We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, location, delightful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Wow... what a relief to find a place exactly how I like it: on the beach without the crowds, clean and comfortable rooms, well-outfitted kitchen, wi-fi, huge deck with grill overlooking excellent snorkeling / shore diving. Refreshing and relaxing place with delightful, thorough, thoughtful service - helpful without being intrusive. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globe_galloper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 326 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Isabela with our 6 month old and 2 1/2 year old and were sent running from another rental in the area (Villas on Shacks Beach, a/c was broken... among other issues... and management would not refund). Trevor was a breath of fresh air and came to our rescue. He had one rental available, and since we lost money on the other place in an unfortunate situation, he helped us get into our new rental without breaking the bank. We could not have been happier with the place we ended up staying.

The place was perfect and we wish we could have stayed there our entire vacation. It worked better for us than Villa Montana, as it had a private pool, full kitchen, two bedrooms, and was all around ideal for our family (and was more affordable). It was modern, new and very clean. It was here we realized the value of staying somewhere with a pool and a washer and dryer with young kids. The air conditioning worked great and made for happy nap times and night sleeping for our little ones. The location was also great. Our villa was one row of houses back from the beach and we had to walk a little beach path that took us to the beach in just a couple of minutes. Another cool thing about our rental was that it had one of those outdoor shower and foot washes for washing the sand off when returning from the beach. I just can't say enough positive things about this place. The only reason that I gave 'sleep quality' 4 stars instead of 5 is because airplanes fly overhead very low, because there is an airport nearby. Even with windows closed and air conditioning running, it can be enough to wake you up from time to time. This is of course characteristic of the entire area and is not specific to Villa Tropical. Neighborhood dogs could get a little 'barky', too.

So if you've been sleuthing Trip Advisor looking for the perfect place to stay, look no further. Trevor, his staff and these villas are the best around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mellie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at M4 for 4 nights and it was awesome. Penthouse, spacious 1 bedroom with the beach spitting distance away and a great deck. The kitchen has everything for cooking and storing food and there's also a grill that is shared with everyone. The only negative was that the waves kept us up at night (sarcasm). The unit was extremely clean and bug free which is not always easy in the Carib.

The main guy we dealt with was Trevor and as an american, he was very cognizant of what makes a hotel / condo successful.

We also stayed at Q2 which is a ground floor room. It had a hammock but wasn't as updated as M4.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We've been coming to Villa Tropical for 6 consecutive years now...every time is a great experience. Trevor, Cookie, and all of the staff always make us feel at home. We've stayed at multiple residents at Villa Tropical. The luxury of each may differ, but the quality does not waver. The fact that we have satellite TV is great, but I usually tell my kids that it's not working (even though it always does). The real "big screen picture" is the view of the crashing waves from our deck or the star lit sky at night. The kids never even ask for the TV (I watch the news after they're asleep). This is a perfect place to bring your family to re-connect and remember what is really important in your life. I love being able to barbecue on the deck while watching my kids play on the beach, a few yards away. If you're looking for a mint on your pillow every morning, go to the Ritz Carlton...If you want some good down to Earth family fun, to be comfortable, to walk out of your back door and on to the beach every morning.....I highly recommend Villa Tropical

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Thanks Trevor and Staff for yet another fantastic vacation. This was our 7th year in a row and we have booked again for next year. The people we meet are great and Trevor and his Staff are very accomodating, helpful, and friendly. They are always working to keep the V.T. the beautiful place that it is. In our opinion it has the most beautiful sunsets and beaches around. There is nothing better than rum drinks, sunsets,with new and old friends on the deck . Surfing ,picking up seaglass and seashells everyday is the best way in the world to relax. It has the most beautiful swimming spot(blue hole) that i have ever seen. Make sure you bring you camera. I can only imagine what it would be like to dive in the blue hole. I come here for the surf and my wife for the glass and shells. We always feel safe and very welcomed when we are there. We could not ask for a better vacation. While visiting make sure you get a sandwhich from Sandwich Delight and visit John and Elaine at Ola Lolas for a cold one. See ya next year. Mucho Gracias, Kevin & C Lou. and keep up the great work guys and gals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chupakilldevilhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

we stayed in BL for 4 nights with our 14 month daughter. clean and comfortable and perfect configuration for our needs. literally 20 steps to the beach, a great deck, beautiful views! not fancy, but very casual and homey. staff was friendly, other guests were fun to meet. if you're looking for lots of privacy, don't choose this unit or the studio next to it, as the deck is shared space and also the main entry point to the beach for other guests. not a problem for us, we liked the community feel, and it wasn't like 100 people were coming by daily (maybe 15 max). there are other units available if you're looking for more privacy. we're already thinking about next year's visit!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burgytownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here 4 months ago & couldn't wait to return. Got a different unit this time....Q5....ocean view.....small 1 BR....VERY clean. I met more people this time as several units share a common area & we were able to view the sunsets there every evening. It is not uncommon to meet other vacationers staying here for 3 months. There are no words to fully express how everyone we meet here made us feel at home. I got back yesterday & can't wait to return. We bought lobster from a fishmen who keeps his boat with-in walking distance of us (we had a gas grill by our unit to cook it on)...I swam to the Blue Hole which is right in front of the resort....walked to Ola Lola's & had a couple beers.......walked to the horseback riding ranch right down the road & had an excellent adventure there. So, this place has it all!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittyskatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
2.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
16.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
804 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
706 reviews
16.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
10.3 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-surfing and SUP destination. There are 31unique, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included like your clean sheets and towels, cooking tools and utensils, FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Gift Shop has souvenirs, beverages, incl alcohol, and conveniences. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. Villa Tropical's Best Value is maintained by the owner's maintaining direct relations with customers, thus why you will never find us on an OTA's top list. Villa Tropical books solidly 2 years in advance for high season dates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing