We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, and property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
A TripAdvisor Member
332
Reviewed March 24, 2004

Peachey writes: Had a great New Years in 2002! I was totally most sastified to the fullest extent with regards to my staying at this property. The food was more than superb. The staff were better than I could of imagined.

My other friends I met in Nuclear City were really cool. Security on scene were very proffesional, and personable.

The accomodations were just peachey. This holliday is not for the beach, but for the real Cuba which is why I return to this island continuously. Having been to numerous other southern destinations, I now consider Cuba my premier choice, with no competition.

Michael Peachey. P.S. great dj.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 170 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2002

Two thumbs up to the staff at Hotel Pasacaballo!

Especially Luis (desk manager) and Mary Ella (entertainment co-ordinator) and George (the restaurant manager)

They really make the difference at this hotel. If you are going there expecting a 5 star, then look elsewhere, but if you are looking for good value for your money this is the place!

I'll try not to repeat what already has been said here, but I agree with everything that other have posted.

I have to admit on first sight the place was a little bit scary looking due to the damaged main ceiling (which was repaired by weeks end), then again we came in at 2 in the morning thanks to a delayed Air Transat flight

Renovations are coming along nicely, and it was amazing what they accomplished in the week that we were there.

It is true, that they bend over backwards to make your trip a really good time. Hey they even took us on a trip to a major league baseball game in Cienfuegos. That was really good quality ball! The added touch of a cooler of beer and rum punch drinks was a great touch. All on the house of course.

Tours, boat trips, and staff trips to the Rancho Luna beach all included free of charge. I agree with the comment about Havanatour's, who showed up rarely and wanted large peso's to go anywhere.

The rooms where clean and well kept (and if they are not, they are quick to please). Recent renovations to the rooms included new comfy mattresses, air conditioners, t.v. 's and dishnet satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, CNN etc. (though you gotta go through Luis to get English programming)

A good selection of local drinks, though their choice of beer and cola could be better.

We had no problem with the quality of the food, and when we asked we were fed fresh seafood and lobster's on several occasions.

The saltwater pool and the grounds are well kept and clean. There are two restaurant's in operation with the third under repair and said to become a new glass enclosed affair, smaller than the main dining room.

In closing, a really nice place, with great staff and good food and drink. Well worth money.

P.S.-Don't be afraid to explore the village across the river. We found a good homemade meal (arranged through staff at the hotel) and the fortress was really neat to explore.

We would definitely go back to Hotel Pasacaballo again!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 24, 2002

After reading the review on this sight, we decided to take a chance on a vacation to Cienfuegos, Cuba and stay at this hotel.
They were fixing up the damage done during the hurricane Michelle. In about 3 months this work should be done. They do not have a beach but a shuttle will take you there whenever you ask.
Anything we asked for we got e.g. food, trips, music and it seemed like we were at Fantasy Island. The staff would really try to make themselves understood. Some speak English, some are learning at school to speak and others just smile or use hand jestures. This is the 3rd. time to Cuba and after staying here it sure won't be our last.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 8, 2002

I just got back from Hotel Pasacaballo. I have been to Cuba
before (near Havana) and had a really memorable trip. but nothing compared to this one.
The Hotel is located approximately 20 minutes drive from Cienfuegos City.
It is the farthest hotel located on the strip after Faro Luna and Rancho Luna. It is only rated as 2 stars but should be more.
The hotel staff are absolutely amazing and extremely friendly. Not all speak English but are learning.
Everday we returned to our rooms the maid had done something special for us in the rooms (towel swans on the bed, flowers, etc). When we went for day trips the hotel provided lunches for us as well as refreshments (beer, rum, cola), and even went so far as to provide transportation for us when Hola Sun never showed up to offer us any trips.
We had a escort for everywhere we wanted to go, as well she knew what we would be interested in seeing as tourists. Anything that we asked for was provided and thanks to the hotel we had a very memorable vacation and plan on gong back soon.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank IAAGetxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank nanita44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jagua Hotel By Melia
Jagua Hotel By Melia
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
932 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Punta La Cueva
Punta La Cueva
#5 of 6 in Cienfuegos
16 reviews
30.1 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
229 reviews
37.3 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel

Address: Carretera de Rancho Luna km 22, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Islazul Pasacaballo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing