We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary !!!”
Review of Villa Shacks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Shacks
Essex, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary !!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everything about our stay at Villa Shacks was absolutely perfect, starting with Mark's kind answers to my endless questions while I was organizing our trip, to our very warm welcome when we arrived.

The decor at Villa Shacks is a lovely ecletic combination of antique, mid century and modern furniture, all with a purpose. The carefully designed villas all feature well equipped kitchens, and make it a very welcoming home away from home. The beds are amazingly comfortable with top-of-the-line linens. I loved that I had the option of a down comforter, which is what I sleep with at home year-round.

After a day at the beach, it was so refreshing to lounge on the deck or to take a dip in the salt water pool. From the villa, we could watch a daily show of paddle boarders, surfers, kite boarders etc. as well as stunning sunsets every evening. The pool area offers both sun and shade and a variety of comfortable pillowed lounge chairs. The handsome armoire on the deck was filled with many choices of sunscreen, books and magazines, and some beach toys for the kids.

And, I can't forget Rosita, our gracious hostess whose kindness and smile made our stay at Villa Shacks extraordinary! I can't wait to return!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked two nights at Villa Shacks at the lat minute after our vacation itinerary was hijacked by winter weather in the US. Mark was quick to respond and very gracious. Upon arrival, we quickly realized how lucky we were to score the room at such late notice! The location is so beautiful, right on a pristine and peaceful beach with surfing and snorkeling right out the front doors. The unit itself was sparkling clean, thoughtfully appointed, and the bathroom was modern and beautiful (great shower!) Rosita looks after the units and was a joy to chat with. And on top of the perfect accommodations and setting, the villa is a 2 min walk to the Villa Montana resort next door which has a great open air restaurant, bar, and beach lounge chairs. We took a few of Mark's recommendations for meals and were happy with each one (breakfast at Ola Lolas is a must!) The area is very low key, which we were looking for - don't expect a party scene or lots of nightlife. We will absolutely be back and hope to stay for longer next time.
Ps. We went on to Rincon for a few nights after and I preferred the beaches of Isabella. They are world class!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sallymcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaShacks, Owner at Villa Shacks, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
It was great meeting you and Charlie. Glad that you had a nice stay. We hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A beautiful property situated right on a pristine beach. The apartment was well designed and comfortable. From the hammock to the great pool- Mark was also a really cool guy who makes sure he covers all bases. From the groceries he provided when we arrived to even lending me his truck when my car was not available! Fabulous place- it's definitely worth revisiting and recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaShacks, Owner at Villa Shacks, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks for the review. It was nice having you here. Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We planned a special vacation to celebrate a birthday with family and friends. The 4 villas, each with two bedrooms and accommodations, served our 18 member entourage (ages 15 to 70) well. The property's location and setting are perfect to take you away from your hectic life. The property is clean, extremely well maintained and cared for by its owner occupant, who tends to the property without your noticing, and who takes great interest to assure your every need and desire is tended to immediately. What's more, the owner has relationships with almost every service provider, who form a complete coordinated group to keep you well fed, entertained and cared for. I will be going back. I recommend Villa Shacks to anyone that is looking for a perfect private getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaShacks, Owner at Villa Shacks, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. It was great having you here and meeting all your family. Glad we could be part of your birthday. Hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Villa Shacks rocks. Everything about our stay was perfect. We were lucky to have the whole villa which meant plenty of room for all 17 of us. The downstairs beachfront unit served as the main kitchen and every night we were treated to the most unbelievable family meals prepared, delivered and sometimes even served by Chris from Sau Saige restaurant. The waves were great, SUPS were fun, the kites amazing to watch, the weather perfect. Easy ti get there, easy grocery shopping, easy walk to empanadas and breakfast/lunch spot. Amazing! Thank you to all the friendly people at Villa Shacks for making our vacation so wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaShacks, Owner at Villa Shacks, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Liz it was great having you and your family here over the Thanksgiving holiday. You guys had such a great time. I can't wait to see your mom kiting next year! Thanks for the review. See you guys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Villa Shacks is a beautiful property in a gorgeous and peaceful location. Mark took great care of our every need, making sure everything was just right at all times. He gave us excellent advice on local restaurants, nearby towns, good beaches and plenty of surf spots in the area. We hope to return soon and will definitely try to stay at Villa Shacks if it's available.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darly85248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaShacks, Owner at Villa Shacks, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
It was great having you here. Hope you can come back soon. I'll make sure it's available. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nearly a week at Villa Shacks in beautiful Isabela mid August to celebrate our wedding was just about as close to heaven as it gets. Located directly on the beach with a garden bar and restaurant within walking distance (other dining/shopping options are just a few minutes drive away). Accommodations were clean, cool and well kept/stocked. And the beds were comfy, sleep was deep! Kind owners and locals make it that much more special. Great for relaxation, perfect for groups, we had a small wedding and rented all four suites for an amazing time with friends and family. Cannot say enough good things, cannot stop looking at our pictures! Highly recommend, we will be back!

Room Tip: Front 2 rooms have direct beach view, back 2 have pool view, with sitting areas. All rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
2.4 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
7.6 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
201 reviews
16.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
775 reviews
5.0 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shacks

Property: Villa Shacks
Address: Km .4 Int 4466 | Bo. Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Shacks Beach this newly finished house has four 2 bedroom units. Whether relaxing by the salt water pool, walking the white sandy beach or admiring the picturesque sunsets this location has it all. The adventurous can walk to world famous surf, kitesurfing, dive spots or a horseback ride on the beach. For dining we are steps from Eclipse Restaurant (serving breakfast, lunch and dinner), or have our private chef cook local seafood and Caribbean cuisine in your unit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing