We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel on the outskirts of the town”
Review of Jagua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jagua Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Luton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average hotel on the outskirts of the town”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Although handy for Palacio del Valle and Punta Gorda, this ugly 60s style hotel is at best average. Very basic. Our room was slightly damp, with saggy beds and grubby bed linen. The bathroom was old and primtive but at least it functioned, as did the air conditioning. Lamps were broken and the fridge did not work. Nice views over the bay and good entertainment (live Cuban music group and choir) in the evenings. The breakfast buffet was average and could have been a little more hygienic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    281
    336
    132
    70
See reviews for
112
405
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a basic hotel with basic rooms. The breakfast buffet wasn't too great (and I noticed a small cockroach at the omlette station). Still, adjusting your standards for Cuba, this was an OK hotel. It's right across from the Palacio de Valle and a nice walk along the waterfront is also very close.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMPCC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Across the road from the main hotel, the Casa Verde is a grand old house that has been converted into luxurious en-suite rooms. There is also an upstairs terrace where we sat and drank our sundowners (bought cheaply in a neighbouring cafeteria!). The hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey for lunch. The included breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: There's no lift, but the upstairs rooms are quiet and well-appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazdoc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Having stayed everywhere in Cienfuegos, I can say that this is the best hotel in town. Great location, excellent ameneties, great views and the ability to walk around in the AM and at night along the waterfront. Easy walk into the old city and plenty of restaurants just around the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and maintain the rooms clean and spotless. I've read some reviews about cleaniless, I've not experienced this in my 4 stays here. Breakfast is good they have fresh egg omelets that they make to order. People should remember that this is Cuba and things are not as easy to get as we might be used to in other tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is Cuba so we need to make allowances for a lower level of service however there is no excuse for not maintaining a clean hotel. The elevators had hand prints and dirt marks that remained for the entire three days of our stay. The room we were given was dirty in every way possible--one waste basket had not been emptied, the drawers and open shelves had heavy
dust and dirt on them--we wiped them with paper towels which turned black. The floors were dirty as well as the mirrors. If the maids would spend as much time cleaning as they do making animal shapes out of the towels and writing notes to guests in hope of getting a tip, the rooms would be clean. There is also no room darkining curtain and and the bedspreads and blankets look like they have not been cleaned in years. There are ants and insects everywhere. Breakfast was basic but acceptable. The staff was not very friendly but you could get help with what you needed, just at a slower pace and with no attempt at being service oriented. The overall impression of this hotel is that there is a serious lack of staff training. In North America or Europe this would be a one star hotel at best. I rated it average only because it is Cuba.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 6th or 7th floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

On your first entry into the lobby, the Jagua Hotel seems clean and modern and our room appeared pleasant and well equipped with a large bathroom. However NOTHING WORKS!

The lights had a habit of flickering off and when this happened the lifts would stop working for a short while – on one occasion when we were in one which was briefly very scary. The telephone in our room (and others) rang repeatedly but when I went down to reception to see if someone was actually trying to contact us I was told that the ‘computer goes crazy’ and to leave the phone off the hook ‘or you will not sleep’ – fine for us but no good for anyone who needed to be able to take a call. Our key card stopped working on the second day and I was interested to see from other reviews that this is a regular problem as the receptionist told me it was my fault for keeping the card in the same bag as my camera.

The drinks vending machines in the restaurant would either not work at all or would produce the wrong drinks from the wrong button.... or have no milk.... or no coffee...etc. The food was passable but definitely not great and, when the hotel apparently does not have the resources even to keep table and bed linen clean and changed, it seems perverse to decorate all the restaurant chairs with elaborate fabric bows which have inevitably become a bit grim.

All in all we were pleased we were staying only two nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StoneflowerStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour, it was okay. Very big, Med type hotel with a decent sized not too busy pool. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, so we went to have cocktails by the waterside. All very pleasant. Food was good, as was the service, The 'rooftop bar' next door is worth a visit as well.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
162 reviews
37.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
218 reviews
144.2 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
142.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagua Hotel

Property: Jagua Hotel
Address: Ave. 37 No. 1 | Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jagua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Jagua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagua Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing