We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, horrible service”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I purchased an offer to stay at Villas del Mar Hau anytime from April to May. Surprisingly I called today (for the second time) to make reservations and the supervisor who answered was extremely rude and non accommodating to our needs as customers. She started out by pointing out that our time was nearly up. After that she talked to my girlfriend about our lack of organization for booking almost 2 weeks before! Finally when we asked to speak to a supervisor she said she was the supervisor and shortly after that proceeded to hang up the phone. I won't stay in that place no matter how beautiful the beach and the scenery might be. Some things are worth more that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaHau, Front Office Manager at Parador Villas del Mar Hau, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Sorry for the inconvenience. We are very accommodating with our guests in every manner. Unfortunately, some offers have some restrictions and guidelines that we have to follow and obey. We are here to assist and accommodate your every need and maintain the best interest of our guests and our company also. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    130
    44
    32
    55
See reviews for
154
109
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Villas del Mar Hau is just that perfect Puerto Rican Parador where all family members can enjoy. It's proximity to the beach and smaller ocean entrance towards the right, makes it ideal for the ones not to familiar with the water but still can enjoy the warmth of it. It's the perfect beach Villa within a smaller budget!

Room Tip: Any Villa will just be fine although I prefer the ones on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisaERoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arriving to Villas del Mar Hau was a most wonderful experience - we were accommodated in every way upon our arrival. The STAFF is magnificent - the location is pristine - the rooms, oh the rooms, we stayed in our shack on the beach and in the morning would go for a swim, shower and eat breakfast with a most spectacular view. If we could stay in that same spot forever we would. The only complaint my fiance had was the weekend music - being that all beaches are public in Puerto Rico, during the weekend all come to enjoy its magnificence. The locals are wonderful the food is great and Villas del Mar Hau scores high on my list. It is ECO friendly and for those looking for extravagance this is not the place, this is a place catering to the environment - a place of simplicity at best yet comfortable and serene.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the restaurant - more music and lots going on during weekend, also closest to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, South Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night at the end of April 2013. Had more space than I needed since I was solo. Wonderful spacious apartment with open porch facing the Atlantic. Very clean and comfortable room. The breeze off the Atlantic was pleasant. The next morning I stayed until check-out. I had a good breakfast and coffee in their restaurant. Went to beach and enjoyed the shallow calm behind the rocks. A nice quiet property that is very well kept. The painters were busy with one exterior and gardeners were busy clipping and grooming the attractive flora and shrubs. I sunbathed at the pool awhile. This seemed like an ideal place for a family. There were not many quests since it appeared to be the off season. All of the staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBoyWorldDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My experience of this parador was not bad at all. It was very relaxing, no loud noises from other villas, a/c working fine, bed pretty comfortable. On the downside, the floor of room was not that clean you could feel sand all over the floor and the bathroom is outdated. Beach is beautiful but has strong waves. For kids I recommend the pocita right next to the beach. My kids had a lot
Of fun at the beach and then we went to the pool which was clean and warm. We had dinner at the restaurant, thinking it would be bad because of all the negative reviews but it really was Good! We had chicken breast, rice and beans, fish and stuffed Mofongo and piña colada. Everything was well prepared and tasty. Service was very good. Overall, the villas are not luxurious but are nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgc1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaHau, Front Office Manager at Parador Villas del Mar Hau, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review!!!! We are well known for the relaxing and quiet atmosphere. We are remodeling the units slowly but surely. Since we are on the beach it is very hard to contain the sand sweeping underneath the doors, so we are constantly sweeping the floors. I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner at our wonderful restaurant. And you are right, you cannot beat the view from the restaurant and the calm waters in the morning for an early swim. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went with my family and friends to stay in this parador and we got in love with everything. The view was soooooooo amazing and just some steps from every room. So we decided sleep with the door from the balcony opened and feel the night sea breeze.
Was a quiet nights and the place for make activities is very nice. Its a place the get peace!!!!! And stay relax. All the staff were very proper with us.
Just need make more propaganda and realize activities for the guests.. Like sports, kareoke nights and that stuff.
The room we got was so big and comfortable... that We wanted buy it if we can... :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysteryladypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaHau, Front Office Manager at Parador Villas del Mar Hau, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!! We're glad you were able to relax and enjoyed your stay. We will keep in mind the suggestions for some type of sporting events and karaoke nights to provide our guests. Give us a call for your next trip. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is the worse place I've ever stayed in. The reception desk personnel are dishonest, the employees in general are disrespectful and will apologize and lie profusely when a complaint is lodged. This place is outdated and the restaurant is awful! Slow service and what do you know? More rude, disgruntled employees! Beware- never again. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaHau, Front Office Manager at Parador Villas del Mar Hau, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am so sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused on your trip. We had responded to your complaint and had one of our guards inform the guests to please lower the music. At which time they did. We do have a time line for which music may be played, after 10 pm on evenings and not before 9 am mornings.

At the time of your visit to the front desk to notify us about the incidence, we had informed you that we had taken all necessary actions so it would not happen again. Unfortunately, you had decided to depart early. You will be receiving a certificate for a stay with us, so you could give another chance. I'm positive that you will not be disappointed. Thank you and have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
5.3 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
287 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
394 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
145 reviews
17.6 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
776 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Villas del Mar Hau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Villas del Mar Hau

Property: Parador Villas del Mar Hau
Address: Sector Bajuras Rd 466 | Montones Beach, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Villas del Mar Hau 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming beachfront villas located on one of the most beautiful beaches of the northwest region of Puerto Rico. Our facilities include restaurant, tennis court, pool area, beach volleyball and also basketball court. Nearby Jobos beach and Middles ideal for practicing the sport of surfing. Also practice snorkeling or horseback riding in our facilities, the perfect place to unwind and have an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador Villas del Mar Hau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Villas Del Mar Hau Hotel Isabela
Villas Del Mar Hau
Parador Hotel Isabela
Parador Hotel Del Mar Hau
Parador Villas De Mar Hau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing