We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Dorada Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Reviewed February 17, 2014

First room smelled of mold and dust. Had an allergic reaction within minutes. Tv was not in good condition. Carpet dusty and old. Even had a lizard inside the room.
The next room they changed me to was in the villas. Found two dead cockroaches one below the bed. Stain on the pillow case. Hairs in the bathroom. I could barely sleep and couldn't get a refund. I only stayed one night and it was enough to know I won't do it again! If ure allergic like me to dust mites and are looking for a clean place this is not it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Morphiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night. It was a last minute trip & booked this place at the airport when we landed. It was cheap so we booked it. It is a "motel", but our room was clean. You can't use your GPS to get there. We had to call to get directions, but the security guard was able to guide us there. He was very friendly. We arrived early, about 9am. the lady at the front desk seemed annoyed with us for being there so early. We were not able to check into our room until 3pm (unlike a major chain). We were able to use the bathroom in the lobby area to freshen up. The front desk lady did lighten up some & was eventually helpful in guiding us around. Our room was on the first floor so we had a nice little patio to sit on in the evening & could hear the waves from the beach. There is beach access from there but you can't swim there. the water is too rough but it is a nice & clean beach. There really isn't much around so you do need a car. The immediate area is not safe at night, so we didn't venture far without our car. If you have a car & need a cheap place to stay, then this will do. Bring bug spray! Mosquitos are BAD!! Doubt I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FlyGirl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Please dont go in this hotel or buy any groupons. I had a couples vacations and as soon as i opened the door I realized that I rather rented a motel. Room was in bad conditions; the so called kitchen was in terrible conditions that I didnt dare to cook. Cockroaches at the entrence and in the bed. Villas were empty and yet they gave us a terrible room with no view and with no air conditioning remote control. There was no way of adjusting the temperature.
My intensions are that the owners of this hotel stay one night on my room and then comment. I am local and I hope tourist dont receive the same treatment, hopefully a better on

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good experience. The place is nice but it is not cleaned regularly and the entrance needs a bigger sign, maintenance and landscaping. The pool area is great for tanning. The resort has access to the beach but the beach it is not safe for swimmers, it's rocky with strong surf. Front desk employees were helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Costa Dorada Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for the review, your opinion is very important for us. We clean all the facilities the best possible and we have a company that is in charge of the landscaping. The pool is great for tanning and also for swimming. The beach "Punta Sardinera" is great for swimming and is about 5 minutes walking distance. Is nice to know that the employees were helpful. We hope you enjoy your stay with us and we would like to see you again soon.

Cordially,
José A. Martí

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

need a car to go out an dinner ... but the beach its across the street!! very quiet place ...i love the pool of the villas !! the employees are very helpful... and i get a great offer for 2 nights and 3 days ...the t.v is old but the room was very clean ...the beds are very comfortable ...is a cheap place ...i want to come back!!!

Room Tip: definitive the villas are better than the hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Costa Dorada Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We have a restaurant in the hotel that's open Friday and Saturday, only for breakfast. In the area of "Villa Pesquera" they have a restaurant that is walking distance and also we can provide the phone number of the restaurants that make delivery, just in case that you don't want to go out.

Its great to know that you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Cordially,
José A. Martí

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This resort needs remodeling but is good enough to spend a weekend with the family. The villa were we stayed was comfortable, clean, quiet and had a good view of the swimming pool. The air conditioner blows directly into you so that's no so nice. The staff was corteous and friendly. The beach is quickly accessed to and there are miles of beautiful shores to walk and in some areas take a dip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Costa Dorada Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We try to better our facilities everyday to meet your needs. We're sorry for any inconvenience that our a/c's could have caused but it's an error that was made when the facilities were built.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to see you soon.

Cordially,
José A. Martí

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed because all the other places were full. It wasn't the best option.
First of all, it is impossible to get to the hotel using your GPS. We had to ask some locals. They didn't even had signs to take you to the hotel. So you're "lucky" if you make it on your own.
When you enter it looks likes a 70's creepy hotel. It looks dark, even at daylight. The tennis court it's very different from what you see in the brochure.
They do have a nice parking lot. The check-in was ok, and the service too.
The room was ok and spacious compared to other hotels. It was clean. Every room has a
balcony. But no flat screen tv, and very bad reception. No wifi at all. And a very bad cel phone reception.
In other words if you don't mind get incommunicated this hotel is for you.
We couldn't use the hotel pool because it was so cloudy that you couldn't even see the bottom of it.
We had to walk to the next lot, where they have a Villas complex and use that pool.
Even thou, the pool also got cloudy at afternoon.
The hotel has beach access, but the tide is too strong for
normal bathers. It is ok for surfing.
To resume, next time I visit Isabela, this it's going to be my last option.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yessyleo1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
2.7 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
19.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
9.1 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
264 reviews
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Dorada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Dorada Beach Resort

Address: 900 Calle Emilio Gonzalez | Road PR 466 Kilometer 13. 8, Isabela 00662-2412, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: $95 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Costa Dorada Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa Dorada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Dorada Beach Hotel Isabela
Costa Dorada Beach Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing