We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A perfect getaway in Isabela!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway in Isabela!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've been here twice already and love it! Each villa is different and has it's own charm. I stayed at TR on the main VT building the first time. It has a spectacular view and wooden deck with lounge chairs and bbq and steps that lead directly to the beach. My second stay was at Villa Filisha with it's very own semi-private patio, hammocks, bbq, and private parking. Both were excellent! The staff is friendly and very serviceable. They really go out of their way to make your stay the best possible.

The beaches in Isabela are pristine, with natural pools and excellent snorkeling, surfing, paddleboarding, and kiteboarding opportunities. The north west coast of Puerto Rico has a laid back attitude unlike San Juan and is the perfect place to escape, for a little while... or maybe forever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marileana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
99
138
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new haven ct
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Villa Tropical is an ideal spot to stay while enjoying the fantastic Isabela, which is absolutely gorgeous. What is great about Villa Tropical is that you get an apartment or studio for a very reasonable price with a fantastic view of the beach. It is one of the most relaxing places I've ever stayed at. It is perfect for for couples, families, or a group of friends. Unlike a hotel or resort where you spend tons of money on food and drinks that may not live up to your expectations and have to deal with crowds and waiting times, here you can prepare your own meals (there are supermarkets and a Walmart some 10 or 15 minutes away), but also have the option of walking to Villa Montaña, the resort next to it, which does have a restaurant overlooking the beach or Lola's down the road for drinks or a quick bite to eat. Shacks beach, as other reviewers have noted is more so for surfing, but if you walk in either direction you will find calmer waters. The apartments are very clean, and the owners are very attentive. I don't have a single negative thing to say. If what you are looking for is a hotel or resort with swimming pools, restaurants, fitness rooms and a spa, Villa Tropical is clearly not for you, but if what you want is an escape from it without dealing with what staying at a resort or hotel entails, this is the place to do so without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abuelachucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Trevor and Jennifer (the owner) are very very smart people. I met them by coincidence at JFK Airport in New York before boarding to San Juan. At the end, they offered me a seat in the middle of the night in their car and drove me directly to Shacks Beach by singing and listening to the best songs ever. At this point, I already knew that I must have made a "lucky punch" with them. And that became in every point true: the studio had ocean front view, was very clean and well equipped with direct beach access. You can see a lot of various coloured fishes, turtles etc. at the reeve by snorkeling and stand up paddling. Trevor and Jennifer looked very good to me, introduced me to the locals, gave me tips, invented me home for dinner with their lovely children and showed me the snorkeling spots and how to stand up paddling. It was a great experience which I won't forget at an unique place with a kind of wilderness in it.
I'm very happy to met them and will stop by again by next chance!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although at least a 2 hour drive from San Juan, these apartments are truly great. We stayed in M4 which is a 1 bed apartment with unbelievable panoramic views of the sea. It was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished.

My only word of caution is that we were absolutely battered by the waves so, coupled with the reef line, it's not ideal swimming territory for young children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TripMember05062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a dream getaway in the Carribean. Being Mediterranean people, my wife and I were yearning to get some serious time on a beach after a whole year in Washington DC. We got what we wanted at this amazing place. Not only do the apartments have amazing views and terraces right on the beach; their finishing is very tasteful in its simplicity. The service was exceptional and you can tell that the people who run it do so with great care and love. And it's also well priced. What made our experience is the fact that we stayed away from the hustle and bustle of San Juan. It's a two-hour drive away, which can get tiring because of Puerto Rico's traffic, but it's all worth it. Go for it.

Room Tip: Just give these guys a call. They're flexible and will give you clear guidance, an immediate quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great family vacation at Villa Tropical and would recommend it to friends and family. Like with anyplace, there are some pros and cons to keep in mind:
Location: Pros = the M3 villa we chose is the second floor of a three story unit directly on the beach and the views are amazing from the deck; a hundred yards to the right and you are at an amazing snorkeling area, a hundred yards to the left (past the Villa Montana resort) is a sandy spot where you can splash in the waves; Cons = you cannot swim from the beach directly in front of the villa due to sharp rocks, sea urchins and a strong rip tide. Also, Shacks Beach is very isolated which is great for quiet beach time but not so great for dinner out options (although the one place you can walk to, Ola Lola, is terrific!) or a quick trip to the market.
Rooms: Pros = spacious unit (M3) with comfortable and functional furnishings, overall very clean, full modern kitchen, lots of deck furniture to enjoy the water; Cons = needs some maintenance - many windows didn't open, some ceiling fans did not work, and the room air conditioners were either luke warm or icy cold.
Service: Pros = everyone we encountered was polite and friendly; Cons = this isn't a resort or even a hotel and the staff did not go out of their way to ensure we were happy or having a good time. Example: there was only one key to the unit and it was inconvenient for us to hand it off among five of us, but the management just kind of shrugged off our request for a second key.
General caution: the drivers in Puerto Rico are aggressive and we hit a couple of huge traffic jams on the drive out to Isabela and back to San Juan. Give yourself plenty of time to get where you're going.
All in all, I would be happy to stay at Villa Tropical again if I took another trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful quiet place in paradise. We could not get enough of the water, snorkeling to discover new worlds underwater, local food, friendly neighbors, long walks on deserted beaches and beautiful sunsets from our porch. There was not one disappointment in our stay. Service was wonderful. I will visit this spot in my mind often and am hoping to get our whole family down for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
52.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
5.1 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 4 in Aguadilla
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Property: Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing