We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dec 31-Jan 14 2013”
Review of Hotel Rancho Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rancho Luna
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dec 31-Jan 14 2013”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 8pm on new year's eve after 1.5 hour bus ride from santa clara.. Not too bad, there was a vendor selling beer before you got on the bus.
Food wasn't very good for their 'special' new years gala but it improved quite a bit after that. Lots of chicken/fish and rice was fine but kinda repetitive after 14 days.. Can't complain though there was ham and cheese sandwiches until 3pm then they baked pizzas at the pool bar if you didn't want the buffet food.
Like others have said in their reviews, I found some staff just delightful to converse with, and others who seem to not want anything to do with you.. Maybe because tips weren't included in the price of the package.
There was definitely a population of older gentlemen who had close company with young cuban girls, but it wasn't really offensive. It was actually sweet to see some guys who were recently divorced or just lonely have a companion to play pool with or watch the show, etc.
I met some really nice people who are repeat guests here who had good advice on where to go, which taxis to take.. (Peter, Viktor, Fabio from Toronto, Mel and Alan from New Brunswick, Nikolai from Bulgaria, Lenny and Roy..)
A 2 min walk towards the right of the hotel beach is the public beach where I spent most of my days soaking up the sun. Very few vendors who were respectful and accepted no for an answer. However I found myself kindof looking for the ones selling the honey-peanut bars..yum!
Overall good for an escape from the maritime snow-mess, just don't go to this 2 star hotel with a 5 star attitude and it should be great!
**Put a small lock on your luggage zipper, a bottle of rum was stolen from mine, likely in halifax though.

Room Tip: My terrace door didn't lock, so maybe a second floor room for safety..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    143
    189
    119
    122
See reviews for
107
210
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes i understand its cheap but what a dive.
If your looking for old perverts the this is the place for you.
Some staff very bold and would ask for the shoes off your feet,and anything you got.
The manager at this hotel has her favorite guess and she looks after there needs,and yes she gets paid well,just check out the way she dresses,all outfits bought by guess.Entertainment sometimes,beach beware of hookers and bandits.yes its cheap and dirty ggod luck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cienfuegos hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel at the end of 2012. A simple description of everything is that it was average or right below.

When we got there, they could not find our reservation so we had to wait a while before we got our room, so we went for lunch. So far in our journey we have not had a great culinary experience in Cuba, and this hotel was just a new disappointment.
The room we got was good enough. It had a window facing the seaside, and a small couch in the window. Bathroom was ok, though it seems like they had some water problems during our stay. During two of the three days we spent there, they lost water twice at the entire resort, and the water in our toilet and sink was brown when it returned.

The pool was cold, and it was full of bugs and other things. Not very tempting to go for a swim.
If you go for a 2 min walk you will come down to the beach, and the beach bar. The hotel beach is not good at all. The sand is hard, and full of branches, stones, and other things. If you get there early morning, or right when the sun goes down it is full of beach flies, so try to avoid this if you don´t want to get bitten.

If you walk along the beach, heading towards the other hotels along the coast, you will find the beach to be much better and cleaner, so if you want to spend time at the sand, leave the hotel beach!

Except from that, you can go diving if you want, they got mini golf, horseback riding. If you want to head up to the city there is buses for only a few cuc´s. They got day trips to Trinidad, so all in all it is a ok hotel to stay at if you want to relax, but at the same time experience a few things, but don´t have any high expectations to the hotel in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a "no frills" hotel. My one week stay was very relaxing, for high season travel, It was worth the vacation I needed. The staff made everything more comfortable. Rooms are very clean. Food a little below average, but you will never go hungry and the pizza bar helps. 15 mins to the city of Cienfuegos by taxi (10pesos). The tour to El Nicho was worth the day trip and (30cuc) and a great lunch. Enjoy your trip!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladyltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great time last week of November.
Just a few notes this time: You should change some Cdn dollars at the airport
at least $200.00 dollars. The hotel runs out quickly because of the late flights most
change all there money at the hotel desk as soon as they arrive and the desk just
runs out of money for a few days. The banks intown are open during the day up to around
300pm to 400pm. You just have to take your passport to show your I.D.
It cost around $10 Cuban there and back.
Very few older men with younger Cuban women. Most of the cuban come on the weekend
with there families and stay to themself.
The hotel will only checkin the women in during the day with cuban ID and they have to pay
for a three day stay over. Keeps most of the older guys from booking their girlfreinds.
The beachs are clean and had no problems walking down the beach to the other bars and
the other hotel at the top of the cliffs. You can enter and drink at this hotel but the you have to
pay for for your drinks here, about one dollar for an Cuban beer.
Weather was nice but it was cool in the evening, need a jacket.
Went to 3 dicos intown and had a great time there.
Back in a few weeks.
Best trip for your money...

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade to the oceanfront rooms for the next day after check in. They will try to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank max010145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

two week stay was what i needed but debatable if worth exhorbitant price. more that double one week cost which was strange for off season early december. food still bland and boring but thats cuba. some much needed painting in progress. now part of the gran bahia chain. service from some staff great and from others downright rude. hustlers and prostitutes on beach very annoying. sounds like im complaining but im not - still good value but keep expectations moderate.

Room Tip: ask for patio room which will get you ground floor and possible ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To all the people complaining about this hotel you need to stop being cheap and spend the extra money and stay at a 5 star resort! You only get what you pay for!! Anyways for the money it's a 5 star resort in my eyes! Food is good and if your tired of it go out to the public beach area and grab something there. Rooms are basic, maids are nice, and overall resort is clean. Taxi ride to town is $10cuc one way. If you want to stay in town for a few nights you can easily find a Casa particular for about $20cuc per night. There are several restaurants, clubs, cafe, and one cigar shop right on the boulevard with a nice smoking lounge upstairs. Never ever buy cigars on the street because they are fake, they will all tell you that there mother father uncle sister works at the factory! Nice cigars are Romeo y julieta short churchills at $135cuc a box. Don't forget to visit el nicho or the escambray mountains, beautiful waterfalls! The people of cuba are wonderful, friendly, informative. Try to bring things there such as kids clothing, toothbrushes, deodorant, soaps etc.. If every tourist did this it would make a huge difference to the people of cuba, life is hard there so pay it forward. About the men looking for young girls, please at least treat them with respect. They are doing what every human being is trained to do-Survive! I see a lot of these guys being so disrespectful I feel like punching them in the face! Especailly that big fat Italian guy from Canada, I think his name is Quint so if you see him there punch him in the face for me!! Anyways enjoy your stay at rancho luna!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kalanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
6.5 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.4 mi away
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
32.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
218.9 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
94.0 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Luna

Property: Hotel Rancho Luna
Address: Carretera Rancho Luna, km 18, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rancho Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rancho Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Luna Cienfuegos
Rancho Luna Hotel
Rancho Luna Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing