We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but know what to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Montana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but know what to expect”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We spent three nights in Villa Montana (3/24/09 - 3/27/09), in a two-bedroom / two-bath condo. The resort is apparently composed of privately-owned units, some of which are rented out, so while I didn't see any other rooms, my guess is that they're all different. Ours was clean, but could have used some updating (furniture, bathrooms, paint, etc.), as well as higher wattage and "more cheerful" lighting. Also, we had visions of BBQ'ing one night, but the owners had locked down the grill. Beyond the room, the beach area is pretty, but it's on the Atlantic side, so definitely not Caribbean calm. The restaurant had a beautiful view and the food was good, but it was quite expensive and the service incredibly slow. If you do go to dinner after dark, take a flashlight to read the menu! If you have thoughts of venturing outside the resort for dinner, there didn't seem to be much in the way of nearby restaurants...in fact, there wasn't much in the way of nearby anything. The resort is quite isolated. If that's your cup of tea, perfect (although I'd still recommend a stop by a grocery store on your way.). But if you want to get out and about and take in local attractions, expect to drive. All in all, we had a nice stay, but definitely not a 5 star place by a long shot.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    155
    64
    59
    59
See reviews for
160
265
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The restaurand/bar was amazing, with table views of the ocean just yards away. You can watch the sun set while you eat. The compound was very nice. It was an amazing resort. There are several surfing beaches nearby, and you can even surf right in front of the resort. There aren't many restaurants and bars nearby, so if you're looking for lots of nighlife and people to meet, this may not be the best place. I'd recommend this for couples or families. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatAndMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My wedding at Villa Montana Beach Resort in March 2008 was absultely beautiful. The
ladies there planned and prepared everything I wanted perfectly. My cake came out
exactly the way it was in the picture and the taste was amazing. My flowers were very
bright and and beautiful(orange and bright reds roses and calla lillys with touches of
greens in between). I had about 40 guests and everyone complimented the decor,food
and atmosphere. I would have liked the D.J. to motivate the crowd a little more and
would have liked to have more lighting illuminate the dance floor, but overall my wedding was something I will never forget and was truely a dream beyond all dreams.
I hope to visit this coming June to recapture all the wonderful memories I have of my wedding. Thank you to all the staff who work hard in making this a wonderful day for
me and my husband and sorry it took so long for me to get this review on tripadvisor

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabwedding08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We were looking for a place to stay on west side of island, pictures of hotel made us decide to get married on our vacation.
Villa Montana staff was wonderful in planning simple small inexpensive wedding. We had a dream come true wedding on the beach at sunset. The restaurant provided a wonderful dinner for the small wedding party that could not be topped. The hotel staff even cleaned up our room and prepared it for the wedding night with flower petals on the bed and candles all aound. Totally romantic and beautiful. We topped off our honeymoon with romantic horseback riding on the beach and snorkling in the blue hole (equipment provided by hotel). Fabulous!!! Fabulous!!!
Great Staff!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingGangof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

My family just got back from a wonderful 4 day vacation at Villa Montana. We wanted a vacation where we could relax with our college age children in a warm, beautiful place....and that is what we got! We stayed in a very nice 2 bedroom, ocean view villa. The view from our front porch was gorgeous, and we spent lots of time sitting there, relaxing and enjoying the scenery. The ground are beautiful, and the trees are full of birds, including wild parrots. The ocean directly in front of the resort is gorgeous, but pretty rough. If you want to swim in the ocean, you would probably need to walk down the beach to a calmer spot (about 5 minutes away). The staff was extremely nice and helpful, but very unobtrusive. We ate one night at Eclipse, the on-site restaurant, and had a really good meal. We went to the grocery store (5 minutes away) for lunch and breakfast food (our villa had a kitchen). We ate off-site at Happy Bellys and Luna Marina, and also had good meals. Happy Bellys hangs right over the ocean, and is a very fun place. We did the 3 hour "Discover Scuba" with Aquatica, a dive shop which is only 5 minutes away. They do a great job! We also did the horseback riding with Tropical Trail rides, which is right next door. It was also a great experience! I would recommend both activities. The rest of the time, we relaxed and enjoyed the beauty of the area. This is NOT a good place if you enjoy tons of people, shopping or night life. It IS the place to go for natural beauty, quiet and lovely weather. Also, this is not the place for you if you expect Ritz-Carlton-like perfection. Our water didn't get very hot, and the twin beds in the second bedroom weren't very comfortable. We didn't care....we were too busy enjoying the rest of it. We also enjoyed the neighborhood dogs that wandered through, the lizards and the sweet cat in the open-air restaurant.
I would definitely recommend having a rental car for going to the grocery store, etc. Our college age kids enjoyed hanging out on the beach and recovering from final exams...don't bring teens or older kids who are expecting clubs or nightlife. We really, really liked this place and want to come back. Next time, we are going to try to fly into the Aquadilla airport, which is only 10 minutes or so away from the resort, although the drive from the San Juan airport wasn't too bad (2 or 2 1/2 hours because of road construction).

  • Liked — The beautiful view from our villa
  • Disliked — The drive from the San Juan airport
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty2Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

This place is for folks who are able to see the forest for the trees. The staff is great if you are. Most of these units are managed condos and you might need the geckos cleaned out of your AC unit (we never used it in April) and some ants dealt with but the place is nice. Grounds are the best part, pools are simple yet nice. Restaurant has a small menu but is very good.

We cooked a lot after going to the grocery that is up the hill. The beach is an amazing walk in either direction but not real sandy at the hotel. There are a couple places to walk in a little ways and we body surfed w/o injured toes. There is a public beach a 2 minute drive or an 5 minute bike east with great sand, cool surf shops and simple restaurants. Horseback riding is literally right next door and very worth it.

We used this as a jumping off point to see the western portion of the island and still loved coming home. You will need a car to go to nearby places but spending your morning afternoons or evening here is A-OK.

  • Liked — the grounds overall spot
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2008

We were really surpised with this hotel. Reasonable price, friendly staff and nice room. Terrific location.

  • Liked — Great beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank craig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
7.6 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
16.6 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
851 reviews
67.6 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Beach Resort

Property: Villa Montana Beach Resort
Address: Carr. 4466 KM 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Montana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Montana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Beach Hotel Isabela
Hotel Montana Beach
Resort Montana Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing