We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”
Review of Royal Isabela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Isabela
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Brawley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Royal Isabela for the second time this past August I continue to be amazed at what Charlie and Stanley Pasarell have accomplished. RI is a world class golf course and resort. The restaurant is beyond five star and the people are like family. My physician and scuba diving partner and I have spent a total of about two weeks at RI playing golf and diving in the area and we can't wait to go back. Experiencing Royal Isabela is something you cannot duplicate anywhere else. It wouldn't surprise me if it ranked the number one golf resort in the world. It is that good. Larry Fleming

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
157
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brawley, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Last year at this same time I enjoyed the best vacation of my life thanks to the fantastic staff and amazing accommodations at the Royal Isabela. I really had to return here for another wonderful stay. In the time of 1 year, the Royal Isabela has become more lush and unbelievably more beautiful than last year. Because of the remarkable beauty of its golf course and its well-appointed club house, I was inspired to learn to play golf during this year--very late in my life but never too late if you can have great caddies to help you enjoy the fairways and breathtaking vistas from this golf course. I was delighted to make 2 pars on shorter holes on the course. Thus, this year's stay here has surpassed last year's since I can really enjoy this phenomenal golf course ("the Pebble Beach of the Caribbean") and continue to enjoy all the other activities particularly scuba diving, swimming and tennis from last year. The restaurant is superb. The communities of Isabela and Aguadilla are friendly and refreshing. I came here with two good friends who agree fully with me on my positive assessment. We love to scuba dive, swim and play tennis too. All these activities were at our disposition daily. Locally we dove the intriguing caves of Isabela, Playa au Natural's reefs and Crash Boat Beach with dive master Jose Rafols from Aquatica Dive in nearby Aguadilla. We filmed underwater a rare batfish and a very pretty flying gunnard. Jose and his gracious wife, Karen, operate Aquatica Dive Shop off of Hwy 110 i and Jose is the best dive master I have ever encountered plus a true master of dive sites of Puerto Rico and gentleman. Usually we would dive in the morning, swim in the RI waterfall swimming pool and play golf in the afternoon and then relax in our wonderful casitas--we really liked Casitas 12 and 15 this time since the are near the waterfalls coming down from the Gourd tree--Higuera--as one walks down from the Casa. The Casa has a pleasant library and meditative lounge as well as its great restaurant with wood fire oven behind a bar. Outside of the Casa is a circular bar for refreshments overlooking the 18th hole and viewing the ocean. One day we drove to Rincon, PR, and Taino Dive in order to take a 45 min boat ride to the pristine Desecheo Island about 12 miles off the coast of NW Puerto Rico. Candyland and the Caves at Desecheo are definite highlights for divers like us. The ride back to Rincon was bumpy but very well skippered by Frank (and Carson for us last year).
Royal Isabela restaurant is becoming renowned for its haute cuisine and unique recipes. Their fresh lime margaritas also are the best! I definitely plan to return here for all that it offers many more times and hope one day to hit the green from the tee of hole #17--the now famous Palo de Pollo hole. I must compliment the exceptional service from Rafael Cordero who as night auditor helped me with many issues to make my stay this year even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking to spend a weekend or celebrate a big moment of your life Royal Isabela Golf Resort, Puerto Rico is the place. We recently celebrated our wedding at Royal Isabela. The place it's absolutely amazing. Actually our wedding was the first one at the Resort. 7/13/13.

In our opinion and many others, Royal Isabela Private Golf Club could be the best place in all the Caribbean. Our goal was to find a place where we can spend the weekend with all our guests. In Royal Isabela you can enjoy of the best views of the Atlantic Ocean from Isabela, Puerto Rico. If you love playing golf, like us, they count with the best golf course of all Caribbean, no doubt. Our wedding guests enjoy the entire weekend with a full service in their luxury villas "casitas" with their private outdoor jacuzzi and a five star room amenities. Our dream was made true in Royal Isabela. We wanted to enjoy the biggest moment of our lives with the people we love. We asked for a complete package, including access to the golf club, villas, and all the wedding needs.

The Resort offers an amazing mixture of nature with a beach atmosphere making it a perfect choice for a destination wedding. Royal Isabela Resort, count with a full service staff, including La Casona, their main restaurant by Chef. Jose Carle and room service for those who prefer to enjoy their private villa.

Our wedding dinner created by Chef Jose Carle was gourmet and healthy. They offer superior food quality for any occasion. We had the opportunity to celebrate an outdoor ceremony with an spectacular view that we were that lucky that nature gave us a rainbow as background.
This is a very exclusive and private place that includes a full staff service to make you feel special!

Here we are sharing with you our wedding pictures...

Sincerely,
J & M

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Royal Isabela to celebrate a wedding. From the moment we arrived, the staff made it a point to be sure we were welcomed, comfortable and without want. Our casita , magnificently appointed, was difficult to leave. The bathroom offers a luxurious retreat with the very large shower opening onto the deck overlooking the ocean. Our private pool, overlooking the valley to the ocean, was awesome. La Casa, the restaurant, offers a wonderful menu, with all veges and greens organically grown on the property. As we were there for a wedding, we did not have time to play golf. However, we did get a tour of some of the spectacular holes overlooking the ocean. There is also a beautiful pool and tennis courts. What a treat.....sooooo relaxing and peaceful!

Room Tip: All casitas have an ocean view - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsdillonpr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beatiful grounds; excellent service. The Casitas are outstanding.there Is nothing missing that you will ever need. So prívate and great relaxation. Loved my stay.
Food was great and everything was so fresh... The vegetables are all organicaly grown on the premises and everything , even icecream Is also made here.
Pizzas are made from scratch in an old Brick oven; loved them.

Room Tip: All rooms are great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vilma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a delightful and RELAXING stay at Royal Isabela. The grounds and views are amazing, and the casitas are simply stunning. Fantastic shower, opening outside, huge soaking tub, private terraces and plunge pools, sounds of nature, perfect to relax, maximum privacy and incredibly romantic. The food was delicious and fresh and very reasonably priced, everyone was warm and helpful. My partner is vegetarian and the chef and wait staff were very accommodating, even making special dishes for him at dinner. The owners were around while we were there and you can tell that this is really a project that is close to their hearts, checking in with us to make sure that we were comfortable and encouraging us to explore the expansive grounds, organic gardens, river etc. There are a few minor kinks as I think the hotel only opened recently but I am sure with time that will sort itself out and especially since everyone wants to do the best they can to make sure you are enjoying your stay - that is what matters. The beach is not ideal for swimming/snorkeling (sea was a bit rough while we were there) but there is great snorkelling and hiking nearby. I would advise bringing a car if you want to explore the area a bit and get some local flavour, although we left the grounds less than we expected to, it was just so nice to relax at the casita! We don't play golf really, just hit a few balls, but still had a fantastic time - there is plenty for non golfers but I imagine if you were really into golf this would be heaven - the course has amazing vistas. We will definitely return - thanks for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: We were in Casita 20, which i think is the most private. It has a second private deck with two chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan,Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very private and beautiful grounds. Very challenging and amazing golf course. Setting is spectacular. The food is good and very friendly and curteous staff both in the restaurant and everywhere else in the property. The casitas are very comforrtable and have great views. There is a hardcourt tennis court. Peaceful, serene, lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
45.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
60.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
77.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 7 in Isla de Vieques
1,800 reviews
5.3 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
7.6 mi away
Villa Montana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Isabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Isabela

Property: Royal Isabela
Address: 396 Ave Noel Estrada, Isabela 00662-3279, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Isabela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Isabela greets guests with much more than suite accommodations. Located just steps from The Restaurant at La Casa, 20 freestanding Casitas are true "little houses" designed for the ultimate in Puerto Rican resort stays. Each Casita encompasses 1,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor space and is sited to best catch Royal Isabela's stunning ocean vistas with minimal impact to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Isabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing