was very good with adequate towels and a few toiletries.

The lifts were a bit iffy and one of the 3 didn't work so it was sometimes a longer wait than it should have been

The situation of this hotel is excellent next to the waterside malecon and out on a peninsula. It is still close enough to walk into town.

Despite there being a huge selection (so it seemed) at breakfast and dinner we struggled to find much we liked. There seems to be lots of salad items and seeds, vegetables, olives, guerkins etc but little we liked. Huge tureens full of strange concoctions and pork in everything.
Our meals were included but I wouldn't have eaten here from choice.

The swimming pool was lovely and I had a refreshing swim and sunbathe here in the late afternoon.

I would definitely stay here if I was in Cienfuegos again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This late 50s motor hotel has the look and feel of the boom times when Batista turned the neighboring Palacio del Valle into a casino. Post-revolutionary times have not been so kind. While the views from higher-floor balconies are outstanding, the rooms are sub-Super 8. My room had a cheap and worn mattress, and the furnishings needed an update. The bathroom was barely adequate with a slow drain and hard-to-flush toilet. There are limited towels and bathroom amenities. At least one elevator was not working, so it was usually a wait to get up or down.

There is a vast buffet for breakfast and other meals, although the food is mediocre... but then so are some of the guests! I stood in line at the omelette bar behind a British man who kept shouting "one egg over easy" over and over to the perflexed cook, until the man behind me volunteered, "un huevo." There is enough variety that most people will find enough food to satisfy reasonably. However, on our last morning, things were substantially delayed when a water pipe burst in the dining room, forcing staff to move all seating outside, with limited breakfast selections. For lunch or evening meals the pricey former Palacio across the parking lot is a good option... with a reservation.

The pool area is very nice, although we had no time to use it. There are two bars: a small one in the lobby and a larger self-contained facility out back on the harbor, where they often have entertainment. We enjoyed the singing of a local choral group. There is also a tourist convenience store attached where travelers can find some basics, including rum, water and sodas cheaper than at the bar. The desk staff were friendly and accommodating, and it was easy to exchange money. The hotel caters to tour groups, so be prepared to wait in lines for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
521 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I gave this a "very good" for very specific reasons. Some would not agree. The location is lovely. It's not close to the center, so if you want nightlife/action, stay closer to the center. There is history at the hotel - Fidel Castro staying in room 614. The rooms themselves are large with large bathrooms. Every room has a view and a private balcony. The amenities are not great. The food is mediocre, even for Cuba (unless they have roast turkey on the buffet). So while I recommend the hotel, it's for specific reasons.

Room Tip: While all rooms have good views, I think the higher floors are nicer. But be prepared for slowish e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The views from our room were wonderful, and one can open both the door (though it stuck) and the balcony doors to get a cross breeze. The beds were hard and the bathrooms just so so though big. We never got any shampoo (though we had extra body wash) and no bath mat or hand towels. Best thing about it was the Palacio del Valle next door! We did enjoy the music show given each evening on the patio near the bar.

Room Tip: Get on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, ME
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cienfuegos is a good city with a good square and walking street. The breakfast is a good buffet. The drinks are good and go well with nice salsa shows each night. It is on a very scenic peninsula. There is a very good parador 5 minutes away.
The rooms are a B with decent bed a shower but old plugs and my sliding door to the patio did not open. I think it is still the best place in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
162 reviews
37.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
217 reviews
144.2 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
142.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagua Hotel

Property: Jagua Hotel
Address: Ave. 37 No. 1 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jagua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Jagua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagua Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing