We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food, excellent service”
Review of The Eclipse

The Eclipse
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menus are focused on highlighting our local farms, artisans, and producers that call the north-west coast of Puerto Rico, home. We source the ingredients used in our menus from our local farmers and artisan makers, where we believe some of the best product of the island is produced.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Staying at Villa Tropical just down the beach, I was a bit concerned given some recent reviews about service. We get to Caribbean every Feb/March, and levels of service CAN be lower than what I'd expect in Boston... Usually it's fine though if you can relax, so we gave it a shot.

Honestly, I can not imagine anyone getting POOR service at Eclipse! The waitstaff were professional and attentive, and very nice. Food didn't come out in 10 minutes, but we were perfectly happy with the timing given that we wanted to enjoy the evening and the setting.

Our dishes, seafood risotto and catch of the day were delicious!

Don't hesitate to dine at Eclipse, it'll be your loss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    95
    44
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food quality”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am 17 weeks pregnant and was sick for a week after eating there not to mention waited for my food to come out that they forgot about and watcher MY HUSBAND EAT IS FOOD FOR AN HOUR!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice evening, good food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dining at Eclipse was a surprisingly nice experience especially given the scarcity of good restaurants in the Isabela area. Setting was beautiful, food was good, service was excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant is really good! It's an open air restaurant overlooking the beach, so the kite and wind surfers are out during the day on this gorgeous beach area. Some may consider the service slow, but we didn't. We were on "island time". Don't go if you have a flight out of Aguadilla in a half hour. Enjoy the view, kick back, have a drink!

The staff knows the food, and explains it very well. The soups are incredible! Like nothing I've ever had anywhere. The pumpkin, the asparagus, and the corn chowder were all great! Nothing was bad! The kangaroo, the risotto with the langoustines, clams, and Mahi-mahi dinners were great! Daily specials and the lunch and breakfast menus (bittersweet chocolate pancakes!!!) to die for!!

The cocktail, wine, and beer menus were very good with a great variety of ginger-based cocktails, wines from around the world, and microbrews along with local beers.

Staff was wonderful – friendly and personable. Gabriel and Laura were “above and beyond”. Reservations were easy to make for our favorite table.

The Eclipse is highly recommended!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knight94728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back again and not as good”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went back to Eclipse (we usually go almost every time we come back to Isabela) this time and find that the restaurant is being going thru major changes. The atmosphere is still great and we find that is one of the best place to have dinner (romantic or not). This time the food, I ordered the pork medallion, was hard and with no flavor. My wife had a scallops appetizer and they were very dry and small compare to the usual plate that they served in the past. Service was decent (except for the host not very knowledgable of her job) and prompt. The captain (Gabriel) came and asked how was our food and he was attentive to our feedback and offered us dessert on the house which I must say they were excellent.

In summary I believe that the restaurant is going thru a transition and I will give it another chance when I am back in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony201089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eclipse also viewed

 

Been to The Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing