We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puerto RIco's Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Montana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and I have been to Villa Montana numerous times - first for work (I shot a fabulous wedding there in April 2007) and then for our own wedding this past January and a few times in between.

We have traveled around the world visiting more than 20 countries on nearly every continent and these are by far the most friendly and welcoming people we have met.

From the second we stepped foot onto the Villa Montana property we new that we had found a special place - a place we knew we would be revisiting for many many years to come. It is unlike other vacation destinations that are crowded and overpriced. Villa Montana is an extremely relaxing, low-key place to sit back and unwind. Once relaxed, adventure is right around the corner - we have enjoyed the horseback riding, snorkling, and surfing the area has to offer.

The food is absolutely amazing - that was one of our top reasons we selected Villa Montana for our wedding location. Chef Jeremy and his staff at the Eclipse Restaurant and the "O" do a wonderful job. The food is perfectly prepared and presented beautifully.

Everyone on the resort staff continues to treat us like we have been friends for years. When we returned to the resort a few months after our first visit we were greeted by name - we nearly fell over! This place is truly like no other.

We have stayed in a variety of rooms - from the ocean front villas to the hotel style rooms up by the cliffside - all are beautiful, well maintained and very relaxing.

The views, the food, and the people are first class. A special thanks go out to Angelica, Melany, Diana, and Jessica for making our wedding a day that our guests continue to talk about months later. I wish we could do it all over again!

We fell in love and will be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apetura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 672 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2008

A co-worker and I stayed at the Montana Villas from March 10-13 on a business trip. The resort was well kept and the beach was like a dream. It goes for miles and there is almost no one there. Can you say "picture-perfect". After being in busy Playa Del Carmen, Mexico on a family vacation just a month earlier, the quiet and relaxing atmosphere was very refreshing.

There seemed to be a lot one could do right at the resort, but not a lot for very small children. There is a nice playground though so if you have small children and don't want or need a childrens program, the resort may work for you. It seems like it would be better for kids more in the eight years and older range.

My only disappointment was the limited time we had at the resort. Breakfast on the beach was fantastic, but after that we had to leave and work all day and well into the evenings.

We will be coming back on business again in a few months and will be staying there again. Except this time I hope to stay an extra day or two for fun. And my wife has been planning to join me. I'll be working and she'll be relaxing on the beach.... :-)

I would recommend this resort for people who want a very relaxing vacation free from the hustle and bustle one gets in the big hotel/resort zones. Don't expect to see any vendors on the beach because there are none. You can go for a walk on the beach by yourself - as in not along with 500 or 5000 other people. You can relax on the comfy lounge chairs and not have people trying to sell you things every fifteen minutes. And you won't even have to worry about pushy sales people trying to sell you time-shares. They don't exist there.

Quiet, relaxing, nice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

i stayed for a week last year and am surprised to read recent reviews. the resort staff were very attentive and cordial. the room i had in a villa was small but adequate, a very short walk to the beach where the oversize lounges had thick comfortable padding, some near large umbrellas. i found it very relaxing and quiet.
a car is a necessity for getting around to nearby towns for restuarants, etc. their onsite massage was worth it, the only negative were the mosquitoes at night.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The good: nice setting, lovely beach and great swimming, snorkeling. Good food at Eclipse Restaurant.

The not-so-good: marginal service. We arrived 1/2 hour before check-in (after 7 hours of travel) and were told that we would have to wait 90 minutes before we could drop our bags in the cottage and change. Housekeeping showed up at 5pm every day despite our requests for them to come earlier in the day. The floors in our rooms were not clean. Though our lone dinner at Eclipse was very good, it took 2 hours for our entrees to arrive and 45 minutes for dessert. 3 hours in total is a bit much. The desk staff was less than insightful when asked about suggestions for things to do off-site.

Overall, this is a lovely spot but we couldn't help but feel as if it were a bit down at the heels. It felt slightly neglected and so did we.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank vischa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiDenver, Public relations at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2008

We apologize that your experience was not as you expected. At times we can, as any hotel does, have staffing challenges and we do not want to rush cleaning a room as we expect it to be in perfect condition for the next guest.
Our meals in the restaurants are hand crafted and are not often “fast”, however waiting 2 hours for an entrée if that was not your pleasure is something we regret. At times many of our guests do want a very leisurely dinner.
We hope you come back again. We have so many repeat guests and work hard for everyone to have a fabulous experience that exceeds their expectations.

Sincerely,
Jessica Tiphane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The location and the feel of this resort is quiet and relaxed, it is gated and feels safe for families with young children. What I only realised during our stay is that each villa is individually owned, and if there is something that needs fixed in your villa, they need to call the owner to get permission first. This results in a very varied standard of villas - some are owned by local families who have everything, some by investors who keep the bare minimum ammenities. With a young family I had planned to cook some meals in, I ended up borrowing pans just to cook pasta !
The website gives you the ability to order food in advance to be in your villa when you arrive - a nice touch if it actually happened - we arrived 3pm on Saturday and nothing had arrived by 9am Sunday so I cancelled the order and did it myself.
Eclipse - the restaurant on the beach is great food but really really slow service. Service is better at lunchtime if you have young kids.
Overall we had a lovely time due to location and the ability for our younger kids to enjoy themselves in a safe location, with the right villa this could be even better but Villa montana needs to decide whether it is going to offer the services of a luxury resort or not - it is pretending to but it really cant live up to it right now.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Stayed at Villa Montana for 6 days/5nites. Grand place. Ocean waves were 25 feet high which was very unusual. I was there for a Destination wedding and the staff took care of us. Were there some problems, sure. Some plumbing difficulties, etc... But nothing one couldn't live with.

The staff was friendly, mostly. All were respectful. Prices at lunch and dinner were reasonable.

Will I recommend? Absolutely.

Thank LottyPotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

The Villa Montana resort is a lovely setting and our rooms were equally lovely. However, we had reserved (& paid for) an ocean front 3-bedroom villa & were told there weren't any. Eventually we were moved closer to the ocean, but it took LOTS of persistence and the help of the agency we used to book our reservations.

Our showers had no hot water & the kitchen was barely stocked. There were no bikes, snorkeling equipment or spa. The fitness center equipment did not work. The climbing wall didn't have all the necessary equipment. Service was always friendly and always at a leisurely pace!

On the plus side, it's clean and peaceful with amazing views.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank TLL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiDenver, Public relations at Villa Montana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2008

We are very surprised at the items you mentioned not working or sub-par. Our maintenance staff ensures that all the areas you mentioned are in working order and well stocked. I have made sure that everything has been checked since we have read this review and hope that you told our staff during your stay. Sometimes when we are busy much of the equipment is in use, but normally we have enough equipment to handle all our guests even during high occupancy times.

Thank you for your kind words about the cleanliness and yes, we are probably the most peaceful and relaxing place in Puerto Rico!

Sincerely,
Jessica Tiphane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
2.4 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
15.9 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
16 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
432 reviews
37.7 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Beach Resort

Address: Carr. 4466 KM 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range: $258 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Montana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Montana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Beach Hotel Isabela
Hotel Montana Beach
Resort Montana Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing