We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Palacio Azul
Ranked #17 of 139 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in December. When we arrived, a nice lady made us a daiquiri and we instantly felt welcome (not very common in Cuban hotels). Our room was pretty and spotless. There's also a roof terrace with great views.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim02030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
41
114
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Great spot by the sea, with character. Clean and spacious rooms, good breakfast and very friendly stuff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktheodossiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This was probably the most charming hotel in Cuba we stayed at.
Great staff, very welcoming and helpful, and it's very unusual for Cuba they are helpful not only because of expecting some tips: welcome coctails, very detailed instructions about Cienfuegos sightseing, and even our car was washed early in the morning while we were sleeping.

Location is very convenient to explore Cienfuegos, you can walk everywhere.

The property has very nice view over the sea and city, as other reviewers have already mentioned.

Overall, very good place for stop-over in Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here over Christmas. Punta Gorda is a much nicer place to stay than downtown Cienfuegos, which is eerily dark and questionable at night. The hotel is quaint as can be, and the staff -- large for such a small place -- is eager to please.

Don't accept their suggestion for the lady next door to cook you dinner. She made us bonito (think hot, brown tuna), and it was awkward pretending to enjoy dinner in the middle of her home.

We ate our worst meal in Cuba at the La Union hotel -- avoid it. We had one of our best meals at a delightful open-air paladar calle Ache, on the edge of downtown, just a 2-minute drive from the Palacio Azul -- huge $15 lobster dinners!!

The popular Jagua hotel, just a few blocks further south in Punta Gorda had convenient internet, but we heard the rooms were not well maintained we're glad we didn't stay there. We don't like places with tour buses outside, anyway.

Booking the rooms long-distance was nearly impossible, as I had only US credit cards, and they would not accept a guarantee from my Canadian travel agent. But after many phone calls and emails to Cubanacan (the state hotel group which controls this hotel as well as the La Union), we secured their gentleman's promise to honor our reservation, which they did.

We're glad we stayed here instead of Trinidad, which was a nice place to visit, but....

"Janky," as our kids described it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicketFromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I just came back from Cuba and I wanted to share my experience regarding Palacio Azul.
It is a small palace-hotel, the rooms are basic but clean, the bathroom is almost entirely renovated.
The breakfast was good and most of all, the staff was extremely nice and helpful!! They have even provided us with a map of the city and explained what to see etc for free (something not always happening in Cuba), they also stored our luggage for 6-7 hours for free.
A place I really recommend you once you are in Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed two days in this hotel and I could have stayed a week in Cienfuegos. Its a lovely hotel in a lovely area beside the sea. Great staff, good breakfasts, lots of hot water for showers. It is beside the stunning Club Cienfuegos and Hotel de Valle and Hotel Jagua. We went on a wonderful trip around the bay in a lovely boat and visited the botanical gardens. Its sister hotel is the beautiful Hotel La Union, where I would also like to stay in future if I went again. It has a magnificent swimming pool which is free to Azul guests and is right in the town centre. It is a good walk into town from the Palacio Azul but a taxi passing by just costs 2 cuc. Cienfuegos itself is beautiful and prosperous-looking with wide boulevards. Very European. ( I preferred it to Trinidad).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Palacio Azul is a spotless blue and white palace. It comes with a welcoming, gated garden with private parking, extraordinairy friendly staff with lots of local knowledge and a stunning seaview from the rooftop terrace and some rooms. Located on the southern peninsula Punta Gorda, it is stiff half hour walking from the city centre and all its sights. You could need a car or other means of transport to get there and back.

The handful of rooms tend to booked quickly so reservation may be needed, especially when you don't travel off-season. The rooms are all named after flowers and we were so lucky to stay next to the one that recently was offered Venezuela president Hugo Chávez! All rooms are immuculately clean, well maintained and elegantly furnished.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, the only serve a plain but ok breakfast. Around the hotel there's plenty dining options in both paladares and restaurants. You can have a fine lunch at the outrageous Palacio de Valle. Neighbouring Club Cienfugeos offers good dining options, especially when you're lucky to get one of the balcony tables at the second floor. You can enjoy the view and their surprising selection of fine wines and then have a sundowner back at the Palacio Azul.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarmBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cienfuegos
0.4 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
913 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
645 reviews
37.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal los Mares
Hostal los Mares
#7 of 139 in Cienfuegos
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casas Zunilda y Raya
Casas Zunilda y Raya
#3 of 139 in Cienfuegos
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Los Delfines
Casa Los Delfines
#4 of 139 in Cienfuegos
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Palacio Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Palacio Azul

Property: Hostal Palacio Azul
Address: Calle 37 no. 1201, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Palacio Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Palacio Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Palacio Azul Hotel Cienfuegos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing