We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in TL for 5 days. Love the location right on the best beach on PR. Great for walking on beach and snorkel. Quiet with everything you need to make your stay wonderful, we will return I have been to PR 11 times now and I have to say this place and beach are my favorite

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sis0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views on the ocean front units. We switched rooms from a non oceanfront unit to an ocean front unit and it was well worth it as the huge windows bring the outside in. Even our non ocean front unit was nice as it was on the 2nd floor with a healthy outside wrap around deck that still captured the tradewinds. Unfortunately there are a few units on the property that I would not want, the unit below us, although nice, lacked privacy and I doubt it received the same airflow as our unit above. For some reason, there is little difference in price between the oceanfront units and non oceanfront. There are even some buildings (townhouses really) on the other side of a small dirt road from the oceanfront units and the prices don't drop significantly despite the lack of oceanfront, I suspect this is because they are newer and well furnished units, but to me, visiting the carribean means easy ocean access and I would prefer a beachfront hovel (which these were not) to an upscale property slightly removed from the beach. The beaches here have character, have a nice but not spectacular reef right out in front that is protected by an outer reef which creates a something of a lagoon, protected from the waves but not from wind chop and current. The wave at shacks is a right that can get very good but is fickle. The kite launch and land is not for beginners but we had wind 8/10 days and head high surf or better throughout our stay. It's an idyllic little spot but use care when choosing your unit. If you like pampered posh resorts this is not for you, but if you love the carribean ocean and all it has to offer, I can't think of a better place that combines snorkeling, surfing, and kiting in one convenient spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmand121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great stay, very nice villa very, friendly staff. As senior citizens,we really enjoyed ourselves there during the weekday. Travis and Cookie could not have been nicer! A great place at a great price. Vic & Judy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeHumacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice place, We rented a 2 bed room apartment, it was beautiful! Very clean, great tv, view of the ocean, everyone's very nice, It's right on Shacks beach, two nice restaurants are in walking distance. Jobos beach is a 2 minute drive and the beaches of Rincon are 40 minutes away. If you kite and surf this is a great place to stay.
*Snorkling in the Blue Hole is awesomet! The hotel weill rent you mask, fins. snorkel 10 bucks for the week. The hotel has a nice selection of surf boards, SUP's Sea Kayaks, ect you can rent 50 bucks for the week, try one board one day anorher the next, try the SUP, try the Sea Kayack.
MY ONE complaint is that the outdoor grill was not working so good, but I'm sure they got that fixed. The Villa Tropical is a great place! FIVE STARS

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been coming here for some ten years or so. I have always stayed in Villa Filisha. The atmostphere is truly amazing. The staff and owner are awesome, It's a great place to come to just to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_S288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Villa Tropical Apartments, each time at a different rental unit. Most are right in front of the best beaches in Puerto Rico. Trevor and Cookie manage the apartments and keep the apartments super clean and maintained. They are also full of information about things to do and places to eat in the area; their advice is to be trusted. This time we were treated with humpback whales right in front of our deck twice breaching clear out of the water. This is also the spot that you can see at least 8 to 10 kite surfers every day as there seems to be a constant wind. Villa Tropical also has snorkels, etc. to see the reef fish and dive the blue hole just off shore. The apartments come completely furnished with cooking and eating utensils and all appliances. There are frequent power outages on the Isabela electrical grid but these apartments come equipped with backup generators which many other rentals do not have.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front with deck overlooking the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photo-2_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our first time to Puerto Rico, and it won't be our last. Villa Tropical is truly a gem, with it's amazing location, friendly owner and staff, beautiful accomodations, and awesome views. The apartment we rented (# TL), was clean, spacious and airy, decorated with local art, paintings and prints. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. We shared the ocean side deck with the other apartment but it's spacious enough to feel like you have your own space. Our apartment even had another patio with an island view. Everyone we met on site was really nice and most people we spoke to had been coming to Villa Tropical for several years, which also speaks well for the place. What I loved about the location is, that you can walk for a couple of miles in either direction and explore other beaches, all of which were beautiful and uncrowded! If you're into snorkeling, the best snorkeling is to be found right in front of the Villa Tropical, and you can rent a set of equipment, for just $10/ week. Some of the equipment could use replacing or upgrading, and there didn't seem to be enough sand chairs for everyone in the building that we stayed in. But that is my only (minor) critique of the place. You will need a car to get to the grocery store or most restaurants- but there are many nearby, and you can also grill on the decks. If you are looking for a relaxing, restful vacation where staring at the ocean is on the top of your list, then I highly recommend staying at the Villa Tropical apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
10.3 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
37.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing