We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything's just excellent”

El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Caribbean, International, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a very relax surf atmosphere... So don't worry about your sandy feet, salty hair and wet dollar bills... We don't mind! We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Smoothies... Our schedule does change without notice if the waves are good, hope you don't mind
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
“everything's just excellent”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

everything is just great here, starting with the food and ending with the people... diana & co make it all come together... starting by being very accommodating and then blowing you away with amazing food!
anything we tried was beyond good... fresh pulpo (octopus), arepas, rice bowls with fish, breakfast sandwiches and crepes... everything's just soooo good!
diana is even shipping us back home some of her home made salsita!
we'll definitely miss the place as much as we missed it the couple of days they were closed during the week! :D

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrapoport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    25
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very Nice!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Cozy atmosphere!!! Good Food! Good Price!!! Excellent natural juices!!! A pity is not open longer!!! Like for dinner...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthiadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Island treat....”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Diana Is simply awesome in the kitchen. I wish they would build
A bed and breakfast.... I would definetely be there 24/7.... Great food, positive vibes, island warmth and the best people ever....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandbreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals like it too”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hector and Diana have a wonderful restaurant. They are not only creative in the kitchen where they constantly put together menu's which are interesting and tasty, but they also make everyone feel special and welcome. Tourist love the place. Locals like it too.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RayII2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my Favorite Places in Puerto Rico”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

One of the Most beautiful places on the island. We enjoyed the breakfast there very much. Diana and her family are very welcoming; making you feel at home , away from home.

If your looking for a relaxing eatery and a place to catch some Great waves.... El Carey is the place to go. Surf it up on Jobos beach and head to El Carey for some GREAT FOOD.

  • Visited June 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tross4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop also viewed

Isabela, Puerto Rico
 
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Isabela, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Carey Cafe & Beach Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing